The HiBy R3; The New Double Dac R3 PRO on Sale Now !!!
post-15246613
Post #5,943 of 6,198

justnmi

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
5
Location
California
Joined
May 15, 2019
Location
California
Posts
6
Likes
5
Does anyone know how the "New tracks" section under the Playlist tab is supposed to work? I add new tracks to my SD card, update the database, and nothing ever shows up under that section.

Also, is there a tool that exists to make playlists for the R3? Something that could convert an iTunes playlist to a compatible format for the R3 would be fantastic. Heck, I'd even settle for a tool that lets me create compatible playlists from scratch! It just isn't feasible to create playlists on the device itself.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15250713
Post #5,944 of 6,198

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
10,839
Reaction score
2,603
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
10,839
Likes
2,603
Does anyone know how the "New tracks" section under the Playlist tab is supposed to work? I add new tracks to my SD card, update the database, and nothing ever shows up under that section.

Also, is there a tool that exists to make playlists for the R3? Something that could convert an iTunes playlist to a compatible format for the R3 would be fantastic. Heck, I'd even settle for a tool that lets me create compatible playlists from scratch! It just isn't feasible to create playlists on the device itself.
Yes,

Dapper is a good tool for exporting iTunes playlists on the Mac, whereas on the PC,

https://www.head-fi.org/threads/how-to-create-m3u-playlists-for-use-on-the-x1-x3-and-x5-from-your-computer.761295/

I wrote this guide back when I was with FiiO. It still applies to HiBy and a lot of other brands.

You can also use similar functions in MusicBee, J-River, etc.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15257074
Post #5,945 of 6,198

dissembled

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Messages
1,691
Reaction score
168
Location
NJ
Joined
Jan 26, 2007
Location
NJ
Posts
1,691
Likes
168
Website
www.flickr.com
Please tell me that the R3 Pro will support 2.5 balanced as well? If not, then I sadly cannot pair my balanced Meze Noirs with it. Oh what a sad world indeed.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15257273
Post #5,946 of 6,198

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
10,839
Reaction score
2,603
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
10,839
Likes
2,603
Please tell me that the R3 Pro will support 2.5 balanced as well? If not, then I sadly cannot pair my balanced Meze Noirs with it. Oh what a sad world indeed.
Does 4.4mm balanced and an included 2.5mm adapter count? :sweat_smile:
 
post-15257318
Post #5,947 of 6,198

Nolbert0

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Messages
226
Reaction score
93
Location
Equatorial Open Waters of SE Asia
Joined
Jun 15, 2017
Location
Equatorial Open Waters of SE Asia
Posts
226
Likes
93
oooh the R3 pro has a 4.4mm? Where can we find out more about this device in English?

Surely that one Webio page (in Chinese) isn't the only piece of info regarding the R3 pro?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15267669
Post #5,948 of 6,198

falex

New Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Messages
33
Reaction score
24
Joined
Feb 10, 2016
Posts
33
Likes
24
With the R3 pro coming up, development of the R3 is kinda dead, isn't it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15267709
Post #5,949 of 6,198

ChuckWagon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
North Carolina
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Location
North Carolina
Posts
36
Likes
15
With the R3 pro coming up, development of the R3 is kinda dead, isn't it?
On their facebook forum, they 'claim' to have a firmware update in progress, but time will tell. I doubt it will contain a search function or anything.
I like the standard R3 and am over all satisfied, but this company does seem to work toward promoting new(er) products before tweaking their current.
Don't get me started with their Hiby Ap for iphone. This app seems more designed for non iphone users and for DAP's that do not carry the Hiby name.
With this practice in mind, I'll probably purchase elsewhere when I upgrade.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15267738
Post #5,950 of 6,198

Joe Bloggs

Member of the Trade: HiBy / EFO technologies Co
His Porta Corda walked the Green Mile
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Messages
10,839
Reaction score
2,603
Joined
Oct 21, 2001
Posts
10,839
Likes
2,603
On their facebook forum, they 'claim' to have a firmware update in progress, but time will tell. I doubt it will contain a search function or anything.
I like the standard R3 and am over all satisfied, but this company does seem to work toward promoting new(er) products before tweaking their current.
Don't get me started with their Hiby Ap for iphone. This app seems more designed for non iphone users and for DAP's that do not carry the Hiby name.
With this practice in mind, I'll probably purchase elsewhere when I upgrade.
For what it's worth the new R3 pro will work almost exactly the same as the R3 software wise so unless they plan to keep both in the current state software-wise, I would totally believe HiBy when they say updates are coming for the R3. :sweat_smile:
 
     Share This Post       
post-15267743
Post #5,951 of 6,198

mikp

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Messages
582
Reaction score
155
Joined
Jul 17, 2011
Posts
582
Likes
155
for the r3. there should be an option to select dpi density if possible, for those that would want more info on the screen. Also the bt codec resolve issue needs fixing if there's ever any fw update.

We have both the fiio m6 and r3, and I have been using the m6 more. Changing density really helps the user experience.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15268441
Post #5,952 of 6,198

ChuckWagon

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Messages
36
Reaction score
15
Location
North Carolina
Joined
Jun 12, 2019
Location
North Carolina
Posts
36
Likes
15
For what it's worth the new R3 pro will work almost exactly the same as the R3 software wise so unless they plan to keep both in the current state software-wise, I would totally believe HiBy when they say updates are coming for the R3. :sweat_smile:
This is great and encouraging news!
Also while I may sound a little critical toward Hiby, I want to express my appreciation for your educational and informative contributions. Your input here was one of the deciding factors of why I chose a Hiby product.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Joe Bloggs
post-15276669
Post #5,953 of 6,198

cathayboy

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Location
Philippines
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Location
Philippines
Posts
3
Likes
0
Hi there - appreciate some help for a newbie . Just purchased both an R6 and R3 . at first glance a great little music player, however one frustration is why when adding music to the micro SD card , and after performing an update database , why do some music files go into an " Unknown Folder " and likewise some albums within a folder then place the mp3 files individually in the album folder .
 
     Share This Post       
post-15276892
Post #5,954 of 6,198

poprivet

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Messages
59
Reaction score
19
Location
London
Joined
Jun 20, 2018
Location
London
Posts
59
Likes
19
however one frustration is why when adding music to the micro SD card , and after performing an update database , why do some music files go into an " Unknown Folder " and likewise some albums within a folder then place the mp3 files individually in the album folder .
Never seen this happen. Are the files in question tagged correctly?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 4)

Top