Schiit Happened: The Story of the World's Most Improbable Start-Up
post-13013075
Post #14,071 of 59,624

franzdom

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
613
Reaction score
113
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Posts
613
Likes
113
     Share This Post       
post-13013177
Post #14,072 of 59,624

bigro

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Messages
1,056
Reaction score
537
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Posts
1,056
Likes
537
His name is Thor? My what a coincidence!
/s

I'm sorry, but this is obviously a blatant attempt to curry favor with Jason and an to increase your reputation points.



Just Kidding, I am just jealous because my wife is allergic to dogs and I cannot have one.
 
 
Yep. I am Awaiting my free swag as we speak. 
 
He is a Norwegian Elkhound. So of course we had to go with the Bad @ss Norse Names. The Name Choices were between Thor (My Choice) and Loki (the Wife) On the 5 Hour drive home from the breeder he Made his case. He Kept passing Gas and every time we got a whiff it was like a Hammer to the Face.  
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: nicolo and Odin412
post-13013694
Post #14,073 of 59,624

Oveja Negra

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Messages
340
Reaction score
769
Joined
Dec 23, 2015
Posts
340
Likes
769
I have a couple of questions regarding Saga, just out of curiosity:
 
1.- Can this device work in the passive mode without having a tube inserted in it?
2.- If there is a tube inserted, when the passive mode is selected, does the tube remain energized? Basically, I want to know if using Saga in the passive mode helps to extend the tube's life.
 
Regards!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13013873
Post #14,074 of 59,624

AudioBear

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Messages
1,656
Reaction score
1,020
Joined
Mar 3, 2007
Posts
1,656
Likes
1,020
Good question.  I personally have no interest in tubes.  I get it that Schiit is giving people real choice here but for me the tube just gets in the way.  If I had to replace it just to use the gear even if I was not using the tube capability of the device, that would be a real annoyance.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13013890
Post #14,075 of 59,624

belgiangenius

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Messages
306
Reaction score
239
Joined
Sep 10, 2016
Posts
306
Likes
239
  I have a couple of questions regarding Saga, just out of curiosity:
 
1.- Can this device work in the passive mode without having a tube inserted in it?
2.- If there is a tube inserted, when the passive mode is selected, does the tube remain energized? Basically, I want to know if using Saga in the passive mode helps to extend the tube's life.
 
Regards!
3.  Are those WIMAs in the signal path?
 
I'm of a newer vintage engineer than Mike and Jason - graduated in 2000 - they stopped teaching tubes before I went through EE.
 
So, I don't know if it is possible to build a tube amplifier without having a DC blocking cap on the output.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13013910
Post #14,077 of 59,624
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
17,987
Location
Newhall, CA
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Location
Newhall, CA
Posts
2,667
Likes
17,987
Website
www.schiit.com
  I have a couple of questions regarding Saga, just out of curiosity:
 
1.- Can this device work in the passive mode without having a tube inserted in it?
2.- If there is a tube inserted, when the passive mode is selected, does the tube remain energized? Basically, I want to know if using Saga in the passive mode helps to extend the tube's life.
 
Regards!
 
1. Of course.
2. Yes, the tube is active all the time. As I posted before, if you don't want it, just leave it out. Or wait for octal LISST.
 
Schiit Audio Stay updated on Schiit Audio at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Schiit/ http://www.schiit.com/
     Share This Post       
post-13014060
Post #14,078 of 59,624

RoundRound

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Messages
356
Reaction score
68
Joined
Mar 29, 2014
Posts
356
Likes
68
   
1. Of course.
2. Yes, the tube is active all the time. As I posted before, if you don't want it, just leave it out. Or wait for octal LISST.

Hello Jason, 
Sorry to highjack this question, but I'm looking forward to Freya arriving on British shores (soon hopefully).
Is this the same with Freya? If the tubes are in they are energised regardless of using the passive or SS stage?
 
Thank you!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014174
Post #14,079 of 59,624

gopanthersgo1

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Messages
4,501
Reaction score
94
Joined
Mar 10, 2012
Posts
4,501
Likes
94
I actually prototyped a 20W per channel desktop amp a couple of years back, and abandoned it, because it would be probably a $249-299 product. I figured the high cost would make it a no-go.

If I was to go back to this product, I'd re-do it in the current-feedback architecture. The old design was a conventional Lin-topology, MOSFET-output amp. But I'm not convinced there's enough demand for it. Am I overlooking something?
I would 100% be interested in this! I think it would be ideal for nearfield systems where the $700 Vidar is too large and expensive.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014175
Post #14,080 of 59,624

jangofett

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Posts
19
Likes
10
HI Guys!
I got the Magni 2 uber and Modi 2 uber but the USB connection doesn't work. I use the AmazonBasics USB 2.0 Cable - A-Male to B-Male - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters).
I have windows 10 and I get this error: "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)". I tried uninstall driver and plug to different sockets but no luck.
I tried installing the Schiit_USB_Gen2_W10_1_01 but it say “Please connect the CMEDIA USB2.0 Audio Device”.

With optical cable it works fine.
Anyone knows how to fix this?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014193
Post #14,081 of 59,624

bigro

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Messages
1,056
Reaction score
537
Joined
Dec 18, 2014
Posts
1,056
Likes
537
  HI Guys!
I got the Magni 2 uber and Modi 2 uber but the USB connection doesn't work. I use the AmazonBasics USB 2.0 Cable - A-Male to B-Male - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters).
I have windows 10 and I get this error: "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)". I tried uninstall driver and plug to different sockets but no luck.
I tried installing the Schiit_USB_Gen2_W10_1_01 but it say “Please connect the CMEDIA USB2.0 Audio Device”.

With optical cable it works fine.
Anyone knows how to fix this?

 Its Windows 10. I have Modi 2 Uber That does the same thing on Win 10 and works Fine on Win 7
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014254
Post #14,082 of 59,624

jangofett

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Messages
19
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 26, 2016
Posts
19
Likes
10
  HI Guys!
I got the Magni 2 uber and Modi 2 uber but the USB connection doesn't work. I use the AmazonBasics USB 2.0 Cable - A-Male to B-Male - 6 Feet (1.8 Meters).
I have windows 10 and I get this error: "Unknown USB Device (Device Descriptor Request Failed)". I tried uninstall driver and plug to different sockets but no luck.
I tried installing the Schiit_USB_Gen2_W10_1_01 but it say “Please connect the CMEDIA USB2.0 Audio Device”.

With optical cable it works fine.
Anyone knows how to fix this?
 
I just succeeded! for those who will have the same issue:
1. Uninstall the old driver from control panel. I chose not to reboot here.
2. Shut down the Modi
3. Run the Setup.exe (from the Schiit_USB_Gen2_W10_1_01)
4. When it askes to connect the device - turn on the Modi and click Next
5. Now it will install the driver!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014919
Post #14,083 of 59,624

valiant66

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Messages
782
Reaction score
1,040
Joined
Mar 21, 2014
Posts
782
Likes
1,040
For us old guys, with a Mani and TT, and a reel to reel, and a cassette player, and a tube FM stereo tuner, and CD player, and a SYS, and a MODI MB, and a big ass quad KT88 x2 amp, we now have our dream system. Thank you Jason and Mike and all the other guys. 
 

Except for the minor problem that to get full use out of a reel to reel and a cassette player, a tape loop would be handy....
.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13014981
Post #14,084 of 59,624

soundman414

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Messages
130
Reaction score
80
Location
Chicago, IL
Joined
Nov 25, 2011
Location
Chicago, IL
Posts
130
Likes
80
Do you think Schiit will have a presence at AXPONA in regards to the new 2-channel equipment? I'd like to audition it and I live in Chicago, so that would be easy.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13015139
Post #14,085 of 59,624
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Messages
2,667
Reaction score
17,987
Location
Newhall, CA
Joined
Jun 9, 2010
Location
Newhall, CA
Posts
2,667
Likes
17,987
Website
www.schiit.com
  Do you think Schiit will have a presence at AXPONA in regards to the new 2-channel equipment? I'd like to audition it and I live in Chicago, so that would be easy.

Yes, we will be at Axpona, as well as the New York CanJam in 2017. Time to get out of the house some more (or at least away from the West Coast.)
 
Schiit Audio Stay updated on Schiit Audio at their sponsor page on Head-Fi.
 
https://www.facebook.com/Schiit/ http://www.schiit.com/
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 11, Guests: 22)

Top