Beginner Trying to Decide on IEM - RE0/S4/ER6i/Rain
Aug 17, 2010 at 8:29 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 7

vintwang

New Head-Fier
Hey Guys,

Currently I'm using the CX300 but am looking to move on. I'm selling off my Dr. Dre Beats Solo because I prefer IEMs over full-size phones. I'm a beginner audiophile since these beats solo are the best headphones I've tried to date (haven't tried many). Before my CX300s I used Sennheiser MX500 and Sony EX-71. My budget is about somewhere between $60-100. Types of music vary from Acoustic, Classical, Alternative, Pop, R&B, Trance. I'm planning to use the IEM for walking to classes, studying, and the gym.

I was browsing the forums and noticed a few that a lot of people regarded highly. However, I've been having a hard time deciding between all the different IEMs since there's so many different factors to consider. Any suggestions are welcome!

Head Direct RE0
Klipsch Image S4
Etymotics ER-6i
Thinksound Rain/Thunder

What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance. I've tried searching and navigated through some of the bigger threads with all the different IEMs and so forth. Was hoping for some more specific advice!

Cheers.

Aug 17, 2010 at 8:32 PM Post #2 of 7
If considering Ety, better HF5 or MC5 than ER6i, which by many accounts has basically been superseded by those more recent value-priced Etys.

Aug 17, 2010 at 8:52 PM Post #3 of 7
I think you should consider some bassier IEMs as well. Coming from the CX300 and the Beats, you may want to look at the Hippo VB, Hippo Shroom EB, a used Panasonic HJE900, the Playaz/Xears TD100, or a used/OEM Radius DDM.