Schiit Happened: The Story of the World's Most Improbable Start-Up
post-13010234
Post #14,042 of 60,051

johnjen

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
3,029
Reaction score
2,164
Location
Well Grounded, here and now
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Location
Well Grounded, here and now
Posts
3,029
Likes
2,164
     Share This Post       
post-13010595
Post #14,045 of 60,051

franzdom

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
613
Reaction score
113
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Posts
613
Likes
113
As long as we're proofreading, the Yggy manual pg 7 has the VCO/VCXO Indicator as #5, should call it out as #6.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010652
Post #14,046 of 60,051

FLTWS

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 1, 2016
Messages
2,169
Reaction score
2,703
Location
USA EST
Joined
May 1, 2016
Location
USA EST
Posts
2,169
Likes
2,703
Page 7 item 4. Input Select of the Yggy in the manual lists (from left to right?):  USB, AES/EBU, BNC, Coax, Toslink.
 
From Left to Right the front of my unit is: USB, Toslink, Coax, BNC, AES/EBU.
From Left to Right on the rear panel is also: USB, Toslink, Coax, BNC, AES/EBU
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010735
Post #14,047 of 60,051

KoshNaranek

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 10, 2016
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
2,433
Location
Off Planet
Joined
Jun 10, 2016
Location
Off Planet
Posts
1,164
Likes
2,433
Have ordered the Saga for my father and look forward to playing with it prior to giving it to him.

Any word on the second set of first articles for Freya?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010848
Post #14,048 of 60,051

nojwe

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Messages
117
Reaction score
33
Joined
Aug 9, 2014
Posts
117
Likes
33
Looking forward to making this part of my first 2 channel setup! 
 
Jason, I'm sorry if I missed this in one of your posts, but why did you use screws on the Freya and Saga as opposed to the internal fasteners on the Jot? Just curious about the design choices. Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010862
Post #14,049 of 60,051

jnak00

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
307
Reaction score
229
Location
Canada
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Location
Canada
Posts
307
Likes
229
If I understand the Saga correctly, I can put it between my Mimby and Magni 2 Uber, and use it in passive mode as a volume attentuator, or fire up the tube and essentially turn my Magni into a tube amp?  Probably overkill for this, but can it be used this way?
 
Reason I ask is I'm thinking of getting a SYS between my Mimby and Magni so I can drop the input volume to the Magni.  Right now, I have to turn the volume on my computer to about 50% in order to run the Magni at a comfortable volume, but above the channel imbalance that kicks in at the bottom of the volume knob.  I am also thinking of trying a tube amp when my HD6XXs show up, so I thought a Saga might achieve both these needs with one device.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010886
Post #14,050 of 60,051

franzdom

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Messages
613
Reaction score
113
Joined
Mar 29, 2006
Posts
613
Likes
113
It will do what you are asking but it's technically not an amp, you would still use the Magni as the amp and leave it's volume at a higher setting, using Saga to lower the volume to the proper level. As for the tube question, the majority of the tube effect is in the preamp so you will not be driving your whole volume range with tube but you will be experiencing a tube sound.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010902
Post #14,051 of 60,051

jnak00

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Messages
307
Reaction score
229
Location
Canada
Joined
Aug 1, 2014
Location
Canada
Posts
307
Likes
229
Yes, I know I would still have to use the Magni.  Just wasn't sure if using it this way would result in a tube-y sound or not.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010915
Post #14,052 of 60,051

AviP

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 14, 2015
Messages
309
Reaction score
72
Joined
Dec 14, 2015
Posts
309
Likes
72
  I'm thinking of getting a SYS between my Mimby and Magni so I can drop the input volume to the Magni
I use this exact configuration between my Mimby and Vali 2 for the exact same reason.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010928
Post #14,053 of 60,051

spkalka

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Messages
37
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jul 4, 2014
Posts
37
Likes
17
Does the Saga ship a tube? Will Schiit offer tubes for the Saga and Freya or should we go ahead and source tubes on our own? I did not see an option with /without on the website.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010945
Post #14,054 of 60,051

KoshNaranek

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 10, 2016
Messages
1,164
Reaction score
2,433
Location
Off Planet
Joined
Jun 10, 2016
Location
Off Planet
Posts
1,164
Likes
2,433
Does the Saga ship a tube? Will Schiit offer tubes for the Saga and Freya or should we go ahead and source tubes on our own? I did not see an option with /without on the website.

Schiips with a Russian tube.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13010963
Post #14,055 of 60,051

drleomarvin

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Messages
12
Reaction score
12
Location
New England
Joined
Oct 16, 2016
Location
New England
Posts
12
Likes
12
ok... I know this is a similar scenario, but I just want to get my brain onboard.  I have a gumby and a liquid carbon 2.0.  If I it put a Freya between the two, I will essentially have a remote volume control for the liquid carbon in passive mode, yes? 
 
If I activate the tube on the Freya, it will add tube sound to the carbon, but not to the extent of having say a Valhalla 2? 
 
How loud would I have to put the volume on the liquid carbon to get range out of the remote volume? 
 
And Lastly, I would want the digital volume control at the source (MacBook) at 100 percent?  My brain thanks you for your replys in advance...
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 57, Guests: 86)

Top