Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-15069320
Post #13,861 of 15,403

Vyyy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
224
Reaction score
66
Location
Europe
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Location
Europe
Posts
224
Likes
66
I post again with the impression thats not fading away and a REAL pleasure to hear poly SD playback. Thats an improovement on sound that is actually audible and brings up joy from music. I must admit, poly surprized me more than Mojo. Probably the thing is that Mojo is so good, that phones, or Windows or Mac is NOT enough. I understood why poly costs what it costs. A m a z i n g!

One question to you guys, and ladies i hope, i have not tried it yet, but
Does dlna playback from (jriver/audirvana) sounds almost same as SD airplane to you? Is it really audible difference? Or both sd airplane and dlna keeps same sound signature? Whats your impression?

I am thinking to buy jriver or audirvana and stream at home to my stereo via dlna as it is much more easier than creating playlist and putting to poly.

Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15070083
Post #13,862 of 15,403

lawshredpower

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
94
Location
Portugal
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Location
Portugal
Posts
116
Likes
94
Hi,

I love the sound of my mojo+poly, and yet something bugs me.

I’m not sure if I’m lazy or what, but I still find controlling the poly a chore and kinda incovenient. Going through a MPD player app and whatnot...

So my question is: would be possible in the future just implement a feature on the gofigure app so I can browse my music catalog and select what to play via bluetooth? I mean, I can already do that with playlists, right? Can the gofigure one day become a full remote control for the poly? Or is that impossible for reasons I’m not aware.

Apologies if this kind of question was already discussed in the thread.
 
post-15070228
Post #13,863 of 15,403

Vyyy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
224
Reaction score
66
Location
Europe
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Location
Europe
Posts
224
Likes
66
Short question,
If i want to stream from PC audirvana dlna to poly, should i connect poly to home network router, or to from pc's created wifi hotspot?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15070598
Post #13,864 of 15,403

sergeywin1

Head-Fier
Joined
May 15, 2018
Messages
98
Reaction score
98
Location
NorCal
Joined
May 15, 2018
Location
NorCal
Posts
98
Likes
98
Reporting positive difference after treating all Mojo and Poly connectors and outputs and IEM cable with Deoxit D100L and then G100L. Slightly upped resolution, cleaner background, even improved micro detail. Hoping it is not just all in my head :ksc75smile:
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15071067
Post #13,865 of 15,403

Vyyy

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Messages
224
Reaction score
66
Location
Europe
Joined
Jan 13, 2018
Location
Europe
Posts
224
Likes
66
Could i ask, why there is tidal login/pasword account under Gofigure User tab? Whats it for? And whats the easiest way to listen to tidal with android?
Thank you very much!
Have all a nice day.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15071155
Post #13,866 of 15,403

Gr8h8m

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
501
Reaction score
284
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
501
Likes
284
Hi,

I love the sound of my mojo+poly, and yet something bugs me.

I’m not sure if I’m lazy or what, but I still find controlling the poly a chore and kinda incovenient. Going through a MPD player app and whatnot...

So my question is: would be possible in the future just implement a feature on the gofigure app so I can browse my music catalog and select what to play via bluetooth? I mean, I can already do that with playlists, right? Can the gofigure one day become a full remote control for the poly? Or is that impossible for reasons I’m not aware.

Apologies if this kind of question was already discussed in the thread.
Full Bluetooth playback control of Poly was mooted by Chord way back, then got dropped as a feature - technical limitations of BLE being the reason. I still wish they'd leveraged full fat Bluetooth for control rather than use it for crappy low quality streaming.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: lawshredpower
post-15071283
Post #13,867 of 15,403

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,546
Reaction score
1,402
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,546
Likes
1,402
@Matt Bartlett

I took the plunge and flashed to 2.03, it's working with Roon fine, but, and I noticed this previously but forgot about it, why does Roon limit Poly to 384khz and 128dsd ?

Mojo is capable of 32bit /768khz/ 512dsd, so why is Roon limiting poly, is it a limitation with Poly or is there another reason for it, and which I've missed the explanation because I don't read this thread much.

Is it a poly problem or roon problem ?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15071300
Post #13,868 of 15,403
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
958
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
822
Likes
958
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
@Matt Bartlett

I took the plunge and flashed to 2.03, it's working with Roon fine, but, and I noticed this previously but forgot about it, why does Roon limit Poly to 384khz and 128dsd ?

Mojo is capable of 32bit /768khz/ 512dsd, so why is Roon limiting poly, is it a limitation with Poly or is there another reason for it, and which I've missed the explanation because I don't read this thread much.

Is it a poly problem or roon problem ?
As far as I am aware Roon only supports 384KHz and DSD256. Mojo supports up to to DSD256 (not DSD512). This is why you can't play music at other sample rates.
The limit of DSD128 rather than DSD256 was a Roon decision because of possible drop outs due to the difficulties of transmitting DSD over WiFi on top
of the communication needed between Roon and Poly. You can still play DSD256 directly from the SD card in Poly though using other methods.
 
Chord Electronics Stay updated on Chord Electronics at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/chordelectronics https://twitter.com/chordaudio http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: ZappaMan
post-15071308
Post #13,869 of 15,403
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
958
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
822
Likes
958
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Full Bluetooth playback control of Poly was mooted by Chord way back, then got dropped as a feature - technical limitations of BLE being the reason. I still wish they'd leveraged full fat Bluetooth for control rather than use it for crappy low quality streaming.
Yes BLE is great for control commands but it is limited in it's data transfer rate so for instance if you had 10,000 tracks on the SD card it would take around 2 hours to display these on the phone so you could choose and play them. We do use 'full fat' Bluetooth but this can only control and play tracks via Bluetooth and it doesn't have the capability to manage direct SD card playback. WiFi is really the only way to do this efficiently.
 
Chord Electronics Stay updated on Chord Electronics at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/chordelectronics https://twitter.com/chordaudio http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/
     Share This Post       
post-15071312
Post #13,870 of 15,403
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
958
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
822
Likes
958
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Could i ask, why there is tidal login/pasword account under Gofigure User tab? Whats it for? And whats the easiest way to listen to tidal with android?
Thank you very much!
Have all a nice day.
It's there so you can use a DLNA app to browse and play Tidal tracks. If you enter your credentials then Poly will appear as a renderer so you can look at the Tidal library. For Tidal playback on Android I would recommend M Connect
but other members on here can also let you know what they use.
 
Chord Electronics Stay updated on Chord Electronics at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/chordelectronics https://twitter.com/chordaudio http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/
     Share This Post       
post-15071328
Post #13,871 of 15,403

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,546
Reaction score
1,402
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,546
Likes
1,402
As far as I am aware Roon only supports 384KHz and DSD256. Mojo supports up to to DSD256 (not DSD512). This is why you can't play music at other sample rates.
The limit of DSD128 rather than DSD256 was a Roon decision because of possible drop outs due to the difficulties of transmitting DSD over WiFi on top
of the communication needed between Roon and Poly. You can still play DSD256 directly from the SD card in Poly though using other methods.
Yes, thats right, mojo can only do dsd 256, that was a mistake on my part, I see 512dsd in roon from h2 and tt2 and totally forgot that mojo could only do upto 256.

I won't be playing any music at 384khz or any dsd tracks, atleast not for the moment, and I was just wondering why it had lower limits in roon than what mojo can actually handle.

I did think it might be because of the reason you stated, but was unsure, although I do remember playing 256 dsd test tracks when I first got poly and them playing fine, it's good to hear that it's a roon limitation/decision rather than a poly one.

I didn't know Roon was only upto 384khz, no schiit, in the settings for h2 and tt2 it has a 768khz and dsd 512 setting, dsd 256 for wasapi and 512 for asio.

My dsd tracks max out at 256, and I dont have anything higher than 192khz, so I have no way of testing 768 and 512 to see if they work. Ahwell, no biggie, what I don't have I don't miss.

Cheers
 
     Share This Post       
post-15071330
Post #13,872 of 15,403
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
822
Reaction score
958
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
822
Likes
958
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Yes, thats right, mojo can only do dsd 256, that was a mistake on my part, I see 512dsd in roon from h2 and tt2 and totally forgot that mojo could only do upto 256.

I won't be playing any music at 384khz or any dsd tracks, atleast not for the moment, and I was just wondering why it had lower limits in roon than what mojo can actually handle.

I did think it might be because of the reason you stated, but was unsure, although I do remember playing 256 dsd test tracks when I first got poly and them playing fine, it's good to hear that it's a roon limitation/decision rather than a poly one.

I didn't know Roon was only upto 384khz, no schiit, in the settings for h2 and tt2 it has a 768khz and dsd 512 setting, dsd 256 for wasapi and 512 for asio.

My dsd tracks max out at 256, and I dont have anything higher than 192khz, so I have no way of testing 768 and 512 to see if they work. Ahwell, no biggie, what I don't have I don't miss.

Cheers
Ah yes via a cable USB connection Roon will support higher rates but using WiFi it has a limit.
 
Chord Electronics Stay updated on Chord Electronics at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/chordelectronics https://twitter.com/chordaudio http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: ZappaMan
post-15071343
Post #13,873 of 15,403

lawshredpower

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
116
Reaction score
94
Location
Portugal
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Location
Portugal
Posts
116
Likes
94
Yes BLE is great for control commands but it is limited in it's data transfer rate so for instance if you had 10,000 tracks on the SD card it would take around 2 hours to display these on the phone so you could choose and play them. We do use 'full fat' Bluetooth but this can only control and play tracks via Bluetooth and it doesn't have the capability to manage direct SD card playback. WiFi is really the only way to do this efficiently.

Oh wow I had no idea it was that limited. I thought it could be something about displaying album artwork but two hours to display track names? Fascinating. Thanks for clarifying!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15071395
Post #13,874 of 15,403

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,546
Reaction score
1,402
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Amamufukinstarboy
Posts
2,546
Likes
1,402
Ah yes via a cable USB connection Roon will support higher rates but using WiFi it has a limit.
I see, that makes sense to me now, limiting wifi bandwidth to something that's not crazy high ( which is likely to cause problems ) so that optimal hi'res playback can be achieved and sustained without any problems and, using a usb cable allows mojo's full capabilities to be used.

Cool.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15071714
Post #13,875 of 15,403
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Messages
95
Reaction score
192
Joined
Apr 29, 2015
Posts
95
Likes
192


Our Poly firmware update 2.0.4 is now live!

This latest version improves Poly’s compatibility with Roon.

You can download the update now via the Gofigure app.

 
Last edited:
Chord Electronics Stay updated on Chord Electronics at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/chordelectronics https://twitter.com/chordaudio http://www.chordelectronics.co.uk/
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top