New best headphones for Rock and Metal
Dec 26, 2012 at 1:55 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

Head-Fi Padawan

New Head-Fier
Hello everyone. This is my first post here. I'm not an expert like most of you guys, so I would really appreciate if I can get your help with this. I would like to know which ones you consider the best over-ear headphones for Rock, Hard Rock and melodic Metal? I found "Grado" to be the most common answer to that question, but my problem with them is design and comfort. So, leaving Grado aside, which ones you consider the best for those musical genres? Obviously I am not a "basshead" so I think I would need a pair of headphones which offer the best clarity and accuracy in mids, right?, since vocals, guitars and keyboards are the things I care the most. Your suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Dec 26, 2012 at 2:27 AM Post #4 of 20
Thank you for your suggestion. I actually have the Grados SR225i and they sound great, but I would love to "upgrade" to something better, if that's possible. I have many issues with Grado's design, cable and comfort, and I HATE the foam pads very much, that's why I want to switch to the next best headphones. So no more Grados for me :)

Thanks again.

Dec 26, 2012 at 6:04 PM Post #8 of 20
Quote:
I bieleve the beyerdynamic's DT-770 have an upront grado type sig and they are over ear.

joseph69, I checked here the ones you just suggested me, and it seems they are not the ones suited for the styles I listen. Read this:

Pros: Fun Bass
Cons: Mids? What mids?
A bass lover's phone for sure.  Can be fun with the right music.  But the bass is of the one-note "whump" variety and that gets boring.  Still, can be good with rock.  I've noticed some pretty sucked out mids, though, so vocals suffer.  And for a bass-head phone, the highs can get pretty brittle.  Not at all a balanced presentation, but that doesn't mean it can't be fun.

I guess I will have to wait for any other suggestions from you guys :)