Are the ATH-ES10 worth it? (other recommendations appreciated)
Jan 30, 2011 at 2:42 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

Ceporom

New Head-Fier
This is my first thread on this forum, so bear with me as I'm just starting out. I'm looking for some advice on headphones or IEMs with great build quality for commuting.

My past experience has been mostly with IEMs, as I like their discreetness a lot when I go somewhere. I've had Denon AH-C710's followed by Etymotic MC5's, which is where I'm currently at. i listen to pop, hip-hop, electronica and rock in that order mostly.

All in all, I like the sound of the MC5's although I find the bass a bit lacking, everything on the high end sounds good enough for me, and the mids are adequate. 

What I'm really annoyed at is the cable quality however, and I recently tried the ATH-M50, HD-25 II and TMA-1's to see how they would fare against my IEMs. Overall I was dissapointed, because I found the MC5 to be superior to all of the above mentioned models in sound quality when playing straight from my Ipod. the headphones had them trumped in bass, but only in quantity in my opinion, and the rest was either muddied or just plain weak (the files I used were 320 kbs mp3's). 

Of course, it was another story when I plugged them into the rigs that the store had for listening purposes. I think I liked the HD-25's most at the time, even though I missed some of the bass elements and space of the ATH-M50's (I had written of the TMA-1's at this point). I was a bit confused by this, since I've seen a lot people write about how you wouldn't need an amp or dac for these headphones.