Sennheiser HD238 Precision VS Grado SR80i
Jan 22, 2011 at 11:16 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 4

ZetsuBozu0012

100+ Head-Fier
Well, the name says it all. 

I'm not what you might call a real audiophile (point of fact, I'm pretty new to this). Regardless, I'm quite fond of music. And please, God, not that sickening noise you get out a pair of... ugh, Skullcandies. 
angry_face.gif

Honestly, I'd thought that everyone here was exaggerating about how badly they sucked, but I had the (mis)fortune of getting to borrow a pair from a friend, out of pure curiosity. I own a pair of Senn HD 428s. While that's more or less an entry-level set of cans for real audiophiles, I find that they're still rather good as opposed to *expletive* such as Skull and Noize etc.

I'm getting a migraine just remembering how they sounded. 
frown.gif

Anyway, I use my Senns for going on the out and about, and I'm fine with their sound quality and all. I once considered getting a pair of A-Ts, but their lower dB sensitivity kinda puts me off. Anyway, I'm looking for a decent pair of open-backs, and I've so far narrowed it down to the HD238 Precisions and the SR80is. 

Got to audition the 238s (no small miracle here in the PH), but I've yet to even SEE a pair of Grados in real life. I might have to order a pair online, though I really don't trust hand-me-down anythings. 

Any advice, my hi-fi'ing superiors? :))

Jan 22, 2011 at 11:28 AM Post #2 of 4
What kinda of music do you listen to? I don't know anything about the Senns but generally depending on your musical preferences I can recommend the Grados. They do several genres extremely well like rock, jazz, blues, acoustic, female vocals. They do metal decently and are alright with classical though not ideal due to the small sound stage. Rap/hip hop, if you don't mind not having the boomy bass usually associated with the genre they do pretty good.