Something other than the AD700 for gaming/music use?
Nov 26, 2010 at 7:57 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Silverion77

100+ Head-Fier
Hey guys,

Bit of a newbie asking for a suggestion and recommendation. I've been stalking the forums for a couple years now, not really seeing the need to post. The threads I read basically gave most of the information I needed.  I told my other friends that are gamers to get the AD700s and they absolutely love them.  I think I've gotten 5+ people to skip or switch from "5.1" headphones :
biggrin.gif
.  I personally own a pair of HF-2s and I will never give them up...

Lately though, I've been looking for a bit of an upgrade for gaming/music use. The Grados fit well with my music, but when it comes to gaming they lack slightly (not that they are bad cause some parts sound great).  I'm just looking for something different. Also, I will be going off to school and taking the HF2s are a no-no for my parents and I.

So, I'm basically looking for a nice headphone (sub-$300 about) to go well with gaming and music.  I've done previous readings on the forum so please don't say to go "search and such".  I think I've read close to 30+ threads on this specifically.  I know the AD700s are good, but I was hoping for something a step above them if there is such a thing
smily_headphones1.gif
.  Music wise, I have a very broad taste.  It's mostly classic/alternative rock, but I listen to anything from that to classical, hard rock, jazz, metal....you name it.  For gaming, its anything, but I also do VoIP (if that matters) Immediately I thought of the DT880s, because they are extremely favored for both general music as well as gaming. I've also seen Ultrasone mentioned here and there, but any other recommendation would be great.