Chord Electronics ☆ Poly ☆ (wireless & microSD module for Mojo) ☆★►USEFUL INFO on 1st PAGE!!◄★☆
Oct 26, 2021 at 1:05 PM Post #16,501 of 16,646

bobnewboy

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Posts
48
Likes
29
Location
UK
What a mess. The update will come someday and my bet is that there will be no Spotify connect or any other meaningful change. If you charge premium you should offer premium.
The way things are going the new code for Poly could easily be outdated by changes/updates at Spotify for example, before we can get it installed.

If Chord’s hosting company is so slow to respond to requests from Chord, then perhaps Chord should be looking at other hosting companies?

I absolutely enjoy using my Mojo/Poly and my TT2, but this debacle is kinda turning me away from buying other Chord products in future.
 
Last edited:
Oct 26, 2021 at 4:18 PM Post #16,502 of 16,646

Billyak

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jul 26, 2020
Posts
264
Likes
258
Location
UK
I honestly don't think I will be buying another chord product. I actually dig the design choices and I really enjoy the sound but as others have mentioned when you are paying such a premium you expect a flawless product.

It's probably my own fault for buying a product based on promises and not results. I just epxected more from Chord.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 10:17 AM Post #16,504 of 16,646

GreenBow

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Feb 6, 2015
Posts
4,136
Likes
1,542
PLease to recap then, is Poly stable with SD-card playback only, with Android.

Are issues like status lights not showing up, or Mojo not charging when Poly is connected. .. Are those types of problems solved? Please folks.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 10:20 AM Post #16,505 of 16,646

cfisher

New Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 31, 2017
Posts
39
Likes
25
PLease to recap then, is Poly stable with SD-card playback only, with Android.

Are issues like status lights not showing up, or Mojo not charging when Poly is connected. .. Are those types of problems solved? Please folks.
I use poly with the sd card and streaming via Roon without any problems whatsoever. It is has been fully functional since 2.04. Still, an update will hopefully bring some improvements, e.g. mpd.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 10:28 AM Post #16,506 of 16,646

PrittiPoly

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Posts
267
Likes
143
Location
Upper Tree, UK
PLease to recap then, is Poly stable with SD-card playback only, with Android.

Are issues like status lights not showing up, or Mojo not charging when Poly is connected. .. Are those types of problems solved? Please folks.
I have no issues with playback from sd card or NAS using network connection or Poly Hotspot. BubbleUPnP and Hi-Fi Cast both work well. However, Gofigure does not work on my phone (LG G5 with Android 8.0).
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 11:52 AM Post #16,507 of 16,646

hpheaven

Head-Fier
Joined
May 29, 2020
Posts
64
Likes
40
Location
Europe
Hey everybody.

I just bought an used Mojo Poly bundle but for some reason I'm not able to properly connect it to my phone, nor run the GoFigure app.

Here's what I did - once connected to the Mojo (and after powering ON the Mojo) the P.Status led started to blink in Green and Blue (hotspot mode). At that point I don't see the Poly as a bluetooth devices at all through my phone (a Galaxy Note 10). Tried through the GoFigure app, but it cannot find a device as well. I then connected my phone to the Poly hotspot and went into www.poly.audio. Important thing to not is that in the website, after scrolling all the way down (in Play Mode Settings TAB), there's no firmware version showing (as suggested by multiple youtube videos I watched), so I have no idea whatsoever at what firmware my Poly is. I then went to "WiFi Settings" TAB, filled up all the details and added my home WiFi network, then saved the settings and the network was added in the "Manage Connections" TAB. Next step was to use the pin and press the Config button until the "Network" mode was selected. The P.Status led started blinking in Blue only. I was now able to see the Poly in the bluetooth devices in my phone bluetooth settings, so I connected to it and it is working fine that way. Still, after fully connected to it, the P.Status led is still blinking in Blue (not permanent purple for example as suggested by the manual when only Bluetooth connection is used) and most importantly - I still cannot add it as a device in the GoFigure app, cause it's not showing there, although it's already visible (or connected) by the phone in the phone's bluetooth settings.

What exactly am I doing wrong here? Thank you in advance!

P.S. I tried the normal and alternate methods in GoFigure app, both didn't work.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 11:52 AM Post #16,508 of 16,646

bobnewboy

New Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 17, 2019
Posts
48
Likes
29
Location
UK
I have a Poly (connected with a Mojo) with f/w version 2.04, and I use Gofigure (latest ver) and Glider (last version in App Store) for controlling SD playback on an iPhone 12 Pro, running iOS 14.8 at the moment. In the Poly I use a decent quality 128GB microSD card, and play mainly from that into various closed headphones and IEMs. I sometimes dabble in the ‘internet radio’ option in Gofigure, which seems to work well enough. I charge the Poly and Mojo using a 12 or 20 watt iPad charger, connecting them up using USB cables supplied in the Mojo cable accessory kit. I tend to leave the Poly disconnected from the Mojo if I wont use it for a few days. On the odd occasion, the Poly doesn’t seem to start charging, but that is usually rectified by charging it separately, or by unplugging and reconnecting it to the Mojo first.

I haven’t tried any Android phone to connect with, or control the Poly I’m afraid.

Generally, I’m pretty happy with the Poly/Mojo performance and I very much enjoy the SQ when I’m away from the TT2. However I’d like to get the Poly f/w update when it becomes available as it would seem that some or all of the items promised for the 2GO f/w releases would make the Poly even better.

I say all this as an ex-systems integration specialist in 3G/4G/5G mobile systems, so perhaps I am a little more tolerant of minor issues than some :)
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 1:13 PM Post #16,509 of 16,646

PrittiPoly

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Posts
267
Likes
143
Location
Upper Tree, UK
Hey everybody.

I just bought an used Mojo Poly bundle but for some reason I'm not able to properly connect it to my phone, nor run the GoFigure app.

Here's what I did - once connected to the Mojo (and after powering ON the Mojo) the P.Status led started to blink in Green and Blue (hotspot mode). At that point I don't see the Poly as a bluetooth devices at all through my phone (a Galaxy Note 10). Tried through the GoFigure app, but it cannot find a device as well. I then connected my phone to the Poly hotspot and went into www.poly.audio. Important thing to not is that in the website, after scrolling all the way down (in Play Mode Settings TAB), there's no firmware version showing (as suggested by multiple youtube videos I watched), so I have no idea whatsoever at what firmware my Poly is. I then went to "WiFi Settings" TAB, filled up all the details and added my home WiFi network, then saved the settings and the network was added in the "Manage Connections" TAB. Next step was to use the pin and press the Config button until the "Network" mode was selected. The P.Status led started blinking in Blue only. I was now able to see the Poly in the bluetooth devices in my phone bluetooth settings, so I connected to it and it is working fine that way. Still, after fully connected to it, the P.Status led is still blinking in Blue (not permanent purple for example as suggested by the manual when only Bluetooth connection is used) and most importantly - I still cannot add it as a device in the GoFigure app, cause it's not showing there, although it's already visible (or connected) by the phone in the phone's bluetooth settings.

What exactly am I doing wrong here? Thank you in advance!

P.S. I tried the normal and alternate methods in GoFigure app, both didn't work.
Make sure GPS and location services are on. If still no joy, as a long shot, clear cache and data in Bluetooth Services and reboot you phone. Finally email Chord for support. Could be you are on very early firmware version.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 2:17 PM Post #16,510 of 16,646

hpheaven

Head-Fier
Joined
May 29, 2020
Posts
64
Likes
40
Location
Europe
Make sure GPS and location services are on. If still no joy, as a long shot, clear cache and data in Bluetooth Services and reboot you phone. Finally email Chord for support. Could be you are on very early firmware version.
Thanks for the reply! GPS and location services are on. Cleared cache but still a no go. It's strange cause the regular bluetooth connection is working fine, it's just the app that cannot find the devices for some reason.

How can I updated the firmware if I cannot check at which version I'm currently at and can't access the app? The poly is relatively new (not more than 2-3 years old at most).
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 2:45 PM Post #16,511 of 16,646

PrittiPoly

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Posts
267
Likes
143
Location
Upper Tree, UK
Thanks for the reply! GPS and location services are on. Cleared cache but still a no go. It's strange cause the regular bluetooth connection is working fine, it's just the app that cannot find the devices for some reason.

How can I updated the firmware if I cannot check at which version I'm currently at and can't access the app? The poly is relatively new (not more than 2-3 years old at most).
I take it your Note 10 supports Bluetooth Low Energy mode. It seems unlikely that it doesn’t. You can check with the nRF Connect app.

If connected to wifi in network mode, the P-Status light should be solid. Failure to connect could be due to not being on a 2.4Ghz network or not being able to get an IP address.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 2:55 PM Post #16,512 of 16,646

hpheaven

Head-Fier
Joined
May 29, 2020
Posts
64
Likes
40
Location
Europe
I take it your Note 10 supports Bluetooth Low Energy mode. It seems unlikely that it doesn’t. You can check with the nRF Connect app.

If connected to wifi in network mode, the P-Status light should be solid. Failure to connect could be due to not being on a 2.4Ghz network or not being able to get an IP address.

I tried the nRF Connect app and I can see the device and connect to it without any issues. Same goes for a connection through the regular Bluetooth settings on my phone. Just the GoFigure app can't see it as a device for some reason.

I tried the hotspot network on my phone, added it to the Poly newtowrk settings via www.poly.audio and it connected to it fine, so I imagine it's my home network that is at both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz that is causing the issue for the network connection. That unfortunately has nothing to do with the GoFigure app issue I suppose.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 3:08 PM Post #16,513 of 16,646

PrittiPoly

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Posts
267
Likes
143
Location
Upper Tree, UK
I tried the nRF Connect app and I can see the device and connect to it without any issues. Same goes for a connection through the regular Bluetooth settings on my phone. Just the GoFigure app can't see it as a device for some reason.

I tried the hotspot network on my phone, added it to the Poly newtowrk settings via www.poly.audio and it connected to it fine, so I imagine it's my home network that is at both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz that is causing the issue for the network connection. That unfortunately has nothing to do with the GoFigure app issue I suppose.
Did you look at Device Information in the nRF app? It tells you if BLE is supported on the phone.
 
Oct 28, 2021 at 3:37 PM Post #16,515 of 16,646

PrittiPoly

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 10, 2018
Posts
267
Likes
143
Location
Upper Tree, UK
Yes, BLE is supported.
If you have an early firmware version, it may be incompatible with a recent Gofigure. Try and get a network and Internet connection and update the firmware by leaving Poly connected for 20-30 minutes. You may have to do this several times till you get to a version that supports fw update by Gofigure. I can’t remember if this is 1.41, 1.43 or 2.0. Failing this, I would email Chord.

Edit - Poly needs to be on charge to get a fw update.
 
Last edited:

Users who are viewing this thread

Top