Looking for great closed-back headphones in the $300 range.
Nov 10, 2012 at 7:18 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 14

HeadphoneNoooob

New Head-Fier
I'm a high school student looking for a pair of over-ear headphones that will be used when I'm on the way to school, in library, when I'm traveling, and studying. 

Basically my point is ...
-Over-ear, prefer detachable cords and not too long
-Not too ugly looking, and closed back (Example of NOT ugly: Ath-M50, Ath-ProMk2, and etc...)
-Listen to kpop, dubstep, eletronic, pop, hip-hop, and rap. 
-Balanced sound 
-Sound source is my iPhone and My computer (Without an amp)
-Comfortable and portable (if it's foldable then it's portable)
-Should be able to block out noise easily

My friend told me I should get the AKG K550's. Are they easy to drive on a phone and have good sound quality? 
I do love bass, but the bass should NEVER over-power my mid and treble.

I know it's impossible to fill this criteria 100%, but try to help me. 
Thank you so much to anyone who responses. 
p.s. I'm sorry, if this is in the wrong threads ... I'm kind of new ...

Edit: Detachable cable is not a big deal, unless the cable is like 9ft long. Also I did little more research, and found out about Sennheiser HD-25 ii. They say it's built like a tank and sounds good too. Is it any good ? 

Nov 10, 2012 at 7:48 PM Post #2 of 14
Well the Ath-M50's are pretty balanced they are slightly bass heavy. I had the limited edition ones and liked them for an all around use. But for your genres I think you would like them the bass is there buts its not to over powering. 

Nov 10, 2012 at 8:00 PM Post #3 of 14
Wow, this is an easy one.  V-Moda M-100.

BTW, neither the K550 (nor it's successor the K551) has a detachable cable - much to our collective dismay. 
frown.gif

Nov 11, 2012 at 1:46 PM Post #5 of 14
I think you'd be extremely pleased with the new Sennheiser MOMENTUMs.

* They are circumaural.