Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-15135270
Post #14,131 of 15,461

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
1,184
Location
dynamo hum
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Location
dynamo hum
Posts
2,010
Likes
1,184
Look at the SQ difference between directstream dac updates. With an fpga i am
Sure mojo could get quite a nice bump as well as hugo 2. Rob is not a true software guy so this is not his forte.
Are you a really advanced 12 year old?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15135327
Post #14,132 of 15,461

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,562
Reaction score
1,417
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,562
Likes
1,417
Look at the SQ difference between directstream dac updates. With an fpga i am
Sure mojo could get quite a nice bump as well as hugo 2. Rob is not a true software guy so this is not his forte.

lol, how many ds dacs can you fit in your pocket ? look at the size of ps audio's direct stream dacs and then look at the size of mojo.

To get better performance out of mojo, it would probably mean an increase in core speed and or voltages, both of which will cause mojo to become hotter than it already is, probably to the point where it would need a larger case. Or he could make his code leaner, if that is possible ?

If it's not his forte, then he must be extremely lucky for his "true code" to excel at what it was built for, and it is excelling at what it was designed for.

I'm all for updates, but some products just don't need them, especially if they are not broke, mojo being a perfect example of such a product.

If mojo was a streamer/server, and if it was not updatable, I would not buy it. Totally different products with different needs.
 
post-15137080
Post #14,134 of 15,461

captblaze

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Messages
1,360
Reaction score
930
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Joined
Feb 11, 2016
Location
Blazin it up in the land of Lincoln
Posts
1,360
Likes
930
I have spent a few days with Poly and am happy with its performance and stability. I don't do Roon so I cant speak on that functionality. the one sketchy thing I have found is regarding quick play. good concept, poor execution (at least in my experience). it is a minor inconvenience and doesn't really affect the over all user experience.

I can tell you this. I am glad I waited to purchase Poly. I've owned Mojo on three different occasions and now I can see a regular use case combined with Poly.
 
post-15137093
Post #14,135 of 15,461

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,562
Reaction score
1,417
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,562
Likes
1,417
Now that they have decent functionality and reliability, what would be cool is an overhauled gofigure gui, possibly even a chord gofigure combo media player app ?

That would be cool, but unless they built one for 2go, it will probably end up costing loads and filling the coffers of that dodgy company who designed and made poly's pcb and gofigure software.

The word's "free lunch" springs to mind when I think of them. I bet they think to themselves, We've caught ourselves a juicy world famous audio company, "milk it" looks like it's objective numero uno.

Actually, now I come to think about it, I think thats the actual mission name, not just their main objective.

You gotta love drama.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15137119
Post #14,136 of 15,461

lhau

New Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
6
Location
Hong Kong
Joined
Mar 7, 2019
Location
Hong Kong
Posts
28
Likes
6
FPGA is upgradeable but I think Rob Watt's FIR algorithm is not much upgradeable without increase in available hardware to.increasethe "taps" length, thus it is quite fixed. He seems to have this algorithm in mind since he was a student and waited until now to blossom with the explosion of low power high processing power from the mobile revolution.

PS Audio seems to have different approach and they are actually changing the algorithms...... they are still searching for a solution.

Both approaches may have merits and it's up to your ear to decide which is for you......
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Amberlamps
post-15137204
Post #14,137 of 15,461

ZappaMan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Messages
2,010
Reaction score
1,184
Location
dynamo hum
Joined
Jan 2, 2018
Location
dynamo hum
Posts
2,010
Likes
1,184

An amazing bit of content - 2hours Thomas York’s with latest songs

Help get you closer to home time
 
     Share This Post       
post-15138861
Post #14,138 of 15,461

DavidW

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
278
Reaction score
78
Location
Washington DC area
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Location
Washington DC area
Posts
278
Likes
78
Need a bit of help again. Very curious as I'm getting these bumps after many months of superior performance with the Poly.

While on a flight today, my iPhone wouldn't fully connect my Poly using Gofigure. Gofigure would show a connection. I then connected my Poly as WiFi under the iPhone settings (as I'm using hotspot mode) and tried to play music with mconnect and then 8Player. Neither would show the Poly as a source. At one point I was able to connect the Poly to access music stored on my mSD card, but only by using the earphone jack of my iPhone. That didn't last too long once I tried to use something other than AirPlay. I was not able to repeat that again using AirPlay.

After a few repeated attempts, I did a factory reset. Still no good. Once the plane landed and I got to the hotel, I wiped and reinstalled Gofigure and did another factory reset. And yet no progress. What to do?

Thanks.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15138873
Post #14,139 of 15,461

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
756
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,537
Likes
756
Need a bit of help again. Very curious as I'm getting these bumps after many months of superior performance with the Poly.

While on a flight today, my iPhone wouldn't fully connect my Poly using Gofigure. Gofigure would show a connection. I then connected my Poly as WiFi under the iPhone settings (as I'm using hotspot mode) and tried to play music with mconnect and then 8Player. Neither would show the Poly as a source. At one point I was able to connect the Poly to access music stored on my mSD card, but only by using the earphone jack of my iPhone. That didn't last too long once I tried to use something other than AirPlay. I was not able to repeat that again using AirPlay.

After a few repeated attempts, I did a factory reset. Still no good. Once the plane landed and I got to the hotel, I wiped and reinstalled Gofigure and did another factory reset. And yet no progress. What to do?

Thanks.
Have you tried rebooting your phone? That works for me when strange things happen (with Poly or with Bluetooth devices in general).
 
     Share This Post       
post-15139001
Post #14,141 of 15,461

jarnopp

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Messages
1,537
Reaction score
756
Joined
Nov 26, 2014
Posts
1,537
Likes
756
Yes, many times. That was my hope as well.
Hmmm. Well, I was just on the East Coast (NYC and Long Island) and cell was generally terrible on ATT and Poly was acting up. Could it be something like that? I was using Poly hotspot mode, but because cell was bad, I think that was still interfering.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15139191
Post #14,142 of 15,461

Matt Bartlett

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
831
Reaction score
981
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
831
Likes
981
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Need a bit of help again. Very curious as I'm getting these bumps after many months of superior performance with the Poly.

While on a flight today, my iPhone wouldn't fully connect my Poly using Gofigure. Gofigure would show a connection. I then connected my Poly as WiFi under the iPhone settings (as I'm using hotspot mode) and tried to play music with mconnect and then 8Player. Neither would show the Poly as a source. At one point I was able to connect the Poly to access music stored on my mSD card, but only by using the earphone jack of my iPhone. That didn't last too long once I tried to use something other than AirPlay. I was not able to repeat that again using AirPlay.

After a few repeated attempts, I did a factory reset. Still no good. Once the plane landed and I got to the hotel, I wiped and reinstalled Gofigure and did another factory reset. And yet no progress. What to do?

Thanks.
Hi David,
Ok first of all and this applies to everyone with any issue please don't use the factory reset unless you really have no other choice. If you use the factory reset it will wipe all of your stored
WiFi networks, passwords and also reset the Bluetooth security. If you have factory reset Poly then it's probably best to run the Gofigure wizard again just to get everything setup.
Remember resetting Poly will reset your Bluetooth PIN back to 0000 so if you had a different PIN previously you will need to delete the Poly Bluetooth connection on your
phone and let Poly make a new connection with the 0000 PIN.

Ok so having said that back to your problem David. I'm not clear from your post whether you were connecting Poly to your phone hotspot or whether it was the hotspot inside Poly.
If you were trying to connect to your phone hotspot then some cellular networks will not allow a mobile hotspot to function when your phone can't connect to a cellular tower to
get the data connection for example when you are on a plane. However putting Poly into hotspot mode and then letting your phone connect to Poly instead should work
without any issue and allow DLNA/Airplay or even Roon.

Can you let me know what hotspot you were connected to and whether deleting the Bluetooth connection on your phone allows you to connect to Gofigure again,

Matt
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-15139371
Post #14,143 of 15,461

miketlse

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
4,563
Reaction score
2,609
Joined
May 8, 2016
Posts
4,563
Likes
2,609
Hi David,
Ok first of all and this applies to everyone with any issue please don't use the factory reset unless you really have no other choice. If you use the factory reset it will wipe all of your stored
WiFi networks, passwords and also reset the Bluetooth security. If you have factory reset Poly then it's probably best to run the Gofigure wizard again just to get everything setup.
Remember resetting Poly will reset your Bluetooth PIN back to 0000 so if you had a different PIN previously you will need to delete the Poly Bluetooth connection on your
phone and let Poly make a new connection with the 0000 PIN.

Ok so having said that back to your problem David. I'm not clear from your post whether you were connecting Poly to your phone hotspot or whether it was the hotspot inside Poly.
If you were trying to connect to your phone hotspot then some cellular networks will not allow a mobile hotspot to function when your phone can't connect to a cellular tower to
get the data connection for example when you are on a plane. However putting Poly into hotspot mode and then letting your phone connect to Poly instead should work
without any issue and allow DLNA/Airplay or even Roon.

Can you let me know what hotspot you were connected to and whether deleting the Bluetooth connection on your phone allows you to connect to Gofigure again,

Matt
@Matt Bartlett perhaps your note about caution when using factory reset, should be added to post #2 so that we can all easily point owners in difficulty to your advice.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Peter Hyatt
post-15140556
Post #14,144 of 15,461

DavidW

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Messages
278
Reaction score
78
Location
Washington DC area
Joined
Jul 27, 2010
Location
Washington DC area
Posts
278
Likes
78
Hi David,
Ok first of all and this applies to everyone with any issue please don't use the factory reset unless you really have no other choice. If you use the factory reset it will wipe all of your stored WiFi networks, passwords and also reset the Bluetooth security. If you have factory reset Poly then it's probably best to run the Gofigure wizard again just to get everything setup. Remember resetting Poly will reset your Bluetooth PIN back to 0000 so if you had a different PIN previously you will need to delete the Poly Bluetooth connection on your phone and let Poly make a new connection with the 0000 PIN.

Ok so having said that back to your problem David. I'm not clear from your post whether you were connecting Poly to your phone hotspot or whether it was the hotspot inside Poly. If you were trying to connect to your phone hotspot then some cellular networks will not allow a mobile hotspot to function when your phone can't connect to a cellular tower to get the data connection for example when you are on a plane. However putting Poly into hotspot mode and then letting your phone connect to Poly instead should work
without any issue and allow DLNA/Airplay or even Roon.

Can you let me know what hotspot you were connected to and whether deleting the Bluetooth connection on your phone allows you to connect to Gofigure again,

Matt
Matt,

I was reluctant to use the factory reset, but I had few options after spending a good hour with various attempts and reboots. In the end, I felt that I had nothing to lose and performed the factory reset.

In all of my attempts, I was using the Poly hotspot mode and not my iPhone's personal hotspot. After the factory reset, I did not initially reset the PIN for the Poly Bluetooth. Since your message, I selected "forget this device" for the Poly on my iPhone's Bluetooth settings. After doing that (and rebooting the Poly and the iPhone), I am still unable to connect to either 8Player or mconnect.

I attached a few screenshots for your review to see if I am missing anything obvious. Note that on the 8Player screenshots, I am unable to select the Poly under "Play On:" in the lower right.

David

IMG_2022.PNG IMG_2023.PNG IMG_2027.PNG IMG_2028.PNG
 
     Share This Post       
post-15141127
Post #14,145 of 15,461

dricas_007

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 31, 2018
Messages
31
Reaction score
11
Location
Singapore
Joined
May 31, 2018
Location
Singapore
Posts
31
Likes
11
Need a bit of help again. Very curious as I'm getting these bumps after many months of superior performance with the Poly.

While on a flight today, my iPhone wouldn't fully connect my Poly using Gofigure. Gofigure would show a connection. I then connected my Poly as WiFi under the iPhone settings (as I'm using hotspot mode) and tried to play music with mconnect and then 8Player. Neither would show the Poly as a source. At one point I was able to connect the Poly to access music stored on my mSD card, but only by using the earphone jack of my iPhone. That didn't last too long once I tried to use something other than AirPlay. I was not able to repeat that again using AirPlay.

After a few repeated attempts, I did a factory reset. Still no good. Once the plane landed and I got to the hotel, I wiped and reinstalled Gofigure and did another factory reset. And yet no progress. What to do?

Thanks.
Hi, normally for my case, I will reboot my mojo poly. And it will be alright...hmm.

Nowadays I hardly do that anymore as the new update is so stable.

Just curious, have u update to the latest firmware btw? Thanks
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 9)

Top