A-GD Tenor TE8802 Thread (Installation, Successes, Problems, Troubleshooting)
post-8701233
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 64

HeatFan12

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
118
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Posts
3,011
Likes
118
Well, I figure I will start this thread in reference to the TE8802 chip on various Audio-GD devices. The TE8802 [size=x-small]supports full speed Asynchronous Transfer Mode up to 24/192KHz (usb).[/size]
 
[size=x-small]I have two devices with this chip and have to say I have had no problems at all with installation, media players, hi-rez files, bit-perfect renderers etc. and it sounds great.[/size]
 
[size=x-small]Some folks have had no problems and some folks have been having problems with installation, BSODs, various media players, running hi-rez etc.[/size]
 
Hopefully, as a teamwork effort we can troubleshoot various problems with installation, playing hi-rez files and whatever else folks are having problems with.  These devices require a driver download and install and are not just plug and play.  With some OSs, the device has to be connected and powered on and for some it is not necessary for install.  This install comes with an interface as well.
 
If you could, post:
 
1) Your device-  NFB-15.1 & NFB-16
 
2) Your OS- I have installed it on XP, Vistax86 & x64, W7x64
 
3) Media players you are using- I use Foobar, MediaMonkey, MusicBee & iTunes
 
4) Output (WASAPI, Kernel Streaming, Direct Sound, Native ASIO driver, ASIO4ALL etc.)- I have tried ASIO driver, WASAPI, KS, DS & ASIO4ALL
 
5) Any problems with installation, BSODs, dropouts, delays, playing hi-rez etc.- None
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
Cheers!!!
 
     Share This Post       
post-8702137
Post #2 of 64
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
16,919
Reaction score
9,282
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Location
Fukuoka, Japan
Posts
16,919
Likes
9,282
Website
www.hear.reviews
I've un-rar'ed the driver archives and zipped them instead, since not everyone has software or knows where to find it for the archives:
 
Windows: (1.1) agd-usb-win
 
Mac: agd-usb-mac
 
     Share This Post       
post-8702461
Post #3 of 64

Gamerzhell

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
103
Reaction score
17
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Posts
103
Likes
17
How do you set it to auto? Don't have that option on mine, using a DI-DSP.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8702582
Post #4 of 64

FauDrei

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Messages
768
Reaction score
50
Joined
Mar 6, 2007
Posts
768
Likes
50
Most probably because your OS isn't XP.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8702885
Post #6 of 64

HeatFan12

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
118
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Posts
3,011
Likes
118
Yes indeed.  XP has the auto feature which is great.
 
I stopped using Winamp a few months back due to their asio output was acting a little funky (the track seeker bar would not move while using asio).  I posted in the winamp forum but no luck.  It went from working great to funky out of nowhere, so I gave it a break.
 
Gave it a shot with the 15.1 right now in KS mode.  Works great.....It greys out the pc volume slider
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
ASIO with uLilith...Sounding nice indeed!!!
 
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-8703459
Post #7 of 64

krumme

Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Messages
90
Reaction score
28
Joined
Oct 18, 2010
Posts
90
Likes
28
Have it with dac 19 dsp, and psu a and tcxo upgrade, working fine with spotify :) win7 x64,
 
Tried it with foobar2000 and i think wasapi on push on high-res 24bit material and it worked, but its not exactly userfriendly in my world.
 
Am i using direct stream when using spotify or what? - is it working in asynch mode then? - i have installed new drivers and can see streaming status.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8706447
Post #8 of 64

HeatFan12

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
118
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Posts
3,011
Likes
118
Quote:
Have it with dac 19 dsp, and psu a and tcxo upgrade, working fine with spotify :) win7 x64,
 
Tried it with foobar2000 and i think wasapi on push on high-res 24bit material and it worked, but its not exactly userfriendly in my world.
 
Am i using direct stream when using spotify or what? - is it working in asynch mode then? - i have installed new drivers and can see streaming status.
 
 
Hey krumme,
 
I use it with MOG and sounds great.  Volume slider moves but I just leave it maxxed and control from amp.
 
Cheers!!!
 
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-8720878
Post #9 of 64

Misios

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
75
Reaction score
14
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Posts
75
Likes
14
Hi! I'm just quoting my post from another thread:
 

 
1) Your device-  NFB-15.1 with USB
 
2) Your OS- W64 home premium
 
3) Media players you are using- Foobar, spotify
 
4) Output (WASAPI, Kernel Streaming, Direct Sound, Native ASIO driver, ASIO4ALL etc.)- Direct sound from the NFB-output that appears in windows interface (I tab a lot+playing games while I listen to music - so I don't like using things like wasapi.)
 
5) Any problems with installation, BSODs, dropouts, delays, playing hi-rez etc. :
Is anyone else having problems with the drivers? (atleast I think it's the drivers) The NFB-15.1 suddenly disappears from my pc system - and I lose all audio, in the process my pc turns immensely slow, my CPU works at 100% while no tasks in running (checked in task manager) When I try to reset the computer it's stuck on the "shut down" phase - forcing me to shut it down with cutting the power.
I've also had spontanious resets of the computer - However, I have not had any bluescreens.
 
 
should I downgrade the driver from 1.1 to 1.0 perhaps?
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8722842
Post #10 of 64

Misios

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
75
Reaction score
14
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Posts
75
Likes
14
I downgraded the drivers, but it caused more problems than I had with the new ones, the sound would go total static, when swapping between spotify and foobar, and to solve it I usually had to change the settings on foobar to wasapi, and then to my primary sounddevice again, and it would happen every now and then... This in itself just caused more problems than it was worth, it's hella annoying when you suddenly play something with sound (for instance youtube and that annoying static noise comes - the same sound if you play with the wrong filters/os on the NFB15.1)
 
so I upped drivers again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8722896
Post #11 of 64

spamaerie

New Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Messages
27
Reaction score
10
Joined
Apr 10, 2012
Posts
27
Likes
10
Give ASIO with foobar a try (with windows sounds turned off). You might find that fixes your problems. ASIO allows you to lower the buffer, it could be that its set too high and thus flooding.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8723494
Post #12 of 64

Misios

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
75
Reaction score
14
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Posts
75
Likes
14
How do I enable ASIO? I can't find it as an option @ outputs in Foobar2000.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8723589
Post #13 of 64

HeatFan12

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Messages
3,011
Reaction score
118
Joined
Aug 15, 2006
Posts
3,011
Likes
118
Quote:
How do I enable ASIO? I can't find it as an option @ outputs in Foobar2000.
 
 
Check your output dropdown.  It should have this (hi-lited)
 
 

 
 
 
 
Now go to this (look at left hi-lited pane) and make sure you have a-gd usb asio in the "configured asio devices (hi-lited too).  Double click Audio-gd USB Audio Device ASIO.  Then you will get (next shot down)
 
 

 
 
 
This........
Hit ok and rock and roll...Try it out
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-8723788
Post #15 of 64

Misios

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Messages
75
Reaction score
14
Joined
Aug 31, 2012
Posts
75
Likes
14
Cheers for the help, I just installed it - hopefully that'll help!
just got a bluescreen while gaming with normal output, haven't been lucky with the drivers on this one so far -.- Hoping it won't cause too many problems!

What should I set the buffer at?
 
 
edit:
Just bluescreen'd again -.-
 
 
message:
Problemsignatur:
  Navn på problemhendelse:    BlueScreen
  OS-versjon:    6.1.7601.2.1.0.768.3
  ID for nasjonal innstilling:    1044

Tilleggsinformasjon om problemet:
  BCCode:    d1
  BCP1:    0000000000000000
  BCP2:    0000000000000002
  BCP3:    0000000000000001
  BCP4:    FFFFF880055F0B50
  OS Version:    6_1_7601
  Service Pack:    1_0
  Product:    768_1

Files that is part of casuing the problems:
  C:\Windows\Minidump\092412-20420-01.dmp
  C:\Users\Raven\AppData\Local\Temp\WER-33087-0.sysdata.xml

Les vår personvernerklæring på Internett:
  http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?linkid=104288&clcid=0x0414

Hvis personvernerklæringen på Internett ikke er tilgjengelig, kan du lese personvernerklæringen frakoblet:
  C:\Windows\system32\nb-NO\erofflps.txt

 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top