Astell&Kern AK380
post-13270496
Post #7,951 of 8,903

TaylorDawe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 3, 2016
Messages
114
Reaction score
13
Joined
May 3, 2016
Posts
114
Likes
13
Don't waste your money on a F7200, it's nothing impressive.
I would rather top up either to FAD FI-BA-SS or Fitear Tg334 on a AK380.
The FAD FI-BA-SS you mention look surprisingly like my AKR02s - are they the same thing? Mine have removable cables and so on, but superficially look nearly identical.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13270564
Post #7,952 of 8,903

Dellwolf

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Messages
605
Reaction score
105
Location
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Joined
Feb 1, 2016
Location
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Posts
605
Likes
105
The FAD FI-BA-SS you mention look surprisingly like my AKR02s - are they the same thing? Mine have removable cables and so on, but superficially look nearly identical.
They are most likely slightly different, it's just like how AK has their own version of the Beyerdynamic T1 and JH Audio Serien Series IEMs.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13271730
Post #7,954 of 8,903

RodLaird

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
12
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Posts
13
Likes
12
Has anybody any inside info as to whether A&K are going to update the Tidal app on the AK3xx to play their "MASTER" streams. (I presume the MASTER streams are MQA - given recent announcements from the MQA consorrtium - but may be wrong)
 
I pinged the US A&K Facebook page and got a quick response saying any update was "to be determined" - but if it came it would be an OTA firmware update (Doh!)
 
I have been impressed by the Tidal master stream quality on my computers and so have my fingers crossed. For me this would be a "killer" upgrade...
 
cheers from Oz
 
Rod
 
     Share This Post       
post-13271858
Post #7,955 of 8,903
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
8,214
Reaction score
4,195
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Posts
8,214
Likes
4,195
  Has anybody any inside info as to whether A&K are going to update the Tidal app on the AK3xx to play their "MASTER" streams. (I presume the MASTER streams are MQA - given recent announcements from the MQA consorrtium - but may be wrong)
 
I pinged the US A&K Facebook page and got a quick response saying any update was "to be determined" - but if it came it would be an OTA firmware update (Doh!)
 
I have been impressed by the Tidal master stream quality on my computers and so have my fingers crossed. For me this would be a "killer" upgrade...
 
cheers from Oz
 
Rod
 
It seems what AK gets are specs to the Tidal API and AK writes their own Tidal app (possibly like this unsupported GitHub Tidal sub-initiative). I'm speculating (rightfully? wrongfully?) that there are probably multiple spec sheets to different levels of API that has varying level of features within Tidal. I would guess that there'll be different pricing for different feature set of API? Someone please do feel free to correct me if I'm right or wrong.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13272530
Post #7,956 of 8,903

Alumi

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Posts
9
Likes
10
Has anybody any inside info as to whether A&K are going to update the Tidal app on the AK3xx to play their "MASTER" streams. (I presume the MASTER streams are MQA - given recent announcements from the MQA consorrtium - but may be wrong)
 
I pinged the US A&K Facebook page and got a quick response saying any update was "to be determined" - but if it came it would be an OTA firmware update (Doh!)
 
I have been impressed by the Tidal master stream quality on my computers and so have my fingers crossed. For me this would be a "killer" upgrade...
 
cheers from Oz
 
Rod

It will be interesting to know is it possible to enable mqa in ak380 dac… that is the only way to enjoy mqa in 24/192. Firmware I think can only give software decoding up to 24/96… On computer there is only software encoding, but I agree that is really good)

http://www.audiostream.com/content/mqa-decoding-explained#rMO0WbkUuQukDxhU.97
 
     Share This Post       
post-13272571
Post #7,957 of 8,903
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
8,214
Reaction score
4,195
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Posts
8,214
Likes
4,195
I met Alex An for the first time today & had a brief chat with him about MQA. My understanding from the conversation is that both H/W & firmware required to the AK devices for MQA support. As such it's still no confirmation of AK's direction about MQA.

So it seems it's not posaible to enable MQA on existing AK players.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13272582
Post #7,958 of 8,903

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
2,516
Reaction score
990
Location
San Fransokyo
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Location
San Fransokyo
Posts
2,516
Likes
990
Mm..hopefully the upcoming flagship (and other future models) will have the necessary MQA hardware modifications. It seems to me a natural step for A&K to take (hi def streaming music + hi quality DAP).
 
     Share This Post       
post-13272814
Post #7,959 of 8,903

Samuel777

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Messages
672
Reaction score
101
Joined
Nov 1, 2013
Posts
672
Likes
101
Mm..hopefully the upcoming flagship (and other future models) will have the necessary MQA hardware modifications. It seems to me a natural step for A&K to take (hi def streaming music + hi quality DAP).
This is a commercial argument! really you could work with them
. they will  now cross hands and add that to the next flagship. I'm sure if they want they can release a firmware to allow MQA on at least AK300 series .... 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13272877
Post #7,960 of 8,903

bmichels

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Messages
6,062
Reaction score
2,312
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Posts
6,062
Likes
2,312
It will be interesting to know is it possible to enable mqa in ak380 dac… that is the only way to enjoy mqa in 24/192. Firmware I think can only give software decoding up to 24/96… On computer there is only software encoding, but I agree that is really good)

http://www.audiostream.com/content/mqa-decoding-explained#rMO0WbkUuQukDxhU.97
 
Can't really hear a difference between 24/96 & 24/192 anyway.  So, Software decoding will be OK for me if it is properly done...
 
Also, I believe that A&K will implement MQA decoding only in their next TOL AK4xx to .... "force" users to upgrade from their older AK3xx player  
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13273027
Post #7,961 of 8,903

raypin

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
2,516
Reaction score
990
Location
San Fransokyo
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Location
San Fransokyo
Posts
2,516
Likes
990
Mm..I'd like to take the sunny side of the road and just believe that addional hardware is needed that will enable full
MQA implementation rather than take a cynical view. Also, it is a foregone conclusion that A&K customers will upgrade anyway. It is in our DNA. Admit it. It is a money pit . Lol!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13273117
Post #7,962 of 8,903

bmichels

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Messages
6,062
Reaction score
2,312
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Joined
Sep 11, 2012
Location
France, Belgium and Morocco
Posts
6,062
Likes
2,312
.... it is a foregone conclusion that A&K customers will upgrade anyway. It is in our DNA. Admit it. It is a money pit . Lol!
 true..... 

 
     Share This Post       
post-13273176
Post #7,963 of 8,903

RodLaird

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
13
Reaction score
12
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Posts
13
Likes
12
   
It seems what AK gets are specs to the Tidal API and AK writes their own Tidal app (possibly like this unsupported GitHub Tidal sub-initiative). I'm speculating (rightfully? wrongfully?) that there are probably multiple spec sheets to different levels of API that has varying level of features within Tidal. I would guess that there'll be different pricing for different feature set of API? Someone please do feel free to correct me if I'm right or wrong.
 
There is already the premium pricing tier in TIDAL for their HiFi/Master streaming
 
     Share This Post       
post-13273339
Post #7,964 of 8,903

Alumi

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Messages
9
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jan 19, 2017
Posts
9
Likes
10
     Share This Post       
post-13273406
Post #7,965 of 8,903

Rei87

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Messages
429
Reaction score
204
Joined
Jan 28, 2015
Posts
429
Likes
204
   
Can't really hear a difference between 24/96 & 24/192 anyway.  So, Software decoding will be OK for me if it is properly done...
 
Also, I believe that A&K will implement MQA decoding only in their next TOL AK4xx to .... "force" users to upgrade from their older AK3xx player  
 


I have no idea if it is my fortune or bane that my music genre hardly, if ever, releases stuff in MQA. Heck, I'll be happy to even see anything above standard lossless flac....
 
That said, I for one have very little intention to upgrade from my CU. After being with my CU for the better part of a year, it has really grown onto me. But, if upgradetitis does come biting, I'll just wait till end 2017 to do a full musashi mod. I have a friend who upgraded his 240SS with said mod, and not even the 380CU could tempt him. So with that as a reference point, I can only imagine how the CU musashi mod will sound like :p 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top