First post: Any suggestions for portable headphones under $150? EDIT: ATH-M50 question...
Jul 19, 2010 at 10:16 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 9

RyeToast

New Head-Fier
I am a complete newbie to nice headphones. I've known nothing but my apple earbuds since I started getting into music a few years ago. Now they're getting broken and such and I want to learn what some possibilities are. :)

I need them to be portable first. I'll basically be using them with my ipod and laptop, and wearing them either on my head or around my neck as I sit in my house or walking around at my college or even on my bike (until I get some IEMs) and I don't want them breaking. Of course, I also don't want to look dorky. :p So I want on-ear. (Unless there are some over-ear phones that don't look dorky walking around with them on?) And I want closed back so I can use them in quiet places and such. 

Also. As I am rather on the vain side for a 19 year old boy, I would like them to be... cool looking? I like the look of Monster Beats Solo... Aerial7's Tank.... WeSC Bag Pipe... and even some of the less garish Skull Candy. Even though I know that none of them are good headphones. (Or in the case of the Beats, for the price) 

I was looking at Sennheiser HD 228 's... they look cool enough. :p If you got something flashy, though... :)

I listen to a wide variety of things, from techno, to acoustic ballads... hard rock and pop punk. Whatever's good. I would like something that makes soft voices, piano keys, and acoustic guitars sound good, but I have to admit. I really do like nice bass. :D

Jul 20, 2010 at 9:28 AM Post #2 of 9