Sennheiser 598s or Grados?
Aug 21, 2012 at 7:26 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 29

TheEvilNarwhal

New Head-Fier
I am new to the Head-Fi forums and want to start listening to music on high quality headphones. I have been searching for some high quality, balanced sounding headphones that would fit my budget of less than $250. I would use the headphones for mainly listening to music being mostly Alternative, Metal, and Classic Rock with a little bit of Hip-Hop, Old School Rap, and some House.I would also use these headphones for gaming and watching some movies. I have seen that many head-fiers recommend the Grado sr225i's for Rock and Metal. I feel these would be too much for a headphone that is more biased towards a few genres. I have really been thinking about the Sennheiser hd 598s due to the large soundstage and them excelling in gaming and movies. I feel that these would be somewhat light on the bass for Hip-hop. That brings me to the Beyerdynamic 770s which have been recommended for great bass. They are closed so I could use them in public places but they are also very large. What do you think would be the best route? Any recommendations?

Aug 21, 2012 at 7:34 PM Post #2 of 29
If you are mainly listening to Rock, Metal, Alternative, and especially classic rock, I would totally go with the Grado SR-225i (also look into the MS-2 possibly as well).  They are not so heavily biased that you cannot listen to anything but rock (I listen to some rap both old and new, and they are fine).  They may not be bass heavy as some other cans, but there is bass, and it is detailed.  Basically, they are great cans that work well with alot of different music types (and I love them for movies as well due to the large soundstage), but where they really excel and sound truly amazing is with rock.

Aug 21, 2012 at 8:06 PM Post #6 of 29
Quote:
Bump. I would like some more input. Even if you agree with previous statements please.

Hi there! Welcome to these forums.