Living room amp, for mostly low impedance cans
Jan 10, 2011 at 10:57 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

Proglover

Progressiveus Drummeus
Although I've tried some cans along the way now, I'm still a relative noob in amps.

I have the E7+E9 combo for my desktop, doing fine as E9 is a nice little thing to power my headphones.

But I want something for my living room rig. I'd like to try something with a tube or tubes, get some experience with that. Source will be a Philips 963 SACD player, nothing fancy, but decent stuff I hope.

Budget: <200 euro, 250 if it's really really worth it (200 euro = about 260 usd)
Headphones: as in my signature, most important being the Grado's and my coming Denon D7000

I was planning to buy a Little Dot III or IV, but I read they don't pair well with low impedance and that the Little Dot I would be better for that.

But is that it? LD I best for my low imp. cans under 200 bucks?

Recommendations are very welcome, for my first steps in tubies.

Jan 10, 2011 at 4:03 PM Post #2 of 12
Hey Proglover,

Nice collection of phones you have.  For low impedance, especially Grados under $200, the I+  for tubes (hybrid) is unbeatable.  I don't use any phone over 75ohm with it, but anything less it rocks.  You have a choice of 3 families of tubes, opamp rollable, small footprint etc.....Great deal and sound..

Cheers

Jan 10, 2011 at 6:08 PM Post #3 of 12

Quote:
Hey Proglover,

Nice collection of phones you have.  For low impedance, especially Grados under $200, the I+  for tubes (hybrid) is unbeatable.  I don't use any phone over 75ohm with it, but anything less it rocks.  You have a choice of 3 families of tubes, opamp rollable, small footprint etc.....Great deal and sound..

Cheers

thanks
I would go to 250-300 usd if it's worth, but the cheap LD seems to be the best choice. I'm concluding this also would beat a Hifiman EF2 (I don't need the DAC)
Amp will make hours mostly with D7000's and HF-2's