Musical Fidelity M1 HFA/DAC, Burson HA-160D, Woo WA6/WA2 or Schiit Lyr/Bifrost?
May 16, 2012 at 5:32 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 19

Senn-Fi

100+ Head-Fier
Hi guys/gals!  Long time lurker here coming out of the woodwork to get a few opinions.  I have been listening to headphones for a 10+ years, but recently have gotten the upgrade bug.  I had a pair of Sennheiser HD-590's for a long time and added a Firestone Fubar IV+ DAC/Amp about 3 years ago.  I also have a pair of Shure SE 210's, and have been pretty happy with those as well.  

I have mostly listed to FLAC rips directly off of my computer in the past but have recently been listening to the Ipod in the bedroom in the evenings.

Well, I decided that it was time for an upgrade in the bedroom and tried out several models at the local HiFi shop and walked out with a pair of HD800's and a Peachtree iDecco.  This sounds phenomenal with my Ipod streaming ALAC to the digital input on the iDecco and is a nice relatively attractive setup for the bedroom.  

Well, needless to say, I am now no longer happy with my Fubar IV/590 combo and would like to upgrade that and have been trying to decide how to proceed.  I listened to the HD800's on the Musical Fidelity M1 HFA at the HiFi shop and thought that it sounded great, even better than the iDecco.  I was planning to get this for the computer room and probably add a pair of LCD-2's as well, but now am wondering about the Burson HA-160D and Schiit Lyr/Bifrost, or even a Woo WA-2/WA-6 with WDS-1 or any combination of the above.

So, unfortunately, the Musical Fidelity M1 DAC/HFA is the only setup that I can buy locally and was wondering if anyone has compared it to any of the other combos. 

Also, I cannot try the LCD-2's out but am pretty sure that I want to get these to complement the HD800's.