Is there any way to improve the bass on ATH AD700?
Jan 15, 2009 at 2:24 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

KillosusGodzilla

New Head-Fier
I'm interested in getting some AD700s but I'm worried about the lack of bass. I'm a noob to amps or EQs or anything like that. I'm wondering if there is a cheap AMP or EQ i could buy to up the bass of the AD700s?

Jan 15, 2009 at 2:28 PM Post #2 of 16
You can play with the EQ on your music player. The "bass booster" option on iTunes sounds nice with them to my ears. Personally, though, I use them without any modifications, and love them. :^)

Jan 15, 2009 at 2:35 PM Post #3 of 16
I think a Fiio E3/E5 would be a nice, cheap solution to fixing the AD700's lack of bass. If adjusting EQ is an option for you, try boosting the 60HZ band a bit for more boom. Are you interested in a pair of AD700, Killosus? You've got a PM.

Jan 15, 2009 at 3:13 PM Post #4 of 16
Quote:

Originally Posted by lon420 /img/forum/go_quote.gif
I think a Fiio E3/E5 would be a nice, cheap solution to fixing the AD700's lack of bass.

X2. The AD700s are much improved with the E5. I love this combination.

Jan 15, 2009 at 3:19 PM Post #5 of 16
An amp will improve the bass though not dramatically, but as cheap as the Fiio amps are, you might as well.

Side note: I never use EQ. Buy headphones that bring out the sound you like. You might consider a pair of Denon D1000s.

Jan 15, 2009 at 5:38 PM Post #6 of 16
I have the A700s and I would not describe them as bass-weak at all. Tight and controlled yes, but there is also force behind it. I would think they ADs would be analogous, but I could be wrong.

Jan 16, 2009 at 11:36 AM Post #8 of 16
Hmm I'm really on the fence about this one. I don't want to drop the money on some headphones if it's going to lack bass. I would want my headphones to have it all. Is the jump in bass using say the Fiio E5 that significant?

Jan 16, 2009 at 11:50 AM Post #9 of 16