Burson Audio Fun (2w pc Class A Headphone Amp)
post-15178330
Post #676 of 713

earfonia

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Messages
2,429
Reaction score
4,575
Location
Singapore
Joined
Apr 13, 2010
Location
Singapore
Posts
2,429
Likes
4,575
Not sure if it worth the trouble and shipping costs, but if you really want to, I should be able to provide you V6s Classic & Vivid.

Almost 0.5 Ohms I measured as well, on PLAY, PLAYMATE and FUN, at around 1KHz. @amirm measured about the same on PLAY.

I can't find my scope measurements right now, but I think that without load AC ripple & noise was at most 1mV RMS; I also remember that my FUN had +/-17V on the opamps, but please wait until I'll find my measurement or I'll need to do them again on next weekend.
Cool! So my output impedance measurement is not flawed.

As for the Burson V6s probably not worth the trouble, thanks a lot for the offer! I will look around locally if any of my audiophile friends have them.

I will check again the ripple noise of the power supply, but not able to supply more than 650 mA is way out of spec. Hopefully this is only my case.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15271567
Post #677 of 713

yavormoskov

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Posts
216
Likes
57
I have a question. I want use my Burson Fun with the Molex in the PC but there is a crazy amount of noise. I routed the normal dc power cable trough the extension cover slot and the noise disappeared completely. With the RCA cable and the DAC inside the case and still no noise whatsoever. At the moment I switched to Molex and the crazy noise resumed. I have PC power supply that is considered very good but the noise is horrible And I need for the Fun to stay in the case and to be powered my Molex. Do you know solution for that?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15271618
Post #678 of 713

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,776
Reaction score
800
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,776
Likes
800
Age
44
I've used FUN last year with MOLEX inside a very expensive setup with a 2KW PSU and 4 x GTX1080Ti inside and no noise on my cans. Let me try it again this evening with a normal PC and will get back to you.

However, if you can find a way to re-route the DC power cable from FUN's original PSU to get inside the case, then maybe this would be better.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15288431
Post #679 of 713

WilliamLeonhart

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
2,515
Reaction score
519
Location
Vietnam
Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Location
Vietnam
Posts
2,515
Likes
519
I have a question. I want use my Burson Fun with the Molex in the PC but there is a crazy amount of noise. I routed the normal dc power cable trough the extension cover slot and the noise disappeared completely. With the RCA cable and the DAC inside the case and still no noise whatsoever. At the moment I switched to Molex and the crazy noise resumed. I have PC power supply that is considered very good but the noise is horrible And I need for the Fun to stay in the case and to be powered my Molex. Do you know solution for that?
I think it's pretty obvious that the noise comes from your PSU and you'll need to update it. But honestly I don't recommend putting any of the Burson desktop line (Play, Fun) into a PC case, unless you have good airflow. They tend to run warm
 
     Share This Post       
post-15288460
Post #680 of 713

yavormoskov

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Posts
216
Likes
57
I think it's pretty obvious that the noise comes from your PSU and you'll need to update it. But honestly I don't recommend putting any of the Burson desktop line (Play, Fun) into a PC case, unless you have good airflow. They tend to run warm
No, it was not the PSU. It was horrible grounding issue between the Fun and the Khadas tone board. I already solved it. Plugged the Khadas into very expensive Intona USB isolator and this solved all the noise, totally silent now and no sound change. Motherboard USB header to Intona isolator to Khadas DAC to
Burson Fun. And everything is inside the PC case. Yes, total of 7 fans are cooling everything :)
 
post-15288774
Post #682 of 713

yavormoskov

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Posts
216
Likes
57
Great news @yavormoskov that you managed to fix this!

It's all about the positive airflow pressure to keep FUN temperature lower.
The airflow is not horrible but it could be better. 6 ft each of USB B and 6 Ft of USB C cables does not help. Or the very long RCAs. This would be the next project. To make all the cables by myself. But the major issue is solved :) I am not obsessed with super expensive cables but 5 $ USB cables and not much more expensive RCA do not help I guess. I am thinking Mogami 2497 with some KLEI silver harmony plugs would play nice with the Burson Fun. This is a photo of the Fun inside the PC case.


fun.jpg
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: raoultrifan
post-15302250
Post #683 of 713

manueljenkin

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
255
Reaction score
114
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Posts
255
Likes
114
Been playing with my burson fun for a while now. Noticed that it was sensitive to a lot of things - with my apogee groove at 100% feeding 5v line in the amp was input clipping. Got it fixed by pulling the groove down by 8db which got it to 2v line out.

The amp buzzes if i touch the front panel with my hand also, buzzes heavily if i touch the line in wire termination (i hear this impulsive snap every time i remove and plug in the line in to my dac).y Power cycles quite a bit when turning on.

Sonically I like it for the most part. Super clean and low noise. Quite lots of power. However I have an issue. And for me it's nearly a deal breaker. It seems to have slightly blunted transients. It's nowehere near as plasticky as an electrostat but it's not quite as sharp as I'd expect it to be. Bass squarewaves slightly boom instead of hitting with authority. I do get a fair sense of hit in a lot of areas, but still not the force I'd expect. The one I have came with V6 vivid opamp. Someone measured in asr the transient smearing indeed is there - square waves at higher frequencies are slightly blunted and sine waves at higher frequencies are somewhat phase shifted. Do you think swapping the opamp to sparkos ss3601 can fix this? Or does it come from the low pass filter on the amp. I've ordered a pair of sparkos so curious to see how it goes.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15302663
Post #684 of 713

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,776
Reaction score
800
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,776
Likes
800
Age
44
Like most single-ended amplifiers, a 2V RMS input signal would be required. This is about the max. input level for all amps, not just for BANG, so that is not a low-light, it's a pure spec, so there's nothing to be "fixed", just adjust properly the output level of your audio source, like you already did. :)

This amp has no real ground, because it is using a SMPS power brick not connected to mains earthing (2-pole plug). That means you need to use some grounding to your audio source; I guess Apogee Groove has no grounding too, so you might want to use a different audio source or ground your BANG somehow.

The power cycling might be caused by the poor jack 12V power-plug connection or by the inside relay (on some BANGs, the voltage regulator for this relay might provide a bit lower voltage). Either you wait few seconds to stabilize the voltage, either you RMA it.

I don't remember me having any issues with the squarewave response, even when I went down to 20Hz. I think I posted sqarewave response on my BANG review.

How do you check the response of these squarewaves, please?
What opamps are you using now?
 
     Share This Post       
post-15302686
Post #685 of 713

manueljenkin

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
255
Reaction score
114
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Posts
255
Likes
114
Like most single-ended amplifiers, a 2V RMS input signal would be required. This is about the max. input level for all amps, not just for BANG, so that is not a low-light, it's a pure spec, so there's nothing to be "fixed", just adjust properly the output level of your audio source, like you already did. :)

This amp has no real ground, because it is using a SMPS power brick not connected to mains earthing (2-pole plug). That means you need to use some grounding to your audio source; I guess Apogee Groove has no grounding too, so you might want to use a different audio source or ground your BANG somehow.

The power cycling might be caused by the poor jack 12V power-plug connection or by the inside relay (on some BANGs, the voltage regulator for this relay might provide a bit lower voltage). Either you wait few seconds to stabilize the voltage, either you RMA it.

I don't remember me having any issues with the squarewave response, even when I went down to 20Hz. I think I posted sqarewave response on my BANG review.

How do you check the response of these squarewaves, please?
What opamps are you using now?
The opamp I currently have is burson V6 vivid.

Post #5 is yours right?

https://www.audiosciencereview.com/...aked-pics-some-technical-thoughts-a-s-o.3958/

Saw some blunting in 20khz squares and phase shift in 20khz sines.

I'll check about the grounding. It won't affect the sound right as long as I'm not touching the chassis? Or will it? The groove is a thumb drive sized dac + amp that derives its power from my laptop usb port. I'm looking to move away from my windows laptop to allo sparky + linux soon.
 
Last edited:
     Share This Post       
post-15303024
Post #686 of 713

raoultrifan

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
1,776
Reaction score
800
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Location
Iasi, ROMANIA
Posts
1,776
Likes
800
Age
44
Yes, it's mine, but the amount of the roll-off is quite tiny when using sinewaves.

For squarewaves the difference looks bigger, but this is normal due to the squarewaves, but most important thing is that there is no pre/post ringing at 20KHz. Manufacturers can disable the low-pass filter, but this is not desirable on a long term because we still need some sort of protection in case ultrasounds are injected from an audio source (an oscillating DAC etc.).

If you don't touch the chassis the sound will not be affected at all. Your laptop has also 2-poles plug, or even if it's a 3-pole plug the grounding is still not connecting to the laptop, so your entire audio chain is somehow floating...or at least this is how I see it. Probably using a desktop computer will ground the BANG properly, but you can use the laptop as well.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15303204
Post #687 of 713

manueljenkin

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Messages
255
Reaction score
114
Joined
Sep 18, 2015
Posts
255
Likes
114
Yes, it's mine, but the amount of the roll-off is quite tiny when using sinewaves.

For squarewaves the difference looks bigger, but this is normal due to the squarewaves, but most important thing is that there is no pre/post ringing at 20KHz. Manufacturers can disable the low-pass filter, but this is not desirable on a long term because we still need some sort of protection in case ultrasounds are injected from an audio source (an oscillating DAC etc.).

If you don't touch the chassis the sound will not be affected at all. Your laptop has also 2-poles plug, or even if it's a 3-pole plug the grounding is still not connecting to the laptop, so your entire audio chain is somehow floating...or at least this is how I see it. Probably using a desktop computer will ground the BANG properly, but you can use the laptop as well.
I definitely sense a lack of hit as compared to my nx4dsd and apogee groove on the burson fun. Visible on all my headphones - especially on my srh1540 which is very sensitive to this. Not sure which parameter i can attribute it to, but I'm mostly banking on the low passing since I've heard this effect before.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15304600
Post #688 of 713

yavormoskov

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Messages
216
Reaction score
57
Joined
Aug 30, 2013
Posts
216
Likes
57
I am starting to get tired of the Fun with the Sparkos inside. The treble extension and energy is too much for my ears. I might buy Sonic Imagery Labs 992Enh-Ticha. I've heard that Ticha is still better than Burson op-amps.
 
     Share This Post       
post-15436101
Post #690 of 713

mikaelmark

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Messages
337
Reaction score
51
Joined
Sep 24, 2011
Posts
337
Likes
51
As the Burson Fun has output RCA´s to be used as a Pre amp, I suppose it can be used as a headphone amp and at the same time be connected to a receiver/speaker amp by connecting the pre amp out at the Fun to a Line in at the receiver, by using a stereo Interconnect cable.

But, when I do so, the sound level will be VERY low at the receiver and when turning the volume knob up (CW) at the Fun, the sound will go off and there´s a hearable click from a relay in the Fun, and after turning the volume knob down again (CCW), there´s another click again and the dampened sound will come back.

Is´nt it possible to use the Fun as a Pre amp, connected to a receiver´s Line in for listening to speakers?

I´ve tried with both a pair of headphones connected and unconnected with the same result!
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top