Good fullsized closed headphones for under $200
Jan 25, 2011 at 11:06 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 40

linuxid10t

500+ Head-Fier
First off, I am a student, and I am looking for a set of closed headphones for at school.  I don't mind looking absolutely rediculous having a huge set of headphones.  Anyway, right now, I have a Sennheiser HD 595 and I am looking for something of similar quality.  I know that is probably asking for a lot in a closed pair, but bare with me.  Anyway, I have narrowed it down to four pairs.
  1. Beyerdynamic DT 770
  2. Denon AH-D1100
  3. AKG K271MKII
  4. Audio Technica ATH-A700

The Beyerdynamic and AKG pairs are a bit more expensive that the other two, would it be worth it?  Anyway, thanks for the help.

Jan 25, 2011 at 11:22 AM Post #2 of 40
I can't speak about the other headphones in your list, but after a fair amount of research, I purchased the dt770 (600) headphones, and am very happy with them. And since Amazon sells them for less than $190, the price was right. Knowing I'd need a powerful amp to drive 600 ohms, I purchased a FiiO e9 also (I already had the FiiO e7 which docks in the e9). The whole shebang was less than $300. Good luck!

Jan 25, 2011 at 11:25 AM Post #3 of 40
shure srh840's for $126 from electronics-expo.com

Jan 25, 2011 at 11:39 AM Post #5 of 40

Quote:
Thanks for adding that in.  I don't have a lot of experience or knowledge with Shure's lineup, but I have always heard great things about Shure.

Quote:

srh840's are very balanced phones with a slight emphasis on bass, 750dj's are more "fun" (bassier)

Jan 25, 2011 at 11:41 AM Post #6 of 40
The Beyers were the first one I looked at.  I didn't even know there was any other real competitors in the arena.  I really wish I could try them all out and see for myself, unfortunately, I can't do that in St. Louis.

Quote: