what kind of sound signature for rock???
Apr 18, 2011 at 12:45 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 20

redwarrior191

100+ Head-Fier
okay.. i'm a newbie here, and 80%of the music that i'm listening to is rock..and general consensus (based on what i've read) is that grado= rock best friend.. now i'm just curious what is the kind of headphone character that is good for rock, because i've been looking around for closed cans that can do rock well but still reasonably priced (<300), but it seems that nothing comes close to grado in that price range.. do you have any reeccomendations??

Apr 18, 2011 at 2:10 PM Post #2 of 20
Ok, I'll give this a stab.  A lot of Grados (my RS1's included) have a upper mid or lower treble hump that gives guitar a lot of presence and energy.  Makes rock come alive.  As for a closed phone that has this same characteristic, I don't know.

Apr 18, 2011 at 10:45 PM Post #4 of 20
I would say Ultrasone has the best rockin' closed cans at that price range. Either the Pro 750 or the HFI-580/780 depending on your preference. I've heard it said many times though, that rock doesn't really have a "best" sound signature that goes with it, unlike some other genres, but whatever your personal preference for sound signature is will sound best with rock.

Apr 18, 2011 at 11:53 PM Post #6 of 20
x2 on the Grados, but they are open.
ATH-A900 perhaps?
MDR-7509HD for sure.

Apr 19, 2011 at 3:18 AM Post #7 of 20

Quote:
x2 on the Grados, but they are open.
ATH-A900 perhaps?
MDR-7509HD for sure.

X3 on the Grados
X2 on the HFI-580, they are great for rock, but they lack the forward midrange that only a woodie grado has shown me.

Apr 19, 2011 at 10:35 AM Post #9 of 20
they are okay but nothing like a grado.

Apr 19, 2011 at 10:43 AM Post #10 of 20