New to Amplifiers, have many questions
Mar 27, 2011 at 5:45 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 15

Reagan0mics

New Head-Fier
Okay so I'm completely new to amplifiers, I just learned about them today. So I have lots of questions. However first I'll give you some information about my current gear, and what exactly I'm looking for.

Gear: I have Sennheiser hd555 headphones. Ipod classic 80gb, I also use a computer but unfortunately I don't know what sound card I have. 

Reason why I'm interested in getting an amplifier: I noticed with my headphones, they sound much better when I listen to CD's on my computer. I don't notice much of a difference when I listen to MP3 on my computer (maybe it's a tad better) compared to my Ipod. However, like I said before, when I listen to CD's everything sounds way better. 

I'm hoping that I can grasp that good sound, or atleast get closer to that sound with an amplifier connected to my computer and/or Ipod. I'd rather not want to buy a ton of CD's if instead I could buy an amplifier once and get better quality sound on all my MP3's. 

Questions about amplifiers:
1. Do amplifiers work with Ipods?
2. I already know amplifiers work with computers, but I'm hoping I can get an amplifier that will work with an ipod.
3. What's the difference between a full size amp, compared to a portable amp? (Maybe this is just a dumb question, because I'm assuming it's just a matter of size. But I just want to make sure, because I was confused about which thread I should post in).

Specifics of what I'm looking for:
1. Will an amplifier improve the quality of my sound with my HD555's? I've gone through a few threads and see mixed opinions on this.
2. I want an amplifier that works with my Ipod and computer (although if it's a matter of one or the other, I want an amplifier that works with my Ipod). 
3. I only listen to music at home (besides listening to music in my car but that's irrelevant) so portability is not an issue.