Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
post-14885319
Post #12,511 of 15,647

supervisor

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
May 16, 2017
Messages
933
Reaction score
591
Location
New York City
Joined
May 16, 2017
Location
New York City
Posts
933
Likes
591
Tidal working on 8player Pro, but only 44kHz! I have selected losless quality in the gofigure settings. What am I doing wrong?


Also, Tidal does not connect at all in Hybrid mode, that's a letdown
MQA from Tidal is not going to work
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885336
Post #12,512 of 15,647

Gr8h8m

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
504
Reaction score
285
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
504
Likes
285
Any joy @Matt Bartlett ? It's been on its update for over 3 hours now.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885338
Post #12,513 of 15,647

fordski

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
418
Reaction score
128
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Posts
418
Likes
128
For those of you who had to wait awhile for the update, has it now finished and how long did you wait. Mine has been over an hour now and Poly is quite warm and making cycling soft whining sound. I'm afraid to restart the process for fear of bricking the Poly.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885341
Post #12,514 of 15,647

fordski

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
418
Reaction score
128
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Posts
418
Likes
128
     Share This Post       
post-14885342
Post #12,515 of 15,647

lawshredpower

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
152
Reaction score
118
Location
Portugal
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Location
Portugal
Posts
152
Likes
118
MQA from Tidal is not going to work
So why I would use a DNLA server to stream Tidal if I can airplay audio at 44.1kHz?

mconnect player's native Tidal integration can stream MQA to Poly, but always downsamples in half (a 96kHz track plays at 48.0kHz). Btw, playing Tidal from Poly's DNLA server also gets me only 44 on mconnect as well
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885346
Post #12,517 of 15,647

Gr8h8m

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
504
Reaction score
285
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
504
Likes
285
Makes my 90 minutes seem short! Is your poly heating up as well?
Yep it heated up! Took it out of its case and pointed a fan at it just to be on the super-safe side. Calmed down after a couple of hours.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-14885351
Post #12,518 of 15,647

Gr8h8m

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
504
Reaction score
285
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
504
Likes
285
So why I would use a DNLA server to stream Tidal if I can airplay audio at 44.1kHz?

mconnect player's native Tidal integration can stream MQA to Poly, but always downsamples in half (a 96kHz track plays at 48.0kHz). Btw, playing Tidal from Poly's DNLA server also gets me only 44 on mconnect as well
Poly doesn't support native MQA and afaik never will.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885354
Post #12,519 of 15,647

fordski

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Messages
418
Reaction score
128
Joined
Jul 5, 2011
Posts
418
Likes
128
Yep it heated up! Took it out of its case and pointed a fan at it just to be on the super-safe side.
Also removed mine from the case, good idea re fan!
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885358
Post #12,520 of 15,647

lawshredpower

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Messages
152
Reaction score
118
Location
Portugal
Joined
Mar 27, 2019
Location
Portugal
Posts
152
Likes
118
Poly doesn't support native MQA and afaik never will.
Oh, that's a bummer. Having to resort back to plugging my mojo with a cable to listen to 96kHz audio on Tidal is annoying
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885364
Post #12,521 of 15,647

Matt Bartlett

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
831
Reaction score
984
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
831
Likes
984
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Any joy @Matt Bartlett ? It's been on its update for over 3 hours now.
All the Polys show as still downloading from the server. However this is a bit odd as unless you are on dial up or using mobile data the download shouldn't take this long.
We are still investigating.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885369
Post #12,522 of 15,647

Gr8h8m

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Messages
504
Reaction score
285
Joined
Jul 11, 2005
Posts
504
Likes
285
All the Polys show as still downloading from the server. However this is a bit odd as unless you are on dial up or using mobile data the download shouldn't take this long.
We are still investigating.
Ok - its connected to a healthy 50Mbps connection which I'm using without problem at same time so no problem on that front here.
 
     Share This Post       
post-14885381
Post #12,523 of 15,647

emgineer

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Messages
23
Reaction score
20
Joined
Jan 13, 2014
Posts
23
Likes
20
According to my router, my Poly pulled 190MB from your server then stalled. It is still just cycling through colors now.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: fordski
post-14885382
Post #12,524 of 15,647

Matt Bartlett

Member of the Trade: Chord Electronics
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Messages
831
Reaction score
984
Location
Maidstone
Joined
Oct 27, 2017
Location
Maidstone
Posts
831
Likes
984
Website
www.chordelectronics.co.uk
Oh, that's a bummer. Having to resort back to plugging my mojo with a cable to listen to 96kHz audio on Tidal is annoying
At the moment Tidal only allow you to listen to Master (MQA) content through their own app locally. However you can stream Tidal Masters (including MQA) via Roon to Poly.
We live in hope that with the increase of other streaming services like Qobuz that Tidal may change their minds and allow streaming of Master content through other methods.
There is no reason why Poly couldn't support Master playback when it becomes available.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: lawshredpower
post-14885391
Post #12,525 of 15,647

Amberlamps

Formerly known as Phuca
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Messages
2,639
Reaction score
1,515
Location
Phuket
Joined
Jan 22, 2017
Location
Phuket
Posts
2,639
Likes
1,515
One thing is noticeable, and that is, it's quicker to respond and more reliable.

Had I been doing what I'm doing with the new software, on old poly and gofigure, there would of been problems, connection problems and little niggles etc, but it seems to go from closing an app to reconnecting and playing from sd card, qobuz or tidal very quickly.

So far so good.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: fordski

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 1, Guests: 6)

Top