**Just got Denon d2000's**
Feb 9, 2012 at 10:37 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 59

MattTCG

Headphoneus Supremus
First off, thanks to those for piped in and helped me choose the d2000's, especially K Money and MalveauX. In the simplest terms they are incredible. The main reason that I had the fever to trade my m50's was that they were very uncomfortable and I couldn't wear them more than about an hour tops. I got my Denon's this afternoon and listened for almost three hours solid and could have kept going. The m50's were like a vice and my head the acorn. The denon's are just plush for comfort. Couldn't ask for more. 

And then there is the sound. I honestly couldn't say that the denon's just blow the m50's out of the water acoustically because I am an audiophile noob, but for me that's just about what they do. The sound is just in a different league. Very versatile, great bass, decent soundstage and great highs. They are easy to drive with no amp. The sound is just full and balanced and incredibly detailed. 

Quibbles...

These cans have a heft to them. I will attribute this to build quality and it's not necessarily a con. But the clamping action is very loose for my head, ( I have a medium sized head) so quick movements tend to cause them to become slightly dislodged. These are no good for me away for my computer chair or the couch. That's okay though, I don't mind using them that way. I need to start looking for a portable IEM anyway. The cord is very thick and somewhat unflexable. They are kinda large. Bigger than my m50's were. Again this is okay for how I intend to use them. 

I have no reservation suggesting the d2000 to anyone who is considering them. If you think the sound signature fits your taste...they will not disappoint in any way. 

Feb 9, 2012 at 11:31 PM Post #3 of 59
The denons are receiving lots of praise lately...probably my next set of cans. Congrats mate. 

Feb 9, 2012 at 11:37 PM Post #4 of 59