HD 600 driven by Mini 3 amp( high performance edition)???
post-7656788
Thread Starter
Post #1 of 10

superman0390

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
54
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Posts
54
Likes
11
Hi dudes, i just got the HD 600s, do you guys have any clue if the mini 3 amp will be able to drive the hd 600s well? I know it would be impossible to drive it to close optimal level but will it drive to  at least maybe 80% of its potential? 
 
thanks
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657035
Post #3 of 10

BotByte

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Messages
2,256
Reaction score
52
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Posts
2,256
Likes
52
No
 
Small amp with a highly dependent can won't work.
 
Go for HD598 because they don't break as easily and aren't finnicky with their amps
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657099
Post #4 of 10

MulberryMadness

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
74
Reaction score
31
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Posts
74
Likes
31


Quote:
A FiiO E9 could technically drive it better.

^E9's are portable???
 


Quote:
No
 
Small amp with a highly dependent can won't work.
 
Go for HD598 because they don't break as easily and aren't finnicky with their amps

Sorry, don't understand what that means?
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657106
Post #5 of 10

MulberryMadness

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Messages
74
Reaction score
31
Joined
Jul 30, 2011
Posts
74
Likes
31


Quote:
Hi dudes, i just got the HD 600s, do you guys have any clue if the mini 3 amp will be able to drive the hd 600s well? I know it would be impossible to drive it to close optimal level but will it drive to  at least maybe 80% of its potential? 
 
thanks
 
^what is your price range, I'm probably trying to do the same as you...I posted a thread recently on this subject, about it update it.
 
I don't know that the high-performance version would gain you anything over the xtended runtime version...HD600's are 300ohm cans, and the specs on either version show same kind of low output levels of only 30mw:
 

http://www.amb.org/audio/mini3/specs.html

 
 
Quote:
[size=smaller]Power output[/size] [size=smaller]300mWrms into 33Ω
30mWrms into 330Ω[/size]
[size=smaller]180mWrms into 33Ω
30mWrms into 330Ω[/size]
 

 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657182
Post #6 of 10

BotByte

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Messages
2,256
Reaction score
52
Joined
Dec 14, 2010
Posts
2,256
Likes
52


Quote:
Sorry, don't understand what that means?
 
 

HD600 are Highly dependent cans (Highly means a lot, dependent mean they need something without losing it, can is a derived following of headphone)
 
 
 
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657386
Post #7 of 10

cptindustry

Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Messages
97
Reaction score
10
Joined
Jun 19, 2011
Posts
97
Likes
10
I've tried the the e9 and the mini3 on hd 600s and 650s. The e9 works better but like a poster above mentioned, they are far from portable. To answer the op's question, yes the mini3 will drive the 600s decently but not to it's full potential. Still they sounded pretty good to me. If you MUST use a portable then the mini3 works as well as any. The 650s also seem harder to drive in my opinion, whereas the 600 seem to work better on the mini3.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7657767
Post #8 of 10

NullZero

Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
91
Reaction score
13
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Posts
91
Likes
13


Quote:
^E9's are portable???
If you're trying to prove a point: Don't see anywhere in OP's post that suggests he wants something portable.  Contrary to your point, he/she would be using it for the HD600 which isn't a headphone synonymous with portable gear.
 
If a genuine question: the E9 isn't designed to be portable, although it's not that cumbersome that you can take it to your temporary residence (e.g. on holiday) quite easily.  You can't walk around town with it.
 
     Share This Post       
post-7658092
Post #9 of 10

superman0390

Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Messages
54
Reaction score
11
Joined
Jul 3, 2010
Posts
54
Likes
11
Hmm so the mini 3 will be able to drive the HD 600s right? What about desktop amps, any good ones that are suited to pair with the HD 600s? my budgets around $150
 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top