Sennheiser HD25-1 II
Mar 17, 2012 at 4:54 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 51

lXxCannibalxXl

New Head-Fier
Hey , 
I just bought my Sennheiser HD25-1 II after days of reserching and i was wondering which amp suit my "situation" best.
As you might have figured out i'm new to the hi-fi world however my taste in music built up with years of listening to various music , mostly metal.(My english is not too good as well).
I listen mostly to melodic-technical death metal which is not so popular nor it is filled with junk-lowquality music. My favorite bands are by far In Flames,Decapitated,Dark Tranquillity. Also i play guitar my self and i would like my amp to come in handy when playing guitar too (my neighbors don't like my skillful guitar playing so i have to wear headphone and listen to my guitar's sound ),
My portable setting is Ipod Touch 4g+FiiO l9 LOD+ Sennheiser HD25-1 II .I was going to buy a PA2V2 before making this thread and my budget can stretch up to 150$ at most but i'd prefer a <100$ amp myself !
My expectation of the amp is not to give me plenty of bass(i don't like artificial added bass to my tracks) and clear and a little dark sound which doesn't screw up when it comes to extremely fast and complex music like Decapitated's tracks.
thanks for reading all that :D
One last question : Do you think that a rockboxed Sansa clip+ would do better than the Ipod with LOD and maybe the EQu app ?

Mar 17, 2012 at 5:38 PM Post #2 of 51
If you already have an iPod, it's fine.  It also depends what generation it is, the older ones have Wolfson DAC's.  I personally bought a JDS Labs C421 even with a budget of only 100 dollars because I had an excess of money that I felt that I should spend and give proper justice to my headphones.  But for you, I would personally get a JDS Labs Cmoy or the FiiO E11.  The E11 has the slim factor the Cmoy has the novelty factor.

Mar 17, 2012 at 5:54 PM Post #3 of 51

Quote: