Oppo HA-1 Impressions Thread
post-10704432
Post #1,051 of 5,289

kawaivpc1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Messages
1,716
Reaction score
89
Joined
Apr 9, 2014
Posts
1,716
Likes
89
How would you guys compare Oppo's HA1 to Yulong's DA8? or Astell n Kern's AK240?? 
Is HA1 sounds significantly better than AK240, DA8 and Calyx Femto? 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704459
Post #1,052 of 5,289

poo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Posts
1,133
Likes
14
I understand the Oppo has pre outs which can be used to drive a power amp. I have an integrated amp and previously used the RCA audio outputs on my Benchmark DAC1 to feed the amp a signal from the DAC. Can I do the same from the Oppo? Just send out from the DAC to my integrated amp?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704461
Post #1,053 of 5,289
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
538
Reaction score
212
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Posts
538
Likes
212
Yes. You can connect the HA-1 direct to a powered amplifier or powered speakers then use the HA-1 to adjust the amplified volume.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704491
Post #1,054 of 5,289

mrscotchguy

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
1,432
Reaction score
250
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Posts
1,432
Likes
250
Can anyone who owns this answer a function question about the Theater Bypass Mode? Does this function work for each output (ie one for xlr and one for rca?) or a toggle that is a blanket for all outputs?

Oh, and is it tough to access theater bypass in the menu?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704525
Post #1,055 of 5,289
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
538
Reaction score
212
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Posts
538
Likes
212
Each input can be set independently of each other as Home Theater Bypass. Home Theater Bypass will be enabled for both outputs when engaged. It is very easy to engage. Just select the source you want to use in Home Theater Bypass using the jog dial. Press the SOURCE button until you see Home Theater Bypass appear on the front of the HA-1. Use the jog dial to select BYPASS then the SOURCE button again. At the next screen select CONFIRM with the jog dial then press the SOURCE button again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704542
Post #1,056 of 5,289

mrscotchguy

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
1,432
Reaction score
250
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Posts
1,432
Likes
250
Each input can be set independently of each other as Home Theater Bypass. Home Theater Bypass will be enabled for both outputs when engaged. It is very easy to engage. Just select the source you want to use in Home Theater Bypass using the jog dial. Press the SOURCE button until you see Home Theater Bypass appear on the front of the HA-1. Use the jog dial to select BYPASS then the SOURCE button again. At the next screen select CONFIRM with the jog dial then press the SOURCE button again.

Thank you for the incredibly fast response, Hastur!

I normally wouldn't ask, but looks like I won't be getting my HA-1 due to some sketchy issues with our former landlord. Guess I will be living vicariously through everyone here...
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704569
Post #1,057 of 5,289
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
538
Reaction score
212
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Posts
538
Likes
212
We will not be going anywhere, so the HA-1 will always be waiting for you. And if anything, we will have refurbished products you can buy from us in the future. We generally sell refurbished product 8 to 10 months after the initial release of the product, so check back next Spring for a discount.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704593
Post #1,058 of 5,289

poo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Posts
1,133
Likes
14
  Yes. You can connect the HA-1 direct to a powered amplifier or powered speakers then use the HA-1 to adjust the amplified volume.
I guess what I'm really after is a DAC out so I can use the volume control on my integrated amp, which only has RCA in.
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704606
Post #1,059 of 5,289
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Messages
538
Reaction score
212
Joined
Apr 2, 2014
Posts
538
Likes
212
You can use the player in Home Theater Bypass so the volume controls on the player are not active on the RCA/XLR outputs, and use the volume controls on the integrated amplifier.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: poo
post-10704617
Post #1,060 of 5,289

MattTCG

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Messages
15,470
Reaction score
3,203
Joined
Jan 22, 2012
Posts
15,470
Likes
3,203
I want to buy this amp in the worst way. Must find some semblance of self control 
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704674
Post #1,061 of 5,289

poo

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Messages
1,133
Reaction score
14
Joined
Apr 9, 2007
Posts
1,133
Likes
14
  I want to buy this amp in the worst way. Must find some semblance of self control 
lol yeah it's a bit like that isn't it :)
 
     Share This Post       
post-10704692
Post #1,062 of 5,289

JML

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Messages
1,150
Reaction score
99
Joined
Oct 26, 2001
Posts
1,150
Likes
99
Forget self-control.  I'm thinking about getting a pair of Adam Audio A3x or A5x active speakers to mount on the wall, and an Adam sub...
 
          
 
     Share This Post       
post-10707959
Post #1,063 of 5,289

topgunsphd

Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Messages
62
Reaction score
14
Joined
Sep 11, 2013
Posts
62
Likes
14
What kind of difference will the hd800, alpha dog, and he500 have going from se to balanced with the ha1?
 
     Share This Post       
post-10707973
Post #1,064 of 5,289

vigotone

Head-Fier
Joined
May 3, 2011
Messages
75
Reaction score
15
Joined
May 3, 2011
Posts
75
Likes
15
Just settling in with my new HA-1 and Audeze LCD-XC cans. Quick question: should I do High Gain and keep the volume dial low, or Standard Gain and crank the volume? I would think High Gain, but the manual says the opposite!
 
     Share This Post       
post-10707975
Post #1,065 of 5,289

x RELIC x

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Messages
11,971
Reaction score
7,567
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Joined
Mar 8, 2014
Location
The West Coast, Canada
Posts
11,971
Likes
7,567
What kind of difference will the hd800, alpha dog, and he500 have going from se to balanced with the ha1?

Read this post

A basic explanation of what to expect from balanced output.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 3)

Top