Schiit Happened: The Story of the World's Most Improbable Start-Up
post-13015147
Post #14,086 of 59,585

noobandroid

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Messages
1,277
Reaction score
180
Location
Malaysia
Joined
Jan 6, 2012
Location
Malaysia
Posts
1,277
Likes
180
Yes, we will be at Axpona, as well as the New York CanJam in 2017. Time to get out of the house some more (or at least away from the West Coast.)
canjam singapore?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13015156
Post #14,087 of 59,585
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
17,983
Location
Newhall, CA
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Location
Newhall, CA
Posts
2,667
Likes
17,983
Website
www.schiit.com
canjam singapore?

I'm sure our distributor will be there, but I'm afraid I won't be. The reality is that neither Mike nor I are big on traveling, nor should we be (it's better for product development that we're homebodies.) I expect you'll see me in NY and Chicago, at least some of the time, FWIW.
 
Schiit Audio Stay updated on Schiit Audio at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Schiit/ http://www.schiit.com/
     Share This Post       
post-13015883
Post #14,088 of 59,585

KewlMunky

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Messages
597
Reaction score
98
Joined
Nov 23, 2013
Posts
597
Likes
98
When Saga is in passive mode, can the inputs and outputs be used in reversed, like the SYS? If so, would its volume have to be left maxed out, like the SYS?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13016266
Post #14,089 of 59,585

belgiangenius

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
306
Reaction score
239
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Posts
306
Likes
239
How about Taves in Toronto, Canada next year?
 
Apparently it's now the second largest such show in North America.  We were looking for you this year!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13016506
Post #14,090 of 59,585

stjj89

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
589
Reaction score
91
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Posts
589
Likes
91
   
1. Of course.
2. Yes, the tube is active all the time. As I posted before, if you don't want it, just leave it out. Or wait for octal LISST.
 
I'd like to run the Saga passive-only, without a tube, as well. What happens if I accidentally switch from passive to tube when the tube isn't inserted? Is there some kind of safety mechanism that triggers if that happens?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13016514
Post #14,091 of 59,585
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
17,983
Location
Newhall, CA
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Location
Newhall, CA
Posts
2,667
Likes
17,983
Website
www.schiit.com
   
I'd like to run the Saga passive-only, without a tube, as well. What happens if I accidentally switch from passive to tube when the tube isn't inserted? Is there some kind of safety mechanism that triggers if that happens?

Nothing happens. No output.
 
Schiit Audio Stay updated on Schiit Audio at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Schiit/ http://www.schiit.com/
     Share This Post       
post-13016519
Post #14,092 of 59,585

stjj89

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Messages
589
Reaction score
91
Joined
Jul 4, 2013
Posts
589
Likes
91
     Share This Post       
post-13016739
Post #14,093 of 59,585

nedifer

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
124
Reaction score
109
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Posts
124
Likes
109
  2. Yes, the tube is active all the time. As I posted before, if you don't want it, just leave it out. Or wait for octal LISST.
 
Nice to know that, if the tube dies and a replacement isn't on hand, the preamp will continue to work in passive mode while waiting on the replacement tube.  Nice feature!
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: hornytoad
post-13017975
Post #14,094 of 59,585

bosiemoncrieff

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Messages
2,835
Reaction score
2,070
Location
San Francisco
Joined
Mar 21, 2015
Location
San Francisco
Posts
2,835
Likes
2,070
Can Saga feed Jotunheim, or is it too noisy?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13018385
Post #14,096 of 59,585

bigro

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Messages
1,056
Reaction score
537
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Posts
1,056
Likes
537
I know some of you have ordered Saga's. Have they Made their way into the wild yet? 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13019053
Post #14,098 of 59,585

nedifer

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
124
Reaction score
109
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Posts
124
Likes
109
  I know some of you have ordered Saga's. Have they Made their way into the wild yet? 
Posted yesterday elsewhere:
 
Very initial Saga impressions (not much meat here yet, though and no comparison yet):
 
  1. Both Tube and Passive operation sound lovely. Might slightly prefer tube operation but part of that is probably the amplitude bump when switching to tubes. Will have to spend several hours listening to just one then the other to really gain a strong impression.
  2. Sound stage is larger when using the tube buffer.
  3. Have already misplaced the remote several times. It is black and kind of vanishes into the woodwork once I put it down. Bigger would be better in this case. But it works fine.
  4. The clicking during volume changing does drive me a little nuts, especially when I am making a small change during a quiet passage.
  5. Hard to tear myself away--very engaging. But I have to go pick up the kids, so...
 
And in conversation with my brother:
 
When using it in tube mode, it has a larger, airy sound stage compared to the Sys or direct from the BAD [Berkeley Audio Design Gen 1] DAC.  But the application of the tube is otherwise modest--it doesn't sound tubby or overly warm at all--just a very small goose along with the larger sound stage.  It still sounds wonderfully detailed and responsive.  (However, the Infinity speakers I have aren't as resolving as your Sonus Fabers, so that only goes so far.)
 
The most annoying thing is the relay-based volume control.  It is great at channel matching, that's true.  But it clicks repeatedly every time you adjust the volume (loudly enough to hear across the room), which is annoying.  But once you have settled on a good listening volume, the advantage of the relay-based volume does shine.  It is very clear at all volume levels and the channel matching is impressive, even at low volumes.  If only there was a way to dampen the clicks when changing the volume.  Sigh...
 
----
 
All very preliminary, as I've only had it hooked up since last night...
 
I was thinking this morning that there could be two solutions to the small (misplace-able) remote issue:
 
  1. To offer a larger remote for purchase, as has been discussed here
  2. To offer a larger body (say, out of molded plastic) that the existing remote could snap into.  The one disadvantage of this is that it is conventional to make a larger remote be longer with the buttons located farther back on the remote, whereas in this case you'd probably want the IR port on the front of the credit card remote right at the front of the snap in body (thereby placing the buttons farther forward).  But the snap-in body wouldn't need to be significantly longer--just have more heft/presence.
 

 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: JoeKickass
post-13019066
Post #14,099 of 59,585

FLTWS

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
2,164
Reaction score
2,695
Location
USA EST
Joined
May 1, 2016
Location
USA EST
Posts
2,164
Likes
2,695
A third solution to make the remote easier to find after putting it down, a large bright white LED!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13019073
Post #14,100 of 59,585

dmckean44

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Messages
176
Reaction score
211
Joined
Oct 18, 2016
Posts
176
Likes
211
I really do hope we eventually get a full sized remote option for these. Credit card remotes are the worst.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 31, Guests: 50)

Top