CHORD ELECTRONICS DAVE
post-15410431
Post #13,906 of 14,125

rkt31

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Messages
1,529
Reaction score
439
Joined
Oct 14, 2014
Posts
1,529
Likes
439
I saw a nice quote somewhere it was like "Every sounds can be measured but not every measurement can sound, trust your ears" which is true for me.

When mixing spec and price into a component people might lose connection to music. We may start thinking that this equipment is so overprice/outdated spec/technology while listening which alters the emotion that the record may offer at the time. Be open mind, and listen to what they can offer to our ears is the best measurement for sound (in this hobby) known to mankind.

BTW I'm still using Dave+HMS. It's a good value for money (at least for me).

Cheers
Exactly that's what I wanted to say everything can't be measured. Like the effect of long taps in chord dacs. After a certain limit it's not measurable. But some things can be measured easily and can have profound effect on music. One is the effective bits of resolution the dac can provide. For some music it will not matter but for orchestral music it will matter.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411453
Post #13,907 of 14,125

BPED

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
37
Reaction score
20
Location
Spain
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Location
Spain
Posts
37
Likes
20
Hi,
I am getting used to my new Dave MSC and I will post some impressions soon :)

I seem to have read somewhere the max volume for Dave is around + 7. Is that right? What happens if (theoretically) I go beyond that?
thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411472
Post #13,908 of 14,125

ecwl

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Messages
501
Reaction score
325
Location
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Joined
Nov 14, 2015
Location
Winnipeg, MB, Canada
Posts
501
Likes
325
Hi,
I am getting used to my new Dave MSC and I will post some impressions soon :)

I seem to have read somewhere the max volume for Dave is around + 7. Is that right? What happens if (theoretically) I go beyond that?
thanks
If your music material never clipped previously, and is recorded at a low volume level, going beyond +7 would do nothing because it might still not clip at +8 or higher. If your musical material already clips or sometimes reaches maximum digital recording range, then going above +7 would clip digitally.

this is assuming you’re playing bit perfect from your source to the M-Scaler. Obviously if your player is digitally lowering the volume before sending the signal to M-Scaler, it’ll take way more than +7 to clip. But of course, you should always play bit perfect if possible into M-Scaler and DAVE because any computer digital manipulation of the source would worsen the DAVE M-Scaler sonic performance.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15411896
Post #13,909 of 14,125

HeeBroG

Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
32
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Posts
82
Likes
32
It's both recording and volume dependent. A BluDave can't voltage clip with volume set to +6dB - even with material that hits the max of 0dBFS. But it could current limit into 8 ohms, as this allows a max of 4.1V RMS into 8 (2.1W). It can't current limit at +3dB, so your danger zone is +5dB on the volume. But I suspect your problem is the recordings just don't hit max level of 0dBFS - if it sounds as loud as regular recordings set to -4dB then don't worry!
@BPED
I asked a similar question some time ago and here is RW response.

Here's a link to the post
Post #884

G
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15412277
Post #13,910 of 14,125

BPED

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
37
Reaction score
20
Location
Spain
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Location
Spain
Posts
37
Likes
20
If your music material never clipped previously, and is recorded at a low volume level, going beyond +7 would do nothing because it might still not clip at +8 or higher. If your musical material already clips or sometimes reaches maximum digital recording range, then going above +7 would clip digitally.

this is assuming you’re playing bit perfect from your source to the M-Scaler. Obviously if your player is digitally lowering the volume before sending the signal to M-Scaler, it’ll take way more than +7 to clip. But of course, you should always play bit perfect if possible into M-Scaler and DAVE because any computer digital manipulation of the source would worsen the DAVE M-Scaler sonic performance.
thanks. Yes I am playing music bit perfect via Qobuz/Roon. My question was related to low volume recordings of classic music, in case I decide to use the Dave to power “difficult headphones”.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15412362
Post #13,911 of 14,125

BPED

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
37
Reaction score
20
Location
Spain
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Location
Spain
Posts
37
Likes
20
@BPED
I asked a similar question some time ago and here is RW response.

Here's a link to the post
Post #884

G
useful, thank you. It’s a treat to have such an helpful community and Rob himself to answer our questions!
 
     Share This Post       
post-15415477
Post #13,912 of 14,125

BPED

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Messages
37
Reaction score
20
Location
Spain
Joined
Jul 3, 2019
Location
Spain
Posts
37
Likes
20
Slightly OT but since there are quite a few of us here driving tour speakers with Dave..I'll ask anyway :wink:

I am bit struggling to find the best position for my speakers. Due to the fact that one is close to a side wall I have the suspect that the sound image is slightly shifted to that side.

I am trying to find a couple of good tracks so that I can listen to instruments' placement on my headphones and then move around speakers until I find the same bass tone, imaging (difficult!) and position of instruments.

Which tracks do you use to test left right balance, width and depth of stage?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15420411
Post #13,914 of 14,125

PhenixS1970

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
134
Reaction score
133
Location
Belgium
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Location
Belgium
Posts
134
Likes
133
Just wondering if any of you also found it difficult to find a power cord which gives a firm lock? Looking at the freebee cable thrown in with Dave the iec plug pins openings are a bit smaller then any other I tried. So these fit well. I have some cords terminated with Wattgate 320i and I had to use the ‘adapter’ the dealer threw in to get a firm fit. It’s a small plastic tube which slides into the plug. Same thing with my Etude btw.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15420425
Post #13,915 of 14,125

Thenewguy007

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Messages
1,612
Reaction score
273
Joined
Jun 22, 2013
Posts
1,612
Likes
273
Just wondering if any of you also found it difficult to find a power cord which gives a firm lock? Looking at the freebee cable thrown in with Dave the iec plug pins openings are a bit smaller then any other I tried. So these fit well. I have some cords terminated with Wattgate 320i and I had to use the ‘adapter’ the dealer threw in to get a firm fit. It’s a small plastic tube which slides into the plug. Same thing with my Etude btw.
Any pictures of the adapter or a name of the company that makes it?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15420428
Post #13,916 of 14,125

PhenixS1970

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Messages
134
Reaction score
133
Location
Belgium
Joined
Jul 30, 2018
Location
Belgium
Posts
134
Likes
133
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: Thenewguy007
post-15421099
Post #13,917 of 14,125

HeeBroG

Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Messages
82
Reaction score
32
Joined
Mar 5, 2017
Posts
82
Likes
32
I believe this will clarify the situation.

Screen Shot 2020-01-17 at 4.07.03 pm.png
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: PhenixS1970
post-15422698
Post #13,918 of 14,125

ubs28

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Messages
3,184
Reaction score
459
Joined
Aug 2, 2013
Posts
3,184
Likes
459
Slightly OT but since there are quite a few of us here driving tour speakers with Dave..I'll ask anyway :wink:

I am bit struggling to find the best position for my speakers. Due to the fact that one is close to a side wall I have the suspect that the sound image is slightly shifted to that side.

I am trying to find a couple of good tracks so that I can listen to instruments' placement on my headphones and then move around speakers until I find the same bass tone, imaging (difficult!) and position of instruments.

Which tracks do you use to test left right balance, width and depth of stage?
That is also what I did to calibrate the bass levels correctly. Used the Focal Utopia headphones, HD 800 S and HD 650 to detect bass problems and fix it.

For soundstage and imaging, I use live jazz music and see if it sounds like a real live jazz band playing in the room right in front of me.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15426822
Post #13,920 of 14,125

shaluka

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 18, 2016
Messages
22
Reaction score
2
Joined
Jun 18, 2016
Posts
22
Likes
2
Is it worth getting a separate power supply ?
Has anyone done this ? If so was there a noticeable difference ?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 9, Guests: 8)

Top