n00b advice (Ultrasone 900)
Oct 5, 2011 at 3:59 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 3

pendo

New Head-Fier
First off, hello everyone.  I gotta admit, I'm just getting into this branch of the audio enthusiast world.....have a bit of experience with 2 channel though.  (Love my Eminent Tech's 
cool.gif
)  How I've come to this arena though is because of my Roland TD-9 drum kit.  I really enjoy using headphones with it (and so does the rest of the household, lol)

So I'm pretty inexperienced in regards to comparative terms, so I know I'm going to have to take some leaps of faith as I learn my way around.  I started with Audio Technicas D40f's which some had recommended for drummers.....crap.  Couldn't believe they got any good reviews.  Moved up to ATH-50's, and they were much better.  I really wanted a bit better bass though.  Also, when paired with the drum module they weren't loud enough.  

So I bought a Digizoid and a cMoyBB to try.  In both cases, the Roland is overdriving the input.  They can be used, but only with a very gentle touch on the volume controls.  Even then the noise floor is unacceptable.  (Side note: I kinda like the Digizoid for other applications.  Size is great, and works well for what I think it's target market is)

Looking for stronger bass, I tried (and currently still have) the Sony XB700's.  These are interesting, especially given the price.  I like the added plump in the lowest octaves, but they are soft in impact and kick.  They do not even compare to the AT's for mids and highs, but I really didn't expect them to for this price.  I have not tried the new XB1000's, and while I'm sure they are a nice step up I don't have the impression that they will get me where I'm wanting to be.