Setup complete - time to tweak (xonar, LD - mk3, DT 880s)
Mar 23, 2011 at 3:48 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 16

gg5004

New Head-Fier
After about 2 years and tons of research I have the setup I've always wanted.

Asus Xonar Essence ST --> Blue Jeans LC-1 ---> Little Dot MK III ---> Beyerdynamic DT 880 (600 ohm)

Even though I am passionate about music I really bought this equipment for FPS gaming on my PC. Now that I am using the xonar only for the DAC and not the DAC+AMP I seem to have lost the ability to use Dolby Headphone.

Also, eve though the Little Dot has brought to life the Beyers and I do not regret the purchase, I seem to have lost some of that audio positioning us gamers love.

Anyone out there have a similar setup / interests that can provide some tweaking advice to get better positioning?

Jul 10, 2011 at 2:51 PM Post #4 of 16
I am new to the whole audiophile thing, but I have spent several, several, several hours on these forums the last week.  I have read several posters opinions and what I found interesting is this.  Apparently, an amp will not help in game for FPS in regards to directional sounds.  You may have better quality sounds, but the directional capabilities will not improve.  Have you tried switching the SVN option on for your sound in the xonar control panel?  Apparently that's the magic which makes it sound amazing positioning.

Jul 10, 2011 at 5:15 PM Post #5 of 16

Quote:
After about 2 years and tons of research I have the setup I've always wanted.

Asus Xonar Essence ST --> Blue Jeans LC-1 ---> Little Dot MK III ---> Beyerdynamic DT 880 (600 ohm)

Even though I am passionate about music I really bought this equipment for FPS gaming on my PC. Now that I am using the xonar only for the DAC and not the DAC+AMP I seem to have lost the ability to use Dolby Headphone.

Also, eve though the Little Dot has brought to life the Beyers and I do not regret the purchase, I seem to have lost some of that audio positioning us gamers love.