Kathiravan JLR

New Head-Fier
Tanchjim Tanya – New Budget Gem
Pros: Inoffensive Warm and Smooth Sound
Sweet treble roll off
Nice bass texture with mid bass boost
Above average Sound stage and Imaging
Packaging and Accessories
Price and Insane Value for Money
Cons: Non detachable Cable
Detail Retrieval
The Tanya is the new and only budget offering from the Tanchjim based out of Shenzhen,China which is widely known for its high end in-ear monitors like the Hana, Oxygen etc. To continue its legacy and bring that premium sound to the budget range the Tanya has been released into the market for the price of Rs.1600 or 22 USD is crazy impressive considering the brands previous propositions. In this review let’s see how Tanya performs and see whether Tanchjim nailed it even in the budget segment too!


DISCLAIMER:​

This unit is provided to me as a part of review circle organised by the HIFIGO and the statements that i have made here is solely mine and nobody influenced me to manipulate this review. This review is completely subjective since the sound output differs based on your source and setup you have. I would also like to thank the HIFIGO team for organizing this review circle.

SPECIFICATIONS:

>Bullet-shaped small, lightweight design.

>Durable Titanium-Alloy rear cavities.

>Aviation-grade aluminum alloy shells.

>High-quality cable with In-Line Mic option.

>Impedance: 16 ohms.

>Frequency response range: 20Hz-42kHz.

>Sensitivity: 112dB@1kHz.

>THD+N: <0.3%.

>Litz oxygen-free copper wire with 3.5mm termination plug.


PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES:

The Packaging is very professional and simplistic. The sandal coloured slip on box with the tanya image over it. Below the slip on cover there is another box with branding over it. After removing that top cover you are welcomed with the earphones itself neatly in a foam pad and the wires are neatly tucked below the pad. On the left side there is a small box for accessories. Below the earphones the documentations are provided and the additional filters are also given which is very generous by the Tanchjim. The eartips selections are nice and 3 different pairs are given for users choice.

A nic velvet pouch carry case is also included in the box and does the job by protecting the tanya from getting scratched and keeping it pristine. The accessories the Tanchjim included for this price are mind blowing and crazy! A big thumbs up to the brand to provide this kind of packaging and accessories at this price range.


DESIGN AND FIT:

The design of the Tanya is very nice and bullet shaped. The branding is done on the side of the earpieces and the back of the earphone has a pseudo vent which gives a nice sense of design language to the earphone. The material used is aluminum and the nozzle is of average length. The nozzle has a lip to make the tip secure and the cable is non detachable which is a slight let down.

The cable is however very nice in quality and has a smooth texture to it. There is an inline mic for taking calls which just works and nothing impressive to talk about.

The fit is nice and the isolation is average since this covers only your ear canal. The tips selection makes a big impact on the fit hence choose the right tip to get the best out of it.

SOUND:

The overall sound signature of the Tanya is very interesting where I am not able to decide during my initial listening sessions. After some serious listening I found it to be warm with a touch of fun and nice vocal timbre with dark background. In simple words i would put it as the warm and smooth sound signature and precisely its Harman Tuned. Let’s dive into the review explaining each frequency.

SOURCE: Tanya is slightly power hungry hence some good source is required to get the best out of the earphone

iPhone – Zorloo Ztella MQA Dongle

BASS:

The bass in the tanya is more focussed towards the mid bass. The sub bass gets rolled off at 50Hz and the rumble is felt very subtle. The mid bass however is nicely tuned and gives nice body and warmth to the overall track. The bass has a nice texture considering the price. The mid bass is however slightly elevated to my taste but since it gives nice warmth to the mid section it’s growing on to me more and more now. Sometimes the elevated mid bass makes the track slightly bloated but for the price I have nothing to complain about.

The sub bass is however not great in my opinion. They rolled off at a very early point and especially me listening to OST’s ,i need that skull rattling rumble which is slightly lacking in the Tanya. Overall the depth and texture of the bass is really very nice and is above average for the price. The thump in the bass region also makes you tap the feet during your listening sessions. The resolution is above average and the detail retrieval and separation in the tanya is good. However in busier tracks the tanya struggles in the low end to get that nice separation. The bass is average in speed and decay which is very much acceptable for the price. The bass sometimes gets loose when the tracks get busier but still they are tight enough for most of the other genres.

Overall the bass has a nice texture, mid bass boost, timbre with above average separation. The sub bass could have been extended a little bit but still they provide me enough rumble in the low end.

Tracks Used:

  1. Why Do We Fall – Hans Zimmer
  2. Royals – Lorde
  3. Bigfoot – MALFNKTION

MIDS:

The mid section is slightly recessed but not overly done but the interesting thing is the tonal balance that they have done here. They sound very natural and the timbre are very realistic. The acoustic guitars are very pleasing to listen. They strike naturally but the instruments in the background are drowned in the mid bass. They are very difficult to perceive by your ears at medium volume and to hear that I need to crank up the volume. The mid bass however gave nice body and warmth to the mid section

The vocals sound very pleasant. No harshness or sibilance which is very good for longer listening periods. The timbre and tonality is EXCELLENT and this is my favourite set if you need these two things to be exceptional and this thing is really becoming one of my favourites. Another good thing is the elevated mid bass never bleeds into the mids which is a very nice thing to see in this price range since most of them do this.

Tracks Used:

  1. The Blowers Daughter – Damien Rice
  2. CannonBall – Damien Rice
  3. The Lakes – Tylor Swift

TREBLE:

The treble has the sweet roll off point in the Tanya. Due to this no more fatiguing listening, no harshness or sibilances. But the tradeoff here is the detail retrieval. This can’t be used for critical listening but for casual and fun listening this one is such a great pair to have in your collection. The high end lacks the air and the extension for bright listening.

The cymbal strikes are very natural and very smooth to listen to. The high hats are very smooth and even though they lack the sparkle and air in the high end they are still able to give you a nice listening experience with its overall smooth, warm and engaging vocals.

The treble has average separation and air in between the instruments. The details retrieval is however very much average and it’s not the strongest aspect of this earphone. The high end extension and the sparkle can’t be observed here and the micro details are the least appreciating factor of this earphone. But overall for fun and casual listening this one is my recommended pair of earphones to anybody anyday!

Tracks Used:

  1. Move Your Body – Sia
  2. Obsession – Animotion
  3. Forever – CHVRCHES

TECHNICALITIES:

Soundstage:

The soundstage is surprisingly above average for the price. At this price point this is the only one having an above average soundstage based on my listening. The width and depth are exceptional for the price and the height is average. There is a good sense of air and a nice sense of space between the instruments.

Imaging:

The imaging is also above average for the price. The precise placements of instruments and the listener can easily pinpoint the instruments. The instruments nicely sweep from the left to the right smoothly and no stutters are observed.

Tracks Used:

  1. Sometimes – Jack Back
  2. Haari – Anhad+Tanner
  3. Global Gear Instrumental – Punya Srinivas
  4. Letter – Yosi Horikawa
The remaining technicalities like the detail retrieval, instrument separation, layering are very much average and acceptable for the price. The layering seems very much hazy and the separation is average too.


VERDICT:

The Tanya, a budget offering from the Tanchjim is a vey much welcoming one for sure. Has one of the best tonal and timbre in this price segment with nice and punchy bass, engaging vocals and smooth,relaxed treble. The sound signature is very pleasing and can be instantly liked by anyone. The sound slowly grows on to you and you will start to appreciate the value this earphone is offering for the price.

Overall this is my go to recommendation if anyone is searching for inoffensive warm and smooth sound in the budget range. Tanchjiim really did a great job with the TANYA and very glad to say that this is my new BUDGET GEM !

PROS AND CONS:

Pros:​

  1. Inoffensive Warm and Smooth Sound
  2. Sweet treble roll off
  3. Nice bass texture with mid bass boost
  4. Above average Soundstage and Imaging
  5. Packaging and Accessories
  6. Price and Insane Value for Money

Cons:​

  1. Non detachable Cable
  2. Detail Retrieval

Precogvision

Reviewer at Headphones.com
Pros: - solid tuning
- bass texture
- slightly above average imaging
- price
Cons: - treble roll-off
- mediocre resolution
- usual QC memes
I heard the Tanya a couple weeks ago at a friend's house and was really impressed with what I heard. It's not often that a budget IEM catches my attention, but this one had me hooked - I even ended up buying my own unit halfway through demoing! It doesn't hurt that the Tanya is only $20, a far cry from the pricing of Tanchjim's other IEMs which I haven't been as hot on. Anyways, it arrived yesterday, and I've been listening to them for the past day. Here are my quick thoughts.

Unboxing Impressions

IMG_0774 2.jpg

IMG_0786 2.jpg

  • Clean unboxing experience that belies its price.
  • Includes a micro-fiber baggy as a means of carry and an assortment of silicon tips. I chose to use the tips that came on the IEM.
  • Tanya itself is very lightweight and has a decent cable. Build is just OK, and I can tell that one shell is slightly looser than the left. L/R indicators are hard to read, but there's a nub on the non-removable cable to indicate the left side. You can also use the microphone button to control play/pause and forward/backward on iPhone which is what I was hoping for.
  • Isolation is below average. Comfort is OK for me.
  • Bonus points: I can lay on my side using this IEM which I don't find often.
Sound Impressions

Here's my personal unit measured off of my IEC-711 coupler. The usual disclaimers apply: There's a resonance peak at 8kHz, don't trust the measurements after this point, yada-yada.

graph-8.png


It's a bit difficult to pinpoint the overall sound signature of the Tanya, but to my ears, it's somewhere along the lines of "smooth, slightly dark, and with a touch of fun".

The bass of the Tanya is up my alley. It's a pronounced, mid-bass oriented shelf that starts rolling-off down past ~50hZ and clearly pushes into the lower-midrange to inject a good deal of warmth. While I would've preferred more sub-bass, I actually think the Tanya's better in the slam and texture department than their own Oxygen IEM. It's definitely not as clean (or particularly clean in general), but since when have I ever been one to shy away from dirty bass? Interestingly, I don't find the midrange particularly lean either. It skews toward the warmer side to my ears and sports a controlled rise to the pinna compensation and upper-midrange that circumvents any shout or sibilance. Very, very nicely done. The Tanya is heavily reliant on lower-treble as is expected of a more V-shaped IEM. Still, it's refreshing to see that Tanchjim hasn't taken "creative liberties" here - such as the 5kHz peak of death - that so many budget IEMs exhibit. Even a lot of IEMs I'd consider well-tuned screw up this area for me, making them fatiguing. For air and extension, the Tanya doesn't really have much after 10kHz; I do find it mildly dark up top which contributes to a smoother listen. It doesn't sound dead rolled-off, at least.

For technicalities, the Tanya is obviously not going to be the strongest performer. I'd put it around a "C/C+" grade myself. Transient attack is noticeably blunted and the dynamic range of the Tanya is downwards-compressed. That in mind, perhaps most surprising about the Tanya would be its imaging chops. It has slightly wider, taller soundstage than most budget IEMs that I've heard. I also hear a good sense of layering ability (sense of space between instruments) that belies its bassy tuning and price point. These qualities are probably attributable to the more open design. Unsurprisingly, thanks to its single DD, the Tanya has pleasant timbre too.

Comparison

Some are probably wondering whether the Tanya is better than the legendary Sony MH755. Inevitably, this will break some hearts, but the answer is a flat "no". The MH755 has better bass texture and a solid technical edge on the Tanya. It's important to remember the MH755 is an exception. An exception, mind you, that is extremely difficult to find nowadays. As the MH755 continues to edge out of the picture, I'd argue the Tanya is poised to become the de-facto, V-shaped IEM for $20. And on the flip side of things, the Tanya sports some snazzy accessories and is easier on the ears than the MH755 which I found fatiguing. Now, these are both pretty bassy IEMs; let's say you don't like bass. Then you're going to want the Final Audio E500. It's that simple.

graph-9.png


The Verdict

Tanchjim may have hit a roadblock with some of their other IEMs, but I'm glad to see that they've recognized this, pivoted, and are back swinging. I really like the Tanya. It does a lot of things right and very little wrong; really, that's all most $20 IEMs can ask for. Even more surprising, then, is that the Tanya also has engagement factor by virtue of its above-average imaging chops. For listeners who enjoy a smooth, fun listen and don't want to break the bank, the Tanya is one of the few IEMs I'd say is worth the blind-buy.
Last edited:
darnyamlein
darnyamlein
Is it less efficient than the MH755?

BonGoBiLai

New Head-Fier
I, Tanya
Pros: 1. Amazing value
2. Inexpensive but great build quality
3. Thin but extremely supple, pliable cable. Doesn't tangle at all
4. Natural and smooth. Especially good for vocals. Probably the best vocals in this budget.
5. Good imaging for the price. decent for gaming
6. Awesome packaging and accessories. Great option as a gift for your loved ones
7. Mic quality is surprisingly very good. Great as a communication Iem.
Cons: 1. Hard to drive. Not ridiculous or anything but harder to drive than usual
2. Not the most detailed at this budget. Adequate but bl03 and bl05s are better technical performers
3. Non- detachable cable (not really a con in my book as the fixed cable is pretty awesome but might be for many)
4. Overall technical performance is just so so/adequate which is made up by its superb tonal balance
Don't fret over the 5 star rating I gave it as that rating was based purely on value (price to performance ratio to be precise) and in that regard, Tanya absolutely delivers. Packaging is great. I loved the attention to detail Tanya gave for such a budget Iem. It can be an inexpensive gift for you loved ones if you already have better Iems. Tanya comes in a hard cardboard box and you'll get a velvet pouch, two sets of tips (wide bore and regular) and ridiculously over the top 10 pairs of replacement nozzles. Stock tips are decent and tip rolling is not really necessary.

As for fit and comfort, its excellent (barrel shaped compact Iems usually are very comfy). Has massive vents on the back of each earpiece so don't expect that much isolation but for me it was good enough. I can wear them for hours without irritation. Build quality is pretty good. The earpieces themselves are mostly made of aluminum and the fixed cable is really good, extremely supple and ergonomic. What surprised me more than the cable was the microphone which is not an afterthought and actually sounds great.

Now lets move on to the sound. Its very pleasant and natural especially the vocals sounds really really good. While the bass is not overdone, I have a small complaint. Its mid bass heavy, maybe a little bit too much and borders on being boomy. Fortunately it does not bleed into the lower mids and the midrange remains fairly isolated. Treble is polite and sort of laid back. Its not a dark/dull Iem by any mean but if you are looking for aggressive treble and loads of sparkle and air, tough luck.

Where Tanya lags behind its competition is probably raw technical performance. Its not bad or anything but doesn't stand out either. Soundstage is ok, fairly spacious and doesn't feel claustrophobic and while the imaging is not groundbreaking, its good enough for games. Instrument separation, layering, Microdetails etc. are just ok. nothing to write home about. Where Tanya truly shines is its tonal balance. The timbre is so good, especially at this price, that it might make you forget about its technical limitations and marvel at its smooth natural grace especially if you are a non clinical listener and value vocals and overall timbre above raw detail and technical performance, like I do.



1626630569954.png
Last edited:

hevelaoak

New Head-Fier
Tanya sama hati apa sebab goyang? (a quickimp)
Pros: Fit
Musical
Naturalness
Balanced tonality
Price to performance value
Cons: None for the price
tanchjimtanya.jpg

Tanchjim Tanya with Azla Sedna Earfit Light (medium) after a week

Tonality: 7/9
Technicality: 7/9
Resolution: 7/9

This is my first review (quick impression) on head-fi. Everybody is talking about Tanchjim Tanya in great detail, so I'm going to make it short. I bought the earphones for meself purely out of curiosity. (why 9? because 10 sounds too official and 9 is perfect) - total 2 minutes read

No expectation
When I first listen to Tanya, I didn't like it very much as is. I thought it was overall a decent performer. Comparing to Sony MH750/755, I find Tanya was a little lacking in many departments such as instrument layering, timbre & dynamics.

Not giving up, I put it aside and let some music playthrough via my ancient FiiO DAP for hours a day for about a week. Let me tell you the bUrN-iN iS ReAL on this one. I don't want to believe it but I didn't burn my brain this whole time since acquiring Tanya. It's a different set after a week, confirmed. (at least in my case)

Ear tips matching & package
I did some tips rolling and found out that it's best to match with Azla Sedna Earfit Light (medium). Instrument layering is way better than before. I couldn't believe my ears but it was a pure joy listening to every track on my playlist (from Sasha Matson's Cut to Bar Interior to Zu's Ostia). The overall response is better with Azla, even prog metal sounds fantastic.

Other tips that work beautifully with Tanya are Spinfit CP145 & Blon BL 03's stock (hard). Tanya's narrow bore stock tips are acceptable. The wide bore stock tip is not fitted for the job, to my ear at least. (Azla Sedna Earfit Light has a wide bore too but longer in length comparing to Tanya's wide bore stock tip. maybe the short scale is the culprit)

I don't bother with the build, it's good and I like the cable a lot. It's easy to grab, plug in and go. Easily one of my favorite pairs of earphones now. Beats my Sony MH750/755 after a week of torture. I like it more than Blon BL 03 because of its balanced tonality and dynamics, plus the snug fit. The package is good but I don't bother either.

Conclusion
Tanya is a great pair of earphones for the price. It's lush mid-mid-bass focus, warm but not bloated, plenty of quality lows, sparkly without sibilance, ample air for reverb & for the sense of room & depth, good tonality, natural acoustic instruments timbre, decent dynamics & transient, and a pleasant listening experience overall. I can't praise this set enough to my friends and family. A good blind buy for 2021, even if you have higher-end IEMs. Just buy it.

Title meaning - (Malay) Tanya sama hati apa sebab goyang? : Ask the heart why the nervous?
Last edited:

darmanastartes

500+ Head-Fier
High Tide
Pros: smooth, mature tuning, snappy, textured bass, value
Cons: dry timbre, slightly too much presence, grainy treble, average technical performance
DSC09036.jpg

INTRODUCTION AND DISCLAIMER:​

The Tanchjim Tanya is an in-ear monitor (IEM) sporting a single 7mm dynamic driver. The Tanya is available at ShenzhenAudio for $23.99. I received the Tanya from ShenzhenAudio in exchange for a fair and objective review.
This review is also available on my blog:
https://medium.com/bedrock-reviews/tanchjim-tanya-review-b3ec2d08ce5e

SOURCES:​

I have used the Tanchjim Tanya with the following sources:
  • Hidizs S9
  • Qudelix 5K
  • Audirect Atom 2
  • JDS Labs The Element
I have tested these headphones with local FLAC and Spotify Premium. Visit my last.fm page to get an idea of what I listen to.

PACKAGING AND ACCESSORIES:​

DSC09015.jpg
DSC09019.jpg
The Tanchjim Tanya comes in a small grey rectangular cardboard box with a white slipcover. Six silicone eartips (S, M, L), a grey cloth drawstring bag embossed with the Tanchjim logo, a user manual, and a warranty card are included with the Tanya. I would prefer a zippered carry case instead of a pouch but at this price point, I cannot complain.

BUILD QUALITY AND DESIGN:​

DSC09056.jpg

The Tanchjim Tanya has a bullet design with fixed cables, which may be a dealbreaker for some. Its nozzles have lips for securing eartips. The cable is sleek and simple, with a straight 3.5mm jack. There is strain relief above the jack and where the cable enters the IEM housing, but none at the Y-split. The cable has a chin adjustment slider, which is greatly appreciated. The cable is not tangle-prone.

COMFORT, FIT, AND ISOLATION:​

DSC09035.jpg

The Tanchjim Tanya can be worn either cable-up or cable-down. Because of the cable placement, the Tanya has a deeper insertion depth if worn cable-up. The Tanya is extremely comfortable. I did not experience driver flex with the Tanya. Isolation is above average.

MEASUREMENTS:​

Measurements of the Tanchjim Tanya can be found on my expanding squig.link database:
Tanchjim Tanya — Squiglink by Bedrock Reviews
My measurements are conducted with a Dayton iMM-6 microphone using a vinyl tubing coupler and a calibrated USB sound interface. The measurements use a compensation file derived from relating my raw measurements to published measurements from Crinacle and Antdroid. There is a resonant peak at 8k. Measurements above 10 kHz are not reliable.

SOUND:​

The Tanchjim Tanya has a U-shaped sound signature. It has a moderate mid-bass hump, a healthy but not overbearing amount of pinna gain, and limited treble extension. Mercifully, Tanchjim has avoided the jagged mountains typically exhibited by the upper midrange and lower treble regions of IEMs at this price point and has given the Tanya the kind of tuning one would expect from a more expensive IEM.
The Tanya’s bass response is snappy and textured, with clean articulation. I was impressed by its ability to keep up with densely orchestrated electronic music. The mid-bass hump gives kick drum samples a sense of visceral impact. It is worth mentioning that if one wears the Tanya cable up, the improved seal increases the bass to a level I find overwhelming and creates distracting mid-bass bleed into the lower midrange.
The Tanya has a clear, cool midrange with a slightly dry timbre. Clarity and vocal intelligibility is emphasized over warmth and body, but the latter two characteristics are present enough to avoid a shrill or hollow presentation. Male and female vocal intelligibility are both excellent. One of the few negative things I can say about the Tanya is that I feel there is still slightly too much presence, which can create harshness when listening to electronic music. That said, this region is much more controlled than one typically finds with a $25 IEM.
The Tanya plays it safe with its treble, prioritizing a smooth presentation over perceived detail retrieval. The lower treble is roughly in line with the presence region but the top end rolls off rapidly as one nears 10 kHz. There is little in the way of sparkle but there is some air.
The Tanya is most resolving in the midrange and least resolving in the treble. While instrument separation and layering are quite good, there is a pervasive sense of graininess throughout the treble response. The soundstage is wide but shallow, and imaging is average.

ELEMENTS AND SOURCE PAIRING:​

The Tanchjim Tanya could be readily driven with any of my sources, and I did not notice hiss with any of them.

CLOSING WORDS:​

DSC09020.jpg

The Tanchjim Tanya is the most competently tuned IEM below $40 I have ever heard. Like the slightly more expensive Moondrop SSR and SSP, the Tanya stands out from its similarly-priced competitors because of the intentional effort of its designers to make it sound coherent. I see no reason to buy any other IEM at its price point or below so long as it remains unique in this respect.
The Tanchjim Tanya can be purchased below:
TANCHJIM Tanya 7MM Dynamic Earphone 3.5mm Line Plug HiFi Earbuds with (shenzhenaudio.com)

JasonLucas

New Head-Fier
A new budget champ?
Pros: Great value for cost
E3000 like sound
Fun to listen to
Good all arounder
Cons: Needs power
No detach cable
Tanya

Good imaging and 3d stage
Natural organic tonality
Great low end
Good vocals
Nice treble that slightly rolls off on top
Not harsh or sibilant at all
Smooth and non fatiguing
Great layering and technically ability
Micro details are less than average
More detailed e3000?
Warm sound, Harmon tuned
Budget champ
great accessories and packaging
Great fit
No detach cable
Hard to drive needs amp To scale
Soundstage details and dynamics lacking from lower power device
Sounds best on brighter neutral sources

SPECIFICATIONS
• Driver configuration: Dynamic Driver
• Frequency response: 20Hz – 42000Hz
• Impedance: 16Ω
• Sensitivity: 112dB/Vrms
• Cable: non detachable , but made of 4N oxygen free copper + Kevlar shaft core and litz structure
• Tested at $21.99 USD

NymPHONOmaniac

Headphoneus Supremus
Pros: Balanced tonality, natural timbre, good layering, lower bass extension-slam, fatigue-free, Piano-Vocal-Saxophone sound marvelously full and emotional, Immersive yet laid back sound, Unboring Harman target approach, generous accessories, price value
Cons: Lack of high-low and lower mids, bit boomy-sloppy-juicy bass, average clarity-resolution, unprecise imaging, soundstage lack deepness, attack lack bite-snap, treble lack air-sparkle
tnya 8.jpg

TONALITY: 8.5/10
TECHNICALITIES: 7.5/10
CONSTRUCTION-DESIGN: 8/10
SOUND VALUE: 8.5/10




INTRODUCTION&EXPECTATIONS

TANCHJIM is a relatively new earphones company from China, it already has a solid fan base due to their highly praised Tanchjim OXYGEN flagship dynamic driver earphones as well as their more budget-friendly CORA model that follow Harman target signature.
Like the CORA, their new entry level ultra affordable earphones follow this harman target signature, but for less than 2 times the price of the CORA.

At 22$, my expectation for the TANYA is mostly about an even tonal balance that deliver an enjoyable and accessible musicality without any harsh boost in treble or mids. I don't expect insane technicalities, neither I expect distortion or extremely weak dynamic. Let's see in this review if the Tanya is the budget IEM to look for if we love laid back musical balance.

tanya1.jpg


PACKAGING is something I don't usually even cover in this price range, but the number of accessories is so generous with the Tanya I need to share my joy about it. Box and presentation is well done, professional and refined, yet minimalist, some would think its come from Japan with this type of approach to esthetic. Anyway, as seen, we have 8 paires of eartips, a carying pouch and even 10 pairs of nice quality IEM nozzle filters. These filters are very good and doesnt interfer with sound rendering (i try the Tanya without them and it sound the same). so you can use them on IEM that have poor quality filter that negatively interfer with sou d rendering.

tanya2.jpg

tanya5.jpg


CONSTRUCTION is more than decent for the price, but not as impressive as some IEM in this price range that have mmcx or 2pin connection. Its a cabled IEM. Its very small. But it's while the front is made of plastic, the rear inner cavity is made of Titanium-alloy and the cover shell of aviation grade alloy. Design is refined with great care to details and the open back is a true one, not a decorative gimmick. Cable doesnt create lot of microphonic even when wear cable down. Due to the small size, the Tanya will be comfortable for any type or size of ears.

tanya3.jpg



SOUND (source used: Tempotec HD PRO)

These are source dependant, so we will read some conflictual impressions. But they sound only bad on Ibasso DX90 for now (thin, brightish, restrain in dynamic weight). With SMSL SU9-SH9 they are at their top, but with something like Audirect BEAM2 and Tempotec HD PRO they are great as well. To stay budget-minded i will only share impressions with HD PRO here.

So indeed, these are Harman tuned (warmed W shape with an emphasis in sub-mid-mid treble and no sharp peak) and can be compared in tonal balance with Final E4000, Moondrop Starfield or Sony MH750.


PRESENCE: Sub bass and mids, especially vocal, are the most upfront, they have an appealing hint of warmth in timbre. Female vocal sounds great, full-bodied and in the front stage.

TREBLE is a bit roll-off on top, but not dull at all, and still has hint of brilliance so its a versatile presentation that favors body and weight. Percussions can seem a bit overly in the background sometime, so for those searching super sharp articulate snappy highs with lot of air in separation, the TANYA isnt that. Its more talented in cohesive well layered macro-resolution than well define and focused micro-resolution. The TANYA aren't suggested for treble head and those that want their highs to be clinically extracted in a clean spatiality.

MIDS are very natural, full-bodied, violin sound excellent without abrasive bite, it's lush, dense, bodied; even electric guitar is enjoyable, though not ultra textured which is a plus for less fatigue. No sibilance to be heard. Smooth as butter. One instrument presentation stand apart and it's the acoustic piano, which sound extremely natural yet never sharp or thin, the note are dense and we feel the weight drop, less so the decay so its more for low and mid range of piano. Oh, and saxophone too sound marvellous, i guess instrument that benefit density and smoothness will all sound good with the Tanya.

BASS is where polemic will happen IMO, its very light in kick drum impact, but not in slam or boosted sub extension. On some track its very welcome (Jazz, slow soul r&b) other not so much (fast electronic, fast rock). Separation is just average here and the bleed on high bass lower mids warm this part of the spectrum. The definition is hollow, but bass hit is weighty. Tone are very realistic though texture and articulation is softened alot. While the attack is slow in transience, it doesn't muffle the sound or distort.

IMAGING is great in layers numbers and nuances, as if specific section in low-mids-highs are better extracted than other, giving a rich holographic sound with impressive density in transparency. Strangely, you spot layers of sound in TANYA spatiality instead of well define and positioned individual instruments. In busy tracks, it can feel a bit compressed and lacking air due to overwhelming amount of thicks wide layers.

SOUNDSTAGE (with right eartips) is good in wideness, not mind-blowing due to lack of deepness and clear air in separation-spatialization. Using the right eartips can notably expend its size.


SUBJECTIVE APPRECIATION (Source used: SMSL SU9-SH9, Audirect BEAM2, Xduoo X20, Tempotec HD PRO, LG V30+)

The TANYA is this type of IEM that is both easy to love or hate, depending what you expect from them If it's in natural tonal balance and musicality you will surely love them but if its technicalities and clarity you will be underwhelmed. In that regards, Final E3000 is a good example of this type of warm yet balanced and lively tonality. To me this is a safely tuned earphone and inded they don't agress me when i listen to them even for multiple hours. As a big fan of piano, violin and female vocal, ive felt spoiled by natural tone AND timbre of these instruments, without emphasis in treble and due to the fact we a rarely play instrument in ultra high range for melody or long solo, the note trigger high level of emotion in me due to how wide, weighty and smoothly rounded these instruments sounds. Something like harpsichord will not pass the test and acoustic guitar will sometimes feel weakly tuned or lacking in both string slap and decay. To my ears, one of biggest drawback of Tanya is it's lack of mid-high bass and lower mids, this recession did steal important presence and impact to kick drum as well as body density to cello or male vocal. Yes, overall bass presentation is achille talon of the Tanya, being bit overly boosted in sub lower end, hint sloppy boomy and not very refined.
It feel as if Tanchjim were like: Hey team! Do we do a basshead tuning or a mature tuning? And the team answer: BOTH!
Well, we can't do that with limited technicalities (and overly recessed high bass-lower mids) and this is why I conclude Tanya is a GUILTY PLEASURE to be heard laid back way, not in an analytical way like i do...right now.

SIDENOTES:
These aren't easy to drive and tremendously benefit from both good amping and good DAC, which is a bit of an oxymoron for an IEM in this price range. As noted above, Eartips will notably inflict on final sound rendering, especially imaging-soundstage. T'sound muddy with stock eartips. I try them with Ibasso DX90 and didnt like the result. With SMSL SU9DAC+SH-9 AMP they do blow my mind but still have slight drawback, like in bass kick definition cause of U shape approach to bass (more sub-mid presence), so acoustic bass in jazz sound great but slap bass will must likely lack bite. This is strange to say for an IEM in this price range, but the Tanya is very revealing of the source you use, try to avoid DAC or AMP that have an emphasis in bass or warm resolution, Tanya need a good dynamic attack and a little help in clarity and treble sharpness. Yep, you need to waken them up a little, cause Tanya is a sensual sleepy voluptuous woman it seems!

COMPARISONS

tanya6.jpg


VS FINAL E1000 (30$)

The E1000 is more neutral, transparent and smooth. Bass is faster, thigher and less boosted-extended in sub bass region. Mids and vocal are a bit less fowards, they are thinner and more liquid too, but imaging is better due to less warmth and sub-bass bloom. Both have a natural timbre, but the E1000 sound overall cleaner and less colored-romanticized. Soundstage is a hint wider-taller with Tanya but lack the deepness of E1000. The attack is faster, more snappy and controlled with E1000 which delivers higher resolution and details retrieval. The E1000 tonality is a hint colder, more mature target while Tanya is more U shape vocal axed.
The E1000 has more balanced towards neutral tonality and faster, more accurate tonality making it near impossible to beat at its price point. The bass has less slam and vocal has less presence than more mass-tuned Tanya.

VS BLON MINI (25$)

The MINI is brighter and more V shape, with thinner more sibilant vocal, more aggressive and shouty treble and more boomy bass whit less sub bass body density. Clarity is sharper, Soundstage is deeper and imaging more 3D and spacious. Attack is faster and more edgy. Timbre is a bit more artificial and dry. The MINI feel very unbalanced and wonky in tone compared to the Tanya which have a smoother, more organic macro-resolution and notably more realist tone, which is evident with how piano notes are presented, with more body and weight and less emphasis on high pitch texture.
If you want some hefty V shape wow effect that will get annoying with time, go Mini, if you want something more laid back and musical with natural tone, the Tanya is sure better tuned though a bit limited from its entry-level DD technicalities.

CONCLUSION

tnya7.jpg


The Harman target inspires alot of IEM companies these days, not always in a logical price range for what they give in terms of technicalities. This type of musicality is safe, smooth and laidback, sometimes too warm and thick in macro-resolution. Tanya uses its own trick to permit a more layered and weighty tonal balance that will please both fans of warm mid centric and U shape signatures, as well as those favoring natural timbre and tone over crisp clarity and technical accuracy. Tanya offers a thick balanced bassy & mid-centric sound with smoothed treble yet well-articulated dynamic. Tanya will most likely pass test of time due to how easy and enjoyable (and safe) is her tonality. Apart Sony MH750, i can't think off of any other IEM offering this type of lush, balanced tonality and Tanya sounding fuller (not cleaner) than the 2 times cheaper Sony, it sure represents a great bargain for the ''harman target naturalist''!


------
PS: I want to thank Hifigo again for providing me this review sample, free of charge and free of any bias. Again, it's me that contact them because I choose what I review. Go take a look at their store, they have great products at great prices as well as audio blog and other interesting audiophile articles.
https://hifigo.com/products/tanchjim-tanya-7mm-dynamic-hifi-earbuds
Last edited:

baskingshark

Headphoneus Supremus
Tanchjim Tanya Review – Red Alert!!! The BLON BL-03 For This Year?
Pros: Excellent fit and good build.
Natural and organic timbre with great tonality.
Smooth and non fatiguing.
Above average technicalities (other than microdetails). Layering is a highlight.
Excellent price to performance ratio.
Cons: Non detachable cable.
Hard to drive, needs amping to scale better.
Not the most detailed set, not for analytical listening.
Below average isolation.
DISCLAIMER

I bought this set at my own expense, from the Yaotiger Aliexpress shop: https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002568046521.html


WhatsApp Image 2021-06-15 at 22.06.29 (1).jpeg



EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

The Tanchjim Tanya is a warm and lush harmanish set with great timbre and tonality. It is smoothness personified, admittedly it does needs some power to shine, but I can see this set as being one of the standout budget sets for 2021, with excellent price to performance ratio. I’d even stick out my neck and say that this may be the new BLON BL-03 for this year!


SPECIFICATIONS
  • Driver configuration: Dynamic Driver
  • Frequency response: 20Hz – 42000Hz
  • Impedance: 16Ω
  • Sensitivity: 112dB/Vrms
  • Cable: non detachable , but made of 4N oxygen free copper + Kevlar shaft core and litz structure
  • Tested at $21.99 USD

ACCESSORIES

Other than the IEM, the Tanchjim Tanya packaging comes with:
  • Spare filters
  • Silicone ear tips of 2 types – the narrower bore ones boost the bass whereas the wider bore ones boost the higher frequencies.
  • Velvet carry bag

Accessories wise, nothing to be sniffed at for $20ish USD. I’ve seen worse in pricier IEMs, cough cough TRN BA8. Everything is rather usable OOTB here, so no need to mess with getting aftermarket tips, which can add to costs (looking at you BLON BL-03).

Do note that the stock narrower bore eartips boost the bass, whereas the wider bore ones boost the higher frequencies. The Tanchjim Tanya is already quite warm and thick in sound, with a kind of veiled sound signature. So for those that want a bit more clarity and openness, I would recommend the wider bore stock tips, or you can try some wider bore aftermarket tips.

For the purposes of this review, the stock tips were used, so as not to change the sound signature with aftermarket gear.

WhatsApp Image 2021-06-15 at 22.06.28 (1).jpeg


WhatsApp Image 2021-06-15 at 22.06.26 (1).jpeg


BUILD/COMFORT

The Tanchjim Tanya is a bullet shaped IEM and is meant to be worn cable down. It is very light and well fitting, comfort is excellent. In fact, I’ve used it for many hours continuously with no discomfort whatsoever.

I didn’t find any driver flex for myself on the Tanchjim Tanya (but YMMV, as this is somewhat dependent on ear anatomy and types of ear tips used).

Sadly, the cables are non detachable, this area may be a dealbreaker for some, as this may be a point of failure down the line, or perhaps some might wanna use aftermarket balanced cables or even bluetooth adapters with it. But the cables in the Tanchjim Tanya are quite supple and not tangly, and there’s a strain relief.

This is not the noodle thin, non strain relief reinforced type of cable that makes your heart drop (looking at you Final E3000!), I think it looks and feels quite durable.

Personally, I would have preferred if it was MMCX as least, but I won’t beat this area with a stick, since it is a $20ish USD set, and some of the pricier Tanchjim products do not have detachable cables too -> also looking at you, Tanchjim Cora!!

As per most cable down, non detachable design IEMs, there’s some microphonics unfortunately, but it is not that bad, compared to the Sony MH755 or Final Audio E3000 in this area. The cable is also quite long, unlike the Sony MH755 where the too short fixed cable mandates that you can’t move too far from the source.

Strangely, the Tanya didn’t come with any L/R markings to let us know which side is which, but there’s a small dot on the strain relief insertion area (into the IEM) to denote that this is the left earpiece. This dot thing seems to be some relic design that I’ve encountered in some old school Japanese IEMs!


ISOLATION

As for isolation, the Tanchjim Tanya is below average in this area, as per the open backed design, but this design does aid in soundstage, which we will discuss below, so it is a double edged sword.


DRIVABILITY

I tested the Tanchjim Tanya with a Khadas Tone Board -> Topping L30 amp, Sony NW A-55 DAP (DMP-A50 FEv2 Classic Mr Walkman Mod), smartphone, Shanling Q1 DAP, Tempotec Sonata HD Pro, ESS ES9280C PRO DAC/AMP, and a Khadas Tone Board -> Fiio A3 Amp.

The Tanya is rather difficult to drive. In fact, it sounds meh from a lower powered smartphone, and scales nicely when amped. I mean, you can get sound from lower powered source, but it can’t sing. Ie soundstage, dynamics, microdetails are lost when it isn’t amped.

When underpowered, the midbass bleeds quite a fair bit and music sounds congested. I tried the Tanchjim Tanya originally with the Shanling Q1 DAP and the Tempotec Sonata HD Pro at 2V power (with a 3.5 mm adapter), it sounded a bit mushy and overly thick.

On amping this set with the Topping L30 amp, then the veil kind of lifted and I’m glad to report that this set can scale with power, and the bass can be cleaner when amped. Of course that brings us to the question of whether one should pair a $20 USD IEM with a more expensive amp, is that putting the cart before the horse?

As discussed, since the Tanchjim Tanya features a warmish veiled tuning, it does synergize better with brighter or at least neutral sources, rather than a warmer source which makes the mix too mushy and overly syrupy thick.


SOUND & TECHNICALITIES

pr8BYaR.jpg

Graph courtesy of KopiOKaya from Audioreviews (IEC711 compliant coupler).


The Tanchjim Tanya features a warm harmanish tuning. Tuning is towards laid back and analoguish. The keyword to describe this set is “lush” and “smooth”. In a nutshell, the Tanchjim Tanya is a non analytical set, and is a set suited to chill back and enjoy music.

Tonality is very good, there’s a slight upper mids peak around the 3 kHz region, but it is far from shouty or hot and is very smooth and non fatiguing. In contrast, I couldn’t use the Moondrop SSR (which also has a 3 kHz peak) for more than 5 minutes due to the icepeak 3 kHz spike on it.

The Tanya is midbass focused. There’s a subbass rolloff, but there’s a tickle of rumble called for when the deepest bass registers are played. As discussed, when underpowered, the midbass smears and bleeds, but on amping the bass tightens quite a fair bit. The Tanya doesn’t have the most textured bass unfortunately, but that’s something I can close one eye for, considering the price.

Mids are thick and lush and this gives quite a lot of body to music. This may overly too thick for some, so it can be a pro or con, but those that like the analoguish sound will like it. The lower mids are slightly depressed until it rises and peaks at the 3ish kHz region. There’s no sibilance on this set, so it is a rather treble safe set, treble rolls off around 8 kHz or so.

Vocals are a tinge forward in this set due to the peak at the upper mids, but even on some shouty tracks, I did not find that the Tanya is fatiguing or shouty for me, it is a very safe and non fatiguing tuning. Due to the borderline darkish treble, some cymbal and percussion hits may be a bit too subdued and this isn’t the most detailed treble, but it for sure can be used for hours upon hours due to the non fatiguing tuning.

For those that find the tuning overly thick and veiled, as discussed, using a brighter source or wider bore ear tips may help.

On to technicalities, soundstage is above average in all 3 directions, as per the open backed design. Probably some multi BA/hybrid sets at this price bracket will trump it in technicalities, but the Tanchjim Tanya’s layering is very good for this price bracket, haven’t heard this in most $20ish IEM.

Imaging and instrument separation are above average, I felt it can cope with busy passages of music when amped. However, details are not the best, notes lack bite and edge definition as per the analoguish signature, so as discussed, it isn’t a set for analytical listening, but just to chill and appreciate music.

Timbral accuracy on the Tanchjim Tanya is truly excellent, I would term it as organic and natural. Indeed, this is a very good IEM for vocals and acoustic instrument lovers. In fact, I think it has one of the best timbral accuracy I’ve heard in a $20ish USD set, it even edges the fabled BLON BL-03 in the timbre department.


COMPARISONS

Here are some comparisons with some well regarded budget single DD types. As hybrids/multi BA have their own strengths and weaknesses compared to single DD types, they were left out of the comparisons.


BLON BL-03 ($25 USD)

The legendary BLON BL-03 is a harmanish set with a midbass bump, boasting superb tonality and timbre at the sub $30 USD region. Both sets sound a tinge analoguish and scale with amping, though the Tanchjim Tanya is harder to drive. Both sets also have subpar isolation and share a similar tonality and timbre. Perhaps the BLON BL-03’s midbass is a tinge more bloated.

I think the Tanchjim Tanya edges it in the timbral accuracy and technicalities department. The BLON BL-03, even though it has detachable cables, has a notoriously bad fit due to the too short nozzles. Hence, most people need to do spacer mods or use aftermarket eartips/cables to secure a better fit.

Thus, the BLON BL-03 may be closer to $40 – 50 USD if aftermarket tips/cables are factored in, whereas the Tanchjim Tanya is ready to go OOTB, no need to mess around or spend more on aftermarket gear for it. As such, I see the Tanchjim Tanya as a marginal upgrade and a better set in terms of investment. I daresay the Tanchjim Tanya may even be the BLON BL-03 of 2021!


BLON MINI ($29.99 USD)

The BLON MINI is much easier to drive, though the Tanchjim Tanya has better timbral accuracy, better technicalities and layering and imaging.

The Tanya has better accessories, though it has weaker isolation. The Tanchjim Tanya is more noticeably laid back in tuning, whereas the BLON MINI is more dynamic and in your face.


HZSound Heart Mirror ($49 USD)

The HZSound Heart Mirror is a neutralish bright set, with a more linear and neutral bass than the Tanchjim Tanya.

The HZSound Heart Mirror comes in a nicer shell (mirror like as per its namesake), with non detachable cables and a very nice packaging. Both sets scale superbly with amping, timbre are excellent on both sets.

In terms of technicalities, the HZSound Heart Mirror whips the Tanchjim Tanya, the former has much better transients, clarity, microdetails, imaging and instrument separation. Note weight is thinner on the HZSound Heart Mirror and it has less subbass and midbass quantities too, though the bass is faster and cleaner. The HZSound Heart Mirror is a much more technical and analytical set, compared to the chiller and more laid back Tanchjim Tanya.


Sony MH755 ($7 USD)

The fabled Sony MH755 is also another harmanish set with a bullet shaped design. The Sony MH755 really has quite good timbre and tonality, but I think the Tanchjim Tanya beats it in these departments. The Sony MH755 can be shouty at higher volumes (Fletcher Munson curve) at the upper mids. Isolation and technicalities are also better on the Tanchjim Tanya.

Both sets have non detachable cables, but the Sony MH755’s cable is very short and J shaped, with markedly bad microphonics. One can’t go too far away from the source due to the short length (without using a cable extender), unlike the longer cable on the Tanchjim Tanya.

The Sony MH755 is also very hard to find in the wild nowadays, with a lot of shops selling counterfeit sets, so getting your paws on a legit Sony MH755 is an arduous task now.

So, I see the Tanchjim Tanya as an upgrade over the Sony MH755, although it is more expensive.


Moondrop SSR ($39.99 USD)

The Moondrop SSR comes with a waifu anime otaku packaging. That in itself makes it the clear winner, enough said. Please move on to the next section.

Ok ok jokes aside, the Moondrop SSR is tuned somewhat diffuse-field neutral with an upper mids boost. Both sets are quite tough to drive and have subpar isolation, but the Moondrop SSR is technically superior and has better transients than the Tanchjim Tanya.

The Moondrop SSR falls apart tonally though, it is akin to shouting at the moon at the 3 kHz area, especially at louder volumes (Fletcher Munson curve), and this is a dealbreaker for me. Both sets have a boosted 3 kHz area, but the Moondrop SSR more so, it can even be quite icepick like on some recordings at this area. The caveat is that we have different hearing health, different sources, different eartips, different ear anatomy (affecting pinna gain) and we play our music at different volumes, so YMMV and Moondrop fanboys, don’t crucify me!

Anyways, timbre is also less natural and the note weight is rather thin on the Moondrop SSR, so it is a much more analytical and technical set than the laid back and chill Tanchjim Tanya.


Final Audio E3000 ($50 USD)

The Final Audio E3000 is rather L shaped, featuring a big nebulous midbass and a rolled off treble. The Final Audio E3000 is harder to drive than the Tanchjim Tanya.

The Final Audio E3000 has better technicalities when amped, in the area of soundstage, imaging and instrument separation/layering, though it has a poorer timbral accuracy than the Tanchjim Tanya.

Both sets are bullet shaped and have non detachable cables, but the Final Audio E3000’s cable is worryingly noodle thin, with more microphonics and no strain relief! Isolation is also poorer on the Final Audio E3000.


CONCLUSIONS

The Tanchjim Tanya is a warm, smooth and lush harmanish set with great timbre and tonality. It needs some power to shine, but with adequate juice, the sound is really good for the $20 USD asked, with this set presenting excellent price to performance ratio. I’ve no regrets skipping a Macdonald’s meal or two for the Tanchjim Tanya TBH.

One area to nitpick, is that the cables are non detachable, as this may be a point of failure down the line, or perhaps some might wanna use aftermarket balanced cables or even BT adapters with it. This non detachable aspect may be a dealbreaker for some even, but otherwise, I’ve really no complaints about the build.

The non fatiguing and smooth and lush tuning can really make the Tanchjim Tanya a set to just sit back and enjoy the music for what it is, and not to listen to the gear. I can see this set as being one of the standout budget sets for 2021, maybe one can even label it as the BLON BL-03 for this year?

iceperry

New Head-Fier
Pros: Inoffensive Warm Tuning, Value for the Sound Quality, Vocal Timbre
Cons: Detail, Mid Bass boosted, Fixed Cable

Intro

Tanya (19).jpg

Disclaimer: I received the Tanchjim Tanya at no charge from Daniel at Oardio to test out. This review, however, is written of my own accord and all thoughts and impressions here are my own. For more reviews like this, do check out our website.

I will always have a soft spot for the Tanchjim brand ever since trying out their Oxygen Earphones. The Oxygen reflected Tanchjim’s ability to whisk magic into a single dynamic driver. The Tanya is their latest, and cheapest, IEM in their line-up, featuring a single dynamic driver. It is a typical bullet-style earphone that most people should be familiar with.

Accessories and Build Quality (Score: 8.0/10)


The Tanchjim is packaged pretty simply but also comes with a generous spread of accessories. It comes with 2 sets of S/M/L silicone tips. One set is wide bored while the other is the regular narrower one. I assume the wide-bore tips will suit your better if you prefer a less bass-focused sound. On top of that, you also get a Tanchjim-branded felt pouch, the same ones that come with their pricier earphones, the Blues. There are also extra filters included in case the ones that come pre-installed get clogged to ensure the longevity of your earphones.

The build quality is simple but well-thought-out. The cable is springy but well-protected with a sleeving and feels durable in the hand. It should be able to take a beating, especially for daily use. The plugs, Y-split, and earbuds themselves all have a minimalistic vibe to them yet carry a certain premium vibe. Perfect for the image-conscious professional for use in the office without costing a bomb if you ask me.

Fit (Score: 8.0/10)


P1010332.jpg


Despite its typical bullet-style shape and fixed cable, the fit was quite comfortable. I have used this for Discord calls while gaming, and for Zoom meetings as well. In both of these, some of which lasted hours at a time, I never had any issues with comfort. The buds felt weightless in the ear and stayed sealed snugly in my ears throughout. Despite the vents at the rear of the buds, these isolate outside noise quite well too.

Sound (Score: 7.2/10)


Tanya2.png

Frequency Response Graph of the Tanya
Sources
  • Lotoo Paw S1
  • Hiby R5
Bass (Score: 7.0/10)

The bass, especially the mid-bass, just jumps out at you. Changing the tips may reduce it slightly if you’re not a fan of a more present bass. That said, the timbre of the bass is reasonably well-done for its price. It has sufficient depth, providing a rich and lush base for the overall sound. It can be a little loose and unrefined when comparing up to more expensive and better-performing earphones. Listening to instrumentals, double bass parts lack the sharpness and articulation of each pluck I would have liked to hear.

Mids (Score: 7.0/10)

What the Tanya did extremely well was the timbre of the mids. It is not overly recessed and has a nice body to it. Instruments like guitars and violins, and vocals, are appropriately forward and juxtaposed with the bassline. This synergy prevented the bass from drowning out the mids and kept me enjoying the warm yet luscious tuning of the Tanya. There was quite a lot of energy in the melody lines in songs by BØRNS and they hit a sweet spot. The clarity achieved here is better than that in the midbass.

Treble (Score: 7.0/10)

Treble is rolled off early, which contributes to the easy-going and relaxed tuning that won’t fatigue you when using them for hours on end. However, this means you’d be missing out on some of that higher-end extension and microdetail retrieval. That said, I think this is in line with the tuning they were aiming for so the tonality here is good and there are no weird or sharp peaks. Just don’t expect an overly analytical performance.

Overall

The Tanya boasts a great overall tuning though I personally would’ve preferred a leaner lower end. The mids are smooth and forward without getting shouty. On top of that, the timbre is rather organic, which is lovely to see at this price range. The soundstage and imaging are pretty okay, and I don’t have any gripes with them.

Comparison

Final Audio E2000

E2000 vs Tanya.png

Frequency Response Graph comparing Final E2000 and Tanchjim Tanya

The Tanchjim Tanya shares many similarities in build and sound with the lower end models in Final Audio E-series earphones. I thought to compare them to the E2000 since I own them. As much as the Tanya was dark-sounding, it was not as dark as the E2000 as its upper-midrange were not as prominent and forward as the Tanya. Both have a warm tuning with rich mids and are enjoyable for casual listening. In terms of comfort, both of these are equally great and feel quite similar. I would say the Tanya is built better than the E2000. The E2000 costs roughly US$45, and I can safely say the Tanya does the same, if not better job for less. The only advantage I would give the Final Audio would be that it comes with the Final Eartips which are rather good quality silicone tips.

Conclusion


Tanya (23).jpg


Coming into the review, I had no idea what to expect, especially from a basic looking bullet-style earphone that looked like a run off the mill, no-frills earphone. That said, I have to say I am impressed with the overall package of what you’re getting here from Tanchjim. The tuning is enjoyable, and everything just comes together as functional and well-built. I have no doubt these earphones will serve their target consumers well.

Overall Grade: B​

  • Like
Reactions: hevelaoak

machinegod

New Head-Fier
Pros: Pleasurable tuning
Bass Impact
Cons: Power Requirements
Disclaimer : The unit was sent by Hifigo as a part of a review tour but all thoughts and opinions are my own. You can buy the Tanchjim Tanya here.

Build & Fit
Revisiting the bullet style shell is quite nostalgic, the machining on the shell is quite nice, and the big vent on the back is a an uncommon sight.
The litz cable is simplistic but tangle free. The main drawback of this design is the lack of MMCX connectors which some brands are incorporating in the bullet style designs, Tanchjim included.
However, Tanya is quite comfortable. Stock silicone tips are on the oval side which ensures no "vacuum effect" even when inserted deep.

IMG20210715091201.jpg


Amp Needs
Classic case of specs not being translated to real life. Rated at 16 ohms and 112 dB/mW, you'd expect this to be phone friendly but that is just not the case.
My phone ran out of steam trying to power it, sounding muffled and veiled. Amping it makes a considerable improvement in sound, and this is probably due to the driver nature.
This puts the Tanya in a weird spot. It costs 22 USD, but cannot be powered optimally from phone? Going out to buy a dongle DAC/AMP costing 3 times as much minimum for a 22 USD IEM doesn't really
make much sense to me. But it is what it is.

IMG20210715091400.jpg


Sound Quality
The overall sound quality is quite flavored (in a good way), especially when amped. You are presented with a solid midbass that has serious impact, although fundamentally leaning on the "one-note" side and sometimes lacking control (definitely loose and uncontrolled when used in a phone direct). It has decent texture and detail in the low end for its price but do not expect miracles, it is enough for its price. I could use some more finesse in exchange for some of the impact though. Leading to the midrange which is quite smooth and not overly forward, i find the balance to be optimum. However the bass impact does shadow details in vocals.
It isn't a deal breaker but noticeable once you come from a mid-centric IEM. However it does have enough presence in the ear gain region adding sufficient bite and energy preventing it from sounding dull and dead. The top end is smoothly rolled off making the entire sound "thick and warm". Synergistically speaking, Tanya pairs best with analytical/bright sources which will help cut through the fat. Due to the rolled off treble, overall imaging and resolution/fidelity does take a hit. But that shouldn't stop you from having fun. In the technicality department, performance is above average, as is expected from the 20 USD price range.

IMG20210715091342.jpg


IMG20210715091236.jpg


Conclusion
The overall tuning for Tanya is aimed primarily at musical engagement and it is hard to complain about what it offers at its price range. People craving for a thick and warm sound signature at a strict budget will be pleased. It's just surprisingly inefficient which is a bummer.
Last edited:

SenyorC

Head-Fier
Tanchjim Tanya - This bass from only 7mm?
Pros: Comfort, price, bass, overall sound quality
Cons: fixed cable (to be expected) and may not be a sound signature that suits all
As usual, this review is also available in Spanish, both in written form and on YouTube, please visit Acho Reviews to see it.

DSC_4490.JPG


The Tanchjim Tanya has been sent to me free of charge by HifiGo in exchange for this review. They have not requested anything other than to include links to the product in this review published on my blog and YouTube and, as always, my opinions will be as unbiased and sincere as possible, but it is always good to consider that it hasn’t cost me anything to try out these IEMs.

The Tanchjim Tanya, at the time of publishing this review, is available on HifiGo for 18€. You can find a like to it by visiting the version of this review published on my blog here.

Intro…

The Tanya is a very recent release from Tanchjim, announced around a month ago, and is a set of IEMs that feature a single 7mm micro dynamic driver. It is available both with and without a microphone, the set I have being without the mic.

I recently reviewed the Final Audio E500 which is an IEM that has a very similar format to the Tanya, you can view my review of it here: Review - Final Audio E500. In the review I explained why I always like to have a set of IEMs of this style, as they are something I use when travelling and when wanting to listen to musicin bed. The Tanchjim Tanya comes in at a cheaper price than the E500 and, in my opinion, is something that works for me more than the E500 does.

DSC_4468.JPG


Presentation…

The Tanya arrive in a grey box inside a white cardboard sleeve that shows an image of the IEM and the make/model. On the back, they list the specifications in English & Chinese.

Inside the box we find the IEMs, with their attached cable, along with various sets of silicone tips, user manual & warranty card, replacement filters and a small velvet storage bag. This is actually quite a lot of content for the price that these IEMs come in at.

DSC_4497.JPG


Build and aesthetics...

As mentioned, these are small IEMs with a fixed cable, which insert quite deeply into the ears. In a size format, they are slightly larger than the Hifiman RE series but shorter than the Final E500. This allows them to protrude less from the ears and makes them more comfortable to wear when lying down on your side than the E500. They are very similar in comfort to the Hifiman RE series.

As far as build, they are nicely built, with a metal covering to the small shell (at least I believe it is metal). On the back of the shell there is what looks to be an air vent. At first I thought that these IEMs were open back, judging by the size of the vent, however, covering this vent does not seem to change the sound at all, so that leads me to believe that it is just for aesthetics and that the only ventilation is from the small hole on the bottom of the nozzle.

The cable is attached as I already mentioned but I don’t have any issues with the quality of the cable. It doesn’t tangle easily but is also not too rigid as to become a nuisance. It also doesn’t present the microphonics that other options do.

The included tips are also fairly decent. I find them to be comfortable and the sound to be decent with them so I haven’t had to go off on a search of which tips work. For my sound evaluations I have used the stock tips.

DSC_4528.JPG


Sound…

As far as sound, the Tanya seems to fix the things I didn’t like about the E500, without breaking anything else. In the review of the E500, I did some comparisons to the RE600s which I said wasn’t a fair comparison and it isn’t fair to compare the Tanya to the RE600s either, at least in price, but I can say that the Tanya does not feel like a huge step down from the RE600s like the E500 did. There are still moments of clarity and detail that I find superior on the RE600s but I have had no issue using and enjoying the Tanya for my general use of this kind of IEMs.

With the brief (and possible unfair) comparisons out of the way, let’s get on with how the Tanya sounds and performs.

In the subbass, the 7mm dynamic driver does a very good job of presenting rumble where needed. Listening to “Chameleon” by Trentemoller, where the subbass comes in around the 0:31 mark, the Tanya give enough rumble to make even bass heads happy, or at least I think it would as I am not much of a bass head myself. This track is actually a very good way to test if IEMs/headphones can deal with all those low frequencies without falling apart and the Tanya actually holds up pretty well. Yes, the rumbling can be a little overpowering and present a bit of a “wall of sound” in those lowest frequencies but that is the track more than overly boosted subbass. If we move to a track like “No Sanctuary Here”, where the lowest notes are clearer and more defined than in the previous tracks, again the subbass can come across as a little strong and is a bit more than I would personally request, but they do a good job for the size of the driver with so much bass.

In the general bass frequencies, things are a lot cleaner if there isn’t as much boost in the lowest ranges of the track. “Sun Is Shining” does sound a lot cleaner than the previous two tracks while still being a track with plenty of bass, just slightly higher in the frequency range. On tracks that use real bass guitars instead of electronic instruments, such as “Black Muse” by Prince, the bass guitar does come across as slightly too boosted in the mix to be considered natural, the same happens with the bass guitar of “Smooth Operator” by Sade. This is not terrible and is not usually too overpowering but will not be something that fits the tone for those looking for neutrality and a natural bass sound.

The transition to the mids depends on the amount of bass we are pushing to the low end. The more we make it work in the lowest ranges, the more difficult it becomes for the Tanya to make the clean transition into the lower mids, sometimes coming across as a little muddy if we are pushing too much bass.

The mids in general are nice and smooth, with voices presenting a nice tonality and being very clean and detailed (again, depending on how much we push the low end). For example, the track “Way Down Deep” by Jennifer Warnes has some rather large hits in the low end while the mid range is quite simple, this song can come across as a little recessed in the mids. However, a song like “Diamonds on the Soles of her Shoes” by Paul Simon does not have such a large presence in the lowest registers, this makes the vocals and other instruments move more into focus and the result is quite pleasant. The bass of this track is located mainly in the lower midrange, with a few climbs, and this is very easily defined in the background.

Moving up to the top of the midrange and lower treble areas, there is enough of a climb in presence to keep vocals present but without them becoming overly harsh or nasal. A track that I find good to test the harshness of vocals is “Don’t You Worry Child” by Beth, as her voice can become harsh very easily. The Tanya does a decent job of keeping her harshness in check and makes the song quite listenable.

Sibilance is also well controlled, with my usual “Code Cool” test track being presented in a way that is not too sibilant but is also not overly reduced. There is a slight hint of sibilance on a few of the lyrics by Patricia Barber but they are not too uncomfortable.

There is the typical high frequency roll off found in (almost) all single dynamic driver IEMs, where more air and extension would be a plus but there is at least enough presence in the highs to not make the whole sound signature seem dark.

The speed and dynamics are a little lacking, as is to be expected of a single dynamic driver that is only 7mm, especially when the lower regions are working hard. There is only so much we can expect from a set up like this in the price bracket that it sits in and I think they do well enough to be considered more than adequate but they are certainly not amazing detail monsters and they can get congested when we push those lower ranges past their comfort zone.

The width of the soundstage is actually rather good in comparison to so many other budget IEM offerings, it is not a huge soundstage but it is above average in this regard. Placement of images is also decent, it is not pinpoint accuracy but is decent nonetheless. The problem comes when trying to locate smaller details in the background, these are more difficult to place but this ties more into the dynamics and lack of background details when a busy track is being played.

DSC_4455.JPG


Conclusion…

As I mentioned at the beginning, I recently reviewed the Final E500 and the Tanchjim Tanya is a similar set up at a very similar price (actually a little cheaper). My personal preference between the two is easily the Tanya, of that I have no doubt. The Tanya is still not perfect, it has many things that can be improved on, but again we need to consider the price, the size of these IEMs and how much we can actually expect from something like this.

Yes, the driver does struggle when we push it too far, and the limits are lower than on other options, but when the driver is not overworked, I find it to have much more clarity and better sound (to my ears) than the Final E500.

In comparison to the Hifiman RE600s, which is the IEM of this style that I usually use when wanting something which is tiny and disappears in the ear, then the Tanya is just as comfortable, seems just as well built and is available for a less than 20€ whereas the RE600s retail price is closer to 200€ (even though you can get them discounted quite often). Yes, the RE600s is more detailed and also matches my tuning preference more, but, as I said in my E500 review, it is by no means a fair comparison.

I have no issues using the Tanya for my late night listening in bed, or for watching movies. In fact, the explosions in movies can be quite a surprise when you are not used to the sound of the Tanya.

I am leaving on another business trip in a few days and this time I will be taking the Tanya with me instead of the RE, as I did with the E500, so I will put it through the real life circumstances that I actually use these kinds of IEMs for. On my recent trip, the E500 was sufficient, I am sure that the Tanya will prove to be more than sufficient.

All in all, the Tanya is a set of IEMs that I can see pleasing a lot of people if they are looking for a budget set of IEMs with this style of build and sound signature.
Last edited:

bryaudioreviews

New Head-Fier
Is this the Sony MH755 killer? 🥵 - Tanchjim Tanya Review
Pros: - smooth Harman sound sig
- relaxing and smooth mids
- inoffensive treble
- good soundstage width
- shines when amped
- very good unboxing experience
- ergonomic design and fit
Cons: - requires amping
- not the most technical
- treble could be too veiled for some
- anemic bass
- undetachable cable
Tanchjim Tanya is Tanchjim's take on their budget entry-level 1DD IEM. It comes in at $20usd and sports a vented bullet-style shell with a 7mm Single Dynamic Driver inside. Upon opening the box, I am presenting with 2 different types of tips (wide/narrow bore), a pouch, backup filters, and lastly, the IEM itself.

Honestly speaking, for $20usd, Tanchjim puts other companies into shame in terms of unboxing experience and first impressions. The presentation feels premium, complete, and well thought out. Not to mention, it comes with backup filters too which is rare at this price point. Definitely one of the best unboxing experiences I've had at this price point.

However, unboxing experiences mean nothing if the sound is bad. So with that out of the way, let's start the review.

*Disclaimer: this review is done using wide bore tips. I find wider bore tips to sound more balanced. Narrow bore boosts the bass.


PROS ✅:​

  • I would describe the sound signature here as being warm, smooth, and laidback. The tuning here is warm Harman. It has a healthy amount of mid-bass, healthy amount of pinna gain, and smooth treble.
  • The bass here is warm, smooth, punchy (when amped), and more midbass-focused than sub-bass. When amped, bass tightens and provides a good amount of punch. Otherwise, it is pretty loose and (muddy?). Not to mention, sub-bass does roll off a bit, and bass texture isn't the best, which in return contributes to its bass sounding a bit anemic or "one-note-y". For $20usd it ain't bad though, I'm just nitpicking.
  • In terms of the midrange, I find it to be pretty relaxing and smooth sounding. Mids and vocals sound thick and lush, with an ever so slightly forward vocal presentation. In my opinion, the midrange and vocals here sound organic and natural, making the Tanya easy to listen to for long sessions. There's no sibilance, no upper mids peak, and no fatiguing vocals whatsoever to be found here.
  • In terms of treble, it is very inoffensive, non-fatiguing, and smooth. Some might call this treble presentation "veiled", and I can't help but agree. Treble here might sound dull and overly smooth for some, but this in return contributes to the overall "smoothness" of the Tanya in my opinion.
  • In terms of soundstage, I find that it is somewhat like a rugby ball. It has above-average width, but decent to below-average depth and height. Decent for casual gaming and movies, but I wouldn't swear by it.
  • In terms of imaging, I find it slightly blurry, albeit pretty decent for a $20usd IEM. You could tell where the instruments are coming from, but pinpointing their exact location is hard to almost impossible. For $20 USD, it is aight.
  • Instrument separation is decent too. For the price, I am not complaining. It handles fast and busy tracks pretty well, with no signs of congestion.
  • In terms of timbre, in my opinion, it is pretty natural and spot-on. Vocals and instruments sound natural and organic.
  • When amped, soundstage opens up, bass tightens, imaging and instrument separation is ever so slightly better.
  • Amazing presentation and unboxing experience for $20usd IMO. Love the packaging and accessories.
  • Even though the cable is undetachable, it is really well made and I love the cable that is used here.
  • Bullet-style shape makes it very ergonomic and perfect to be used for sleeping.


CONS ❌:​

  • Requires slight amping to shine. Without amping, bass is loose, notes sound a bit blunted, and soundstage isn't the best.
  • Not the most technical and detailed.
  • Treble could be too veiled for some.
  • Bass is slightly anemic and "one-note-y".
  • Undetachable cable (I like the cable here though).


TANYA VS MH755 🤜🏼🤛🏼:​

  • MH755 has more sub-bass, more upper mids push, brighter treble, and leaner note weight. I find the MH755's bass to be punchier, tighter, and cleaner sounding. I also find it to be slightly better in terms of technicalities, but just slightly. However, Its timbre isn't as good as Tanya's, and it also lacks Tanya's overall smooth and non-fatiguing sound signature. I find the upper mids and treble peak of the MH755 fatiguing after long listens.
  • Tanya is overall smoother, thicker, and more natural sounding. Its bass isn't as tight or as rumbly as the MH755. It also doesn't have that bite or sparkle that the MH755 has, nor does it has the lean and clean sounding note weight of the MH755.


IN CONCLUSION:​

I think that Tanya is a great deal for $20usd. Sure, it isn't the most technical or detailed sounding IEM out there, but for $20usd, you get an IEM that is smooth, non-fatiguing, and super easy to listen to for hours on end.

If you are looking for an all-rounder daily beater, look no further as I think Tanya might just be the one.

Highly recommended. Thank you Ben Aoak for loaning me the Tanya for review. Really appreciate it bro! 🤘

IMG_20210707_152225.jpg
Top