Thoughts on ATH-AD2000
Jan 8, 2012 at 1:54 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 13

ksvieb

New Head-Fier
So I was just roaming through Yodobashi-Camera in Osaka, trying out alot of headphones using my laptop with attached Fiio E10 DAC. 

I listened through the whole Audio-Technica medium-highend open and closed line (That is AD700, AD900, AD1000, AD2000, A2000X, A900x), to some Beyerdynamic open cans (the 990pro was absolutely filthy with yellow brownish cushions; I put it on anyway), to some AKG cans (they didn't have the K70x out though, so I asked for the k550).

To my regret the Fiio really didn't really have enough power for the Beyerdynamic or the AKG (which were seriously lacking bass). 

I got the AD700 for my Girlfriend some time ago and quite enjoyed the sound so I'm planning to get some open cans for myself. Now I am still quite new to all this but the AD2000 just owned every single other can I listened to (didn't dare to ask for a sennheiser HD800). Just as described in older reviews, the sound is nearer, it has a much improved bass over the lesser Audio Technica and the music just sounds great (I mainly used 24/96 Jazz (hardbop) and classical (chamber music/solo piano) files today). One thing that bothered me with all the open cans from Audio Technica was the percieved build quality. Apart from the AD2000, which uses metal framing, the lower open cans plastic just felt cheap. Sennheiser felt like crap. The AKG cans had the best materials I think, even better than the AD2000. But as I took a look around at some lower-end Sony headphones for about 80 dollar, it seemed they were almost as refined as the AKGs and had a much improved material selection over AD700-1000. Now the AD2000 are about 47.000 Yen when I buy them over the internet. Right now this equals around 600 Dollar. I was initially planning to go for the AD900 since they are comparatively cheap (17.000 Yen=220 dollar) and I didn't want to go highend right away but looking at the materials just makes me