Headphones that give best mix translation.
Jun 7, 2011 at 7:39 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 24

mfrancojr

New Head-Fier
Let me start out by giving a little back round info.  I am a professional audio engineer. The studio where I was working at, was sold.  Now I have clients from the studio I worked at asking me to do mixes.  Well I live in a cramped house and have no room to build a control room.  So I have come the conclusion to buy better cans and use them with the focusrite VRM box.  My problem is figuring out which cans to buy.  I need a pair that have good low end but not over colored, as well as "true" high end.  I have tried to mix on my m50's and the high end always translates into mush in my car and boombox tests.  So I was looking at buying the AKG-Q701's along with a pair of KRK-KNS 8400(m50's cracked) for tracking vocals in my makeshift closet booth.  I use (Crappy) Behringer TRUTHS B2031A monitors right now, but will soon own the KRK RP8's G2.  I need a pair that will cause me less car checks after the VRM checks. I use my Fast Track pro for a HP Amp to the booth and the VRM will be for my Q701's I Know, you should never mix with headphones but until I can get into another studio or a bigger place I have to make due, especially in AZ where your opportunities to work with local artists are so hard to get because the 4 (was 5) major studios we have suck up all the business.  I just need to know I am not wasting my money on the Q's.  I'm not looking for an audiophiles set of cans but rather a studio monitor set of cans that will reveal a lot in my mixes.

Thanks
MFM

Jun 7, 2011 at 2:30 PM Post #2 of 24
I have not heard the Q701 but from comments and graphs I've read and seen, the bass response seems to tail out from 100Hz, so not too good for hip-hip and dance.