New model Cowon - Plenue D2
post-14914042
Post #436 of 820

counterclockwise

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
65
Reaction score
36
Location
Japan
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Location
Japan
Posts
65
Likes
36
     Share This Post       
post-14915456
Post #438 of 820

silverfishla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
1,441
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,649
Likes
1,441
Sorry, just tying to figure some things out...what number does the volume go up to? At first I was thinking this thing didn’t have that much power. I started rolling up on 100 in low power, then I would switch over to headphone mode. Then I realized that itt goes over 100. What is the top value?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14916187
Post #439 of 820

taffy2207

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8,375
Reaction score
4,975
Location
Bae Caerdydd
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Location
Bae Caerdydd
Posts
8,375
Likes
4,975
140 steps.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14922100
Post #441 of 820

TooPoorForHiFi

Previously known as MidNighTempest
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Messages
1,306
Reaction score
272
Location
USA
Joined
Jan 14, 2014
Location
USA
Posts
1,306
Likes
272
     Share This Post       
post-14922111
Post #442 of 820

silverfishla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
1,441
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,649
Likes
1,441
Any update on that 512GB Card working? :sweat_smile:
I’d like to let you know, but I can’t reformat the card right now because my Mac crapped out. I just have one 64gb card that’s formatted in fat32 and my other cards that I use are all exfat (hence my question above). Will have to wait at least another week. In the meantime, did a 256gb card work?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14922546
Post #443 of 820

SoundSquare

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
351
Reaction score
210
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Location
Paris, France
Posts
351
Likes
210
I’d like to let you know, but I can’t reformat the card right now because my Mac crapped out. I just have one 64gb card that’s formatted in fat32 and my other cards that I use are all exfat (hence my question above). Will have to wait at least another week. In the meantime, did a 256gb card work?
I got my plenue D2 this morning so it's still very fresh but i tried 200Gb card (Sandisk, no problem), 400Gb card (Sandisk, works but don't index all files) and 512Gb card (Samsung, won't index files at all) all in FAT32.
So the limitation that Cowon refers to is to be taken seriously.

Now i want a firmware upgrade to use 512Gb cards with all files indexed. in 2019 it's not acceptable to have such a limitation.

EDIT : forgot to mention that i updated the DAP to 1.02 firmware
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14922599
Post #444 of 820

silverfishla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
1,441
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,649
Likes
1,441
I got my plenue D2 this morning so it's still very fresh but i tried 200Gb card (Sandisk, no problem), 400Gb card (Sandisk, works but don't index all files) and 512Gb card (Samsung, won't index files at all) all in FAT32.
So the limitation that Cowon refers to is to be taken seriously.

Now i want a firmware upgrade to use 512Gb cards with all files indexed. in 2019 it's not acceptable to have such a limitation.

EDIT : forgot to mention that i updated the DAP to 1.02 firmware
What were the improvements in the new firmware. Haven't been able to install it yet because of computer problems.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14922884
Post #445 of 820

taffy2207

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Messages
8,375
Reaction score
4,975
Location
Bae Caerdydd
Joined
Mar 8, 2015
Location
Bae Caerdydd
Posts
8,375
Likes
4,975
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: silverfishla
post-14924844
Post #446 of 820

silverfishla

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Messages
1,649
Reaction score
1,441
Location
Los Angeles
Joined
Oct 6, 2016
Location
Los Angeles
Posts
1,649
Likes
1,441
I am really digging this player! The sound adjustments are fantastic. BBE, EQ, Reverb are just so useful. If you’ve got a lot of IEMs and earbuds (like I do), really helps bring up the ones that are middling (especially ones that you might consider slightly dull, or slightly sharp). Degradation is null. I’ve also never had a player that lasts this long on a charge...I don’t think I can go back.
 
post-14925451
Post #447 of 820

dsrk

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Messages
940
Reaction score
417
Joined
Feb 12, 2017
Posts
940
Likes
417
I am really digging this player! The sound adjustments are fantastic. BBE, EQ, Reverb are just so useful. If you’ve got a lot of IEMs and earbuds (like I do), really helps bring up the ones that are middling (especially ones that you might consider slightly dull, or slightly sharp). Degradation is null. I’ve also never had a player that lasts this long on a charge...I don’t think I can go back.
That's the beauty of the Cowon, it's for the tweakers.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: silverfishla
post-14925471
Post #448 of 820

mbphotox

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Messages
134
Reaction score
24
Location
Switzerland
Joined
Nov 10, 2016
Location
Switzerland
Posts
134
Likes
24
Age
33
Is there any chance for Cowon to release a new firmware that fixes the stupid database update?

I want to be able to do that manually, only after actually adding crap to my card.

Right now, the player takes 10+ Minutes to start and I lose any interest in listening to music before I can begin.

A custom UI that isn't as slow and cumbersome as a 2005 smartphone would also be cool.
My Cowon J3 is much faster and looks considerably better, all while offering the same battery life.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: NotKunvinced
post-14925705
Post #449 of 820

SoundSquare

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Messages
351
Reaction score
210
Location
Paris, France
Joined
Jan 5, 2014
Location
Paris, France
Posts
351
Likes
210
Is there any chance for Cowon to release a new firmware that fixes the stupid database update?

I want to be able to do that manually, only after actually adding **** to my card.

Right now, the player takes 10+ Minutes to start and I lose any interest in listening to music before I can begin.

A custom UI that isn't as slow and cumbersome as a 2005 smartphone would also be cool.
My Cowon J3 is much faster and looks considerably better, all while offering the same battery life.
+1 this database update thing is getting on my nerves, especially since i have a lot of unsupported flac files on my card which makes the D2 crash / turn off by itself every few mins. Those unsupported flac files are perfectly fine on my other DAPs.

So please Cowon :

- Allow 512Gb cards to work (or at least 400Gb ones)
- Remove the database update on startup
- fix flac compatibility.

For now the D2 is staying in a drawer waiting for fixes.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14925804
Post #450 of 820

counterclockwise

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
65
Reaction score
36
Location
Japan
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Location
Japan
Posts
65
Likes
36
+1 for getting rid of the automatic update

i enabled sleep mode to dodge the update on startup (there's no update on wake-up) but i'd much prefer to properly turn the player off when i'm not using it.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top