Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-14630905
Post #11,356 of 15,001

Gr8h8m

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
492
Reaction score
277
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
492
Likes
277
Done some testing.

First the good news: BubbleUPnP and mConnect play gaplessly to local renderer from MinimServer.

The bad news: They don't to Poly.

Do chord claim that Poly does gapless playback?

I couldn't get Poly or any local dlna renderer to play gaplessly from LMS, but suspect a configuration error somewhere.
Thank you for testing. That's been my experience of DLNA with Poly too, which is why I won't use it and use MPD instead, but it's always good to find out if there's been a way found to make it work.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14631930
Post #11,360 of 15,001

Julienstanford

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
126
Reaction score
38
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Posts
126
Likes
38
I just revived my Poly today. I’m sure my opinion may change after I discovered the best ways to utilize it but I currently hate it. All the app are laggy, the database slow. I’ve used Jremote with Media Center on my PC and Mac for years. I expected something similar to that where the database is sync on my phone and very quick to reply with album art and actual options. All these apps stink. It’s the worst purchase ever.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14631975
Post #11,361 of 15,001

jprenaud78

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Messages
33
Reaction score
3
Location
France
Joined
Oct 31, 2018
Location
France
Posts
33
Likes
3
I just revived my Poly today. I’m sure my opinion may change after I discovered the best ways to utilize it but I currently hate it. All the app a laggy, the database slow. I’ve used Jremote with Media Center on my PC and Mac for years. I expected something similar to that where the database is sync on my phone and very quick to reply with album art and actual options. All these apps stink. It’s the worst purchase ever.
You can sel me if you want
 
     Share This Post       
post-14632008
Post #11,362 of 15,001

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,259
Reaction score
2,343
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,259
Likes
2,343
I just revived my Poly today. I’m sure my opinion may change after I discovered the best ways to utilize it but I currently hate it. All the app a laggy, the database slow. I’ve used Jremote with Media Center on my PC and Mac for years. I expected something similar to that where the database is sync on my phone and very quick to reply with album art and actual options. All these apps stink. It’s the worst purchase ever.
Sell it to @jprenaud78 .
They can give Poly the TLC that it deserves.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14632073
Post #11,363 of 15,001

mandrei83

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Messages
144
Reaction score
30
Location
Stockholm
Joined
Jun 19, 2009
Location
Stockholm
Posts
144
Likes
30
Age
37
Does any of you know why Roon Core server installed on my iMac displays "Uncertified" for my Mojo-Poly combo?

Screenshot 2018-12-01 at 12.47.51.png Screenshot 2018-12-01 at 12.48.02.png Screenshot 2018-12-01 at 12.49.09.png

I have tried Roon Core on my QNAP TS-453A NAS which was running SATA spinning drive and it was totally a disaster (I read before that I should have the server and the database running on a SSD drive, but I wanted to give it a try with a spin drive), so I switched the Roon Core to my iMac which is having a Fusion Drive (SSD+spinning 2TB hard drive).
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14632141
Post #11,364 of 15,001

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,259
Reaction score
2,343
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,259
Likes
2,343
Does any of you know why Roon Core server installed on my iMac displays "Uncertified" for my Mojo-Poly combo?



I have tried Roon Core on my QNAP TS-453A NAS which was running SATA spinning drive and it was totally a disaster (I read before that I should have the server and the database running on a SSD drive, but I wanted to give it a try with a spin drive), so I switched the Roon Core to my iMac which is having a Fusion Drive (SSD+spinning 2TB hard drive).
Just search this thread using the term 'uncertified' and you will get plenty of posts on the topic, such as this one
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/chord-electronics-☆-poly-☆-wireless-microsd-module-for-mojo-☆★►useful-info-on-1st-page-◄★☆.831347/page-602#post-14178195

Overall it seems like Roon will work, but Roon HQ can avoid providing customer support until they certify the Poly.
Poly has been undergoing certification for 12 months now, so to anyone familiar with 'IT speak', Roon hardly seems an 'agile' company.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: mandrei83
post-14632328
Post #11,365 of 15,001

jarnopp

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,369
Reaction score
636
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,369
Likes
636
Just search this thread using the term 'uncertified' and you will get plenty of posts on the topic, such as this one
https://www.head-fi.org/threads/chord-electronics-☆-poly-☆-wireless-microsd-module-for-mojo-☆★►useful-info-on-1st-page-◄★☆.831347/page-602#post-14178195

Overall it seems like Roon will work, but Roon HQ can avoid providing customer support until they certify the Poly.
Poly has been undergoing certification for 12 months now, so to anyone familiar with 'IT speak', Roon hardly seems an 'agile' company.
I wouldn’t put it all on Roon. They have a diverse user base and may want to see the “final” version of Poly/GoFigure working on Android and iOS. But I will say, regardless, Roon has worked flawlessly and amazingly well from the beginning for me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14632854
Post #11,366 of 15,001

Gr8h8m

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
492
Reaction score
277
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
492
Likes
277
I guess it's a conversation for elsewhere but I've never seen the point of Roon. Seems so way overpriced for what it is.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: headmanPL
post-14633187
Post #11,367 of 15,001

supervisor

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
779
Reaction score
469
Location
New York City
Joined
May 16, 2017
Location
New York City
Posts
779
Likes
469
I guess it's a conversation for elsewhere but I've never seen the point of Roon. Seems so way overpriced for what it is.
strongly disagree. well worth it. so many strengths to using their system.
 
post-14633404
Post #11,368 of 15,001

Julienstanford

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
126
Reaction score
38
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Posts
126
Likes
38
So I’ve left my Poly and Mojo on for hours at a time and the firmware isn’t updating. Is there a way I can force an install or place it on the SD card or something?

I see it on my WiFi network. So it should just download on its own right?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14633538
Post #11,369 of 15,001

Julienstanford

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
126
Reaction score
38
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Posts
126
Likes
38
Flacbox seems to work the way I expected a DLAN app to work. I’m much happier now.

But I still can’t connect with Gofigure. I’m using FW 1.0.17 on the Poly. Anyone have any advice how to solve this issue?
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14633554
Post #11,370 of 15,001

Mojo ideas

John Franks
Sponsor: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
1,161
Reaction score
1,688
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Posts
1,161
Likes
1,688
Flacbox seems to work the way I expected a DLAN app to work. I’m much happier now.

But I still can’t connect with Gofigure. I’m using FW 2.0.301 on the Poly. Anyone have any advice how to solve this issue?
Please contact our help line info @chordelectronics.co.uk and chat to Mitch I’m sure he can sort out your problem
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 9, Guests: 10)

Top