Using non-audiophile headphones a sin?
Jun 2, 2011 at 10:55 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

boirefish

100+ Head-Fier
I'm addicted to this forum, even though I'm really new to the whole audiophile concept. I love music, and some of my friends do too, but most survive on $20 earbuds whilst appreciating my interest in a polite way. I really want to take the plunge into Audiophilia. At the moment I'm using some Able Planet sound clarity's, which are not audiophile by anyone's standards, but I got them for cheap. Not sure where they scale, but I feel a coming of age upgrade into something gateway is necessary...
I'm willing to spend around 0-$300 (with emphasis on that 300 limit. ie the cost of used senn hd650's probably my cap) for some new/used headphones.

have looked into the senn series, from hd500's to 600's
the ATH-AD700's, beyer's dt880/990, denon d2000

and in-ears (dba-02, SM3's, IE8's)

tried some bose qc3's at the apple store a while back, and I thought they were alright, dare I say nice, compared to my current phones.
If anyone has gone through my phase/still is going through such a phase, please shed some light in this general direction.

opinions such as "you don't need to upgrade/buy a cheap amp first" are also a great heads up for me, because I'm at the very foundations of knowledge here, and money is always an issue for us uni students.

Speaking of amps, i just ordered a Fiio E5. Yep, cheap as it gets.
also, if there's any other information you want me to include, I'd gladly add that in. for now:

headphone STYLE preference: generic/mainstream atm (enjoy shiny smooth things like senn's atm, but would like to develop a broader appreciation)
music preference:
-instrumentals and classical,
-mainstream stuff you have on your average phone (base thumping r&b, ne-yo, t-pain, jpop & kpop sometimes)
-some alt (the fray, the script, the killers, simple plan),
-love older stuff too (mj, savage garden, b-52, bloodhound gang)
*I listen to almost everything