Burson V6 Vivid and V6 Classic Discrete Audio Opamps Discussion and Reviews
post-14105122
Post #196 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
Hi,

You can do better pics with your phone, see how I did here: https://www.head-fi.org/threads/asus-essence-one-headphone-amp-dac-cebit-2011.542563/page-216#post-12087137. One hand on the probe, the other one on the phone/camera. :)
I wish I could but my S5 Cameras glass broke, but I will try to do some good quality picture/videos with someone else phone on my next post.

btw why do I get only straight line when I touch with my probe the invert/non-inverting input? I think I did get some sine waves at FFT but it was really noisy so I assume it wasn't really a sine wave?

Sorry to ask this questions as I am really new to op amps test :monkey_face:
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14105857
Post #197 of 403

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,719
Reaction score
718
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,719
Likes
718
Age
43
I'm still not sure why do you want to measure opamp's +/- inputs? I thought you'd like to measure V+/V- voltage rails. The signal on opamp's inputs is very low in amplitude and you might want to increase scope's resolution/sensitivity.

I usually measure RCA/Jack output signal if I want to see how signal looks like...I care not about the sine-wave directly on the opamps because it's difficult to check it, huge probability to short-circuit something there and usually the audio signal on the RCA/Jack plugs is about the same around the opamps too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14105862
Post #198 of 403

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,719
Reaction score
718
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,719
Likes
718
Age
43
I know we're going off-topic here, but it's still somehow related to opamp swap, because using a scope correctly might help us investigating what opamps are good or not for our audio equipment. So, here's a good read: https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-use-an-oscilloscope. Also and could be useful too.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14106823
Post #199 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
I'm still not sure why do you want to measure opamp's +/- inputs? I thought you'd like to measure V+/V- voltage rails. The signal on opamp's inputs is very low in amplitude and you might want to increase scope's resolution/sensitivity.

I usually measure RCA/Jack output signal if I want to see how signal looks like...I care not about the sine-wave directly on the opamps because it's difficult to check it, huge probability to short-circuit something there and usually the audio signal on the RCA/Jack plugs is about the same around the opamps too.

Yes I was trying to check the Voltage rails but I thought I would also see a signal waves there but it's difficult to see on my scope.

But I tested with my Multimeter and found the voltage on non-invert input(V+) is 11v and on invert input (V-) is -11v.

and I found that its al ways the same voltage when my PC is Turned on.

And I also checked the RCA output on the scope while I play Music and it's just gives me Signal Spectra just like foobar Oscilloscope visualization, but I don't see anything while no music is played.

Yes I need to learn about Good amps and Bad op amps and how to identify them. I decided to test first some ic op amps behaviour with the scope then I will compare it with Discrete Op amps.

Once I'm done making 4 op amps sockets I will do some experiments with my V6 opa but now I can't while it's on my Soundcard.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14107487
Post #200 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
Btw why my RCA output impedance for Right channel and Left Channel not exactly same? I get reading on my MM for Right Channel: 35ohm and for Left Channel: 32ohm?

and I tested with different op amps and its al ways the same, is my Sound Card working correctly or there is something wrong with the impedance matching for both channels?:confused:
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14108070
Post #201 of 403

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,719
Reaction score
718
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,719
Likes
718
Age
43
Ideally would be for you to measure the AC ripple & noise on both voltage rails of +/-11V. Setup your scope to measure AC and start watching was going onto display. Increase the resolution per your needs; I estimate a ripple of no more than few dozens of mV, but let's see.

For measuring the RCA output signal you can also use scope's AC setting, probably 10mV if available, just to read the noise when no input applied, then increase to 5V or 10V for 2V RMS signals. You should be able to find sine-waves to audiocheck website or similar.

Care not about RCA's output resistance.

Watch the Sparkfun and Youtube tutorials again, really good info in there that might help you out understanding what you need to look for when testing the sound-card with a scope.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14111322
Post #202 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
edit: delete last post as it was posted to wrong thread sorry, but it was answered by germanium.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14130064
Post #203 of 403

snellemin

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Messages
790
Reaction score
583
Joined
Mar 6, 2015
Posts
790
Likes
583
I scrabbled up a different Parasound setup and stuck the V6 Classics that I got from Charles @ Burson. I was previously running my favorite V4's in these. Today I swapped in the V6 classics in both the preamp and amp. I get more airiness out of my closed back headphones. Subbass is still there, but it is different from the V4. To my ears the V4 beats the V6 by a little bit. But other than that, the V6 classics are pretty damn great sounding.

20180326_140150.jpg
20180326_141144.jpg
 
     Share This Post       
post-14131591
Post #204 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
I scrabbled up a different Parasound setup and stuck the V6 Classics that I got from Charles @ Burson. I was previously running my favorite V4's in these. Today I swapped in the V6 classics in both the preamp and amp. I get more airiness out of my closed back headphones. Subbass is still there, but it is different from the V4. To my ears the V4 beats the V6 by a little bit. But other than that, the V6 classics are pretty damn great sounding.

so you mean V4 beats V6 Classic?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14246925
Post #206 of 403

dfarina

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Messages
445
Reaction score
16
Joined
Nov 13, 2002
Posts
445
Likes
16
Sorry if this is a dumb question,but do I need my headphones plugged in to burn a new set of op amps in(v6 classic)?Consensus is that they need a good 100 hours to start hitting their potential,just not sure if I want my headphones along for the ride under a pillow??
 
     Share This Post       
post-14247019
Post #207 of 403

alphanumerix1

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 7, 2017
Messages
1,030
Reaction score
549
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Joined
May 7, 2017
Location
Brisbane, Australia
Posts
1,030
Likes
549
Sorry if this is a dumb question,but do I need my headphones plugged in to burn a new set of op amps in(v6 classic)?Consensus is that they need a good 100 hours to start hitting their potential,just not sure if I want my headphones along for the ride under a pillow??
Yes.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14249750
Post #208 of 403

mikaelmark

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
329
Reaction score
50
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Posts
329
Likes
50
Don´t forget it´s even more important to burn in headphones (and speaker´s)!

This week, I set my Lovely Black Cube amp with Van Damme Twin Interconnect, paired with my new AKG K812 with 3 feet UP-OCC cable, AKG K530 with UP-OCC and Triple Fi 10 with silver cable for burn in with a CD playing pink noise, white noise, frequency waves and some special mix of burn in tracks (pink noise with sweeping frequency waves) for about 18 hours.

Burn in will also be good for cables, and full frequency sound will be nice as it will let the gear play all the spectrum.

You can just search at for example YouTube and let it play continous. Be be awared, as the headphones should not play too many hours/several days without resting - a few minutes each hours or at least a short break no more than 5 hours is a good idea.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14348138
Post #209 of 403

Onik

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Messages
323
Reaction score
42
Location
London
Joined
Sep 10, 2017
Location
London
Posts
323
Likes
42
Age
28
Can I use the vivids/classic in Guitar Pedals?
 
     Share This Post       
post-14374254
Post #210 of 403

sha007

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Messages
69
Reaction score
13
Joined
Feb 8, 2015
Posts
69
Likes
13
HI, I find Sennheiser HD 700's treble very sparkly / harsh which I needed to be smooth. So which v6 should be best for my case?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 2)

Top