1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.

    Dismiss Notice

Dunu TITAN 1 — titanium-coated diaphragm earphones

Rating:
4.62121/5,
  1. masterchile
    dunu titan 1 nowdays
    Written by masterchile
    Published Mar 11, 2017
    4.0/5,
    Pros - good soundstage, quality, clarity
    Cons - lacks bass, maybe you can find somthing best for the price
    Code:
    [color=rgb(33, 33, 33)] Today I bring you a review of the dunu titan 1, an audiphone icon that is characterized by having a great soundstage and have even said that it has more soundstage than the shure se425 which I can say that it is so and defends very well to the New headphones that have come out today. 1. What's in the box: The box has a solid box to carry them, adapter 3.5 to 6.3, several tips of different sizes and clip for clothes. But the box is of another level, very luxurious and well made .... Here are some pictures.[/color]
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478417229955102075521863.jpg
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478817269336102075521865.jpg
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478717269252102075521869.jpg
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478617269244102075521863.jpg
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478517237032102075521861.jpg
     
     
    Code:
    [color=rgb(33, 33, 33)] 2. With what audio probe: ibasso dx100, nuforce icon hd, ipod nano 7g and lg g4. Honestly makes a better match the nuforce since the ibasso is very defined but with the lg g4 is doing well too. 3. Characteristics of sound: honestly here we will find a very tight bass but of very good quality, clear sound defined, very good means but they stay a little behind, the treble or the brightness is something very prominent and can become a little annoying but like To improve that I will speak later. What most impresses of these audionos is the separation of instruments, soundstage and the 3d feeling that leaves, that actually surpasses those of its price even in these days. 4.Construction and material: These earphones are made to last with a metal construction and in a cord-like part, these earphones would easily last 2 years or more. 5.Comparations: -Dunu titan 1 vs fiio ex1: Honestly they are almost the same around the sound but there is no significant difference ... The titan 1 is a little less shiny and comes with more accessories but if I had to choose between the two, I would leave Definitely for the fi1 ex1 ... in aliexpress the ex1 cost 65 dollars and the dunu titan 1 82 dollars so it is much better to pay the 65dollars since they are almost the same. -Dunu titan 1 vs Brainwavz M2: The m2 do not have much soundstage but they are more recommended to people not audofila since it satisfies the needs that a person does not audiophile (great bass, much impact, not so good and not very high prominent means ), But the main protagonist here is the impact, so the hype that impacts almost all the time. Now the best! The mod: To solve the hissing in high notes or in the cymbals simply place tape or something that is affirmed in the metal, in 2 holes of the 12 that has and put 2 tips together (one with the largest hole to fit, What is next seen in the images).[/color]
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970478917273918102075521855.jpg
    http://s2.subirimagenes.com/fotos/previo/thump_970479017273203102075521855.jpg
    Happy songs to everyone!
    1. senorx12562
      ?
      senorx12562, Mar 13, 2017
  2. akshayshah12
    Brilliant IEMs
    Written by akshayshah12
    Published Jun 21, 2016
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Clear highs, overall SQ, Soundstage, Tight bass with nice extension, Accessories
    Cons - Overall build quality, non replaceable cable
    Most about these IEMs is already said in many reviews already out there so keeping it short. SQ is brilliant. Sounded clearly a notch better than Shure SE215 to me. Could easily be the best sub 100$ IEMs out there in terms of sheer sound quality. Lacks in isolation department. Knocking off the half star just because, at asking the price, the design could have been better from durability perspective.
  3. harry501501
    Most fun IEM I've heard!
    Written by harry501501
    Published May 29, 2016
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Wide unique soundstage, detailed, accurate bass, fantastic value
    Cons - Little artificial treble
    I've only been in this game since January but have bought a new IEM every month (at pay day obviously). Nothing yet has come close to being my go-to IEM. (I should note...I bought the Titans for £100 but then returned them for the Fiio EX 1s which were the same IEM but rebranded for Fiio... and only £50.... wow.)
     
    I also have Soundmagic e10, Re400s, Havi B3 Pro 1s, Trinity Audio Deltas V1, MEE Pinnacle P1s and I've heard and returned Dunu DN2000s just today.
     
    BASS - I originally thought they didn't have much bass impact but once I used Comply Foam T-500s that changed. It then become nice and accurate with a good mid bass thump. I sometimes EQ a little bit more sub bass. Bassheads won't like these imo.
     
    MIDS - Little recessed but still detailed. They have a slight bit of warmth (which i like). Vocals sound great, especially harmonies which come out fantastically with it's HUGE soundstage. Guitars have great body. I originally thought they lacked a bit of detail, but once I heard other IEMs known for detail and microdetail i realised they were just as competent. They just place the details around the soundstage, but everything is there. i bought the Dn2000s to give me a pair that I could marvel at microdetails but it took me by surprise just how similar the Titans could be when needed.
     
    HIGHS - Probably it's weakest factor. They can be heard but can sound a bit artificial to my ears. Some may find them a wee bit fatiguing at first, but again the foam tips helped that with me. I'm not anywhere close to being a treble head but I like to hear a bit of detail which these def do. They don't have problems with sibilance either.
     
    SOUNDSTAGE - Most people will pick this as the biggest draw. It's huge due to the vent holes. Nice and airy, vocals and instruments have great placement, stereo effect is well done even though they can sit way out your head at times. Very 3D like. the Havi B3 Pro 1s have a very large soundstage and they also use it in a very effective realistic way, but to me it is ruler flat whereas the Titans is just as wide but has better depth and height and is more airy... just bigger.
     
    FIT - Very comfortable, very light. Isolation isn't great though down to the vent holes so you will hear everything going on around you on the go, but it doesn't effect the listening experience. They sound great still... they just greater in a quiet atmosphere.
     
    Genres - I think they do well for all types of music, especially rock. make anthems sound amazing. It's like fireworks in your ears. Guitars and harmonies bursting all round you. Modern pop and electro sound great. i don't listen to classical but I'd think they'd do quite well with big orchestras.
     
    i use these with Xduoo X3 which compliment it very well. i also use it with Fiio e10k and it just just as well. Doesn't need amping imo, and is very forgiving with low bitrate songs... unlike the Mee P1s lol
     
    I have two other great sets in the Deltas and MEE P1s. They are great for different reasons, but the Titans still outperform them for a fun listen (the Deltas are close though as they have a similar mid bass punch which i like). This is a lot to do with that great soundstage though. It's just so unique.
     
    For £50 you are getting a SUPERB IEM... no wonder it is sitting at Number 2. The value is unreal tbh. Not sure if Fiio will keep them at this price point, but they compete with IEMs four times as expensive imo.
  4. HiFiChris
    The beginning of a Tale of Titans: the Titan 1 offers really good value and build
    Written by HiFiChris
    Published Dec 16, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - value, build quality, engaging sound, huge and spacious soundstage, design, bass speed
    Cons - slight midrange veil, treble a tad artificial, cloth-coated cable looks awesome but may fray over time, weak isolation due to the semi-open design
    Preamble:

    Before I start with my actual review, I want to give out a big thank DUNU-Topsound for providing me with a sample of the Titan 1 in-ears (http://www.dunu-topsound.com/TITAN1.html) in exchange for my honest opinion and evaluation.

    Founded in February 1994 originally as an OEM manufacturer, the Chinese company DUNU has developed in the past few years and launched many in audiophile circles highly appreciated IEMs, whereof the Titan 1, an in-ear with semi-open design that reminds me more or less of an “earbud with a nozzle”, was one of their most appreciated and discussed in-ears in the last time.
    This review on the Titan 1 IEMs of the company DUNU that is well known for their titanium-coated drivers is the “upbeat” of a following comparison with the new models Titan 3 and Titan 5.


    Technical Specifications:

    Price: ~$115
    Driver type: dynamic, 13 mm, titanium-coated
    Frequency response: 20 H – 20 kHz
    Sensitivity: 90 dB (+/- 2 dB)
    Impedance: 16 Ohms
    Cable length: 1.2 m


    Delivery Content:

    Typically for DUNU, the Titan 1’s delivery content is quite good, although not as impressive as with their more expensive models.

    The packaging is valuable, sturdy and designed with the typical DUNU-style. The front shows a large picture of the in-ears, the back gives information about the delivery content with corresponding little pictures and more information about the in-ears. The left side features the technical specifications in various languages; the right has got a strap for opening the magnetic lid and features the words that DUNU stands for: “Delicate Unique & Utmost”.
    On the inside, the left side of the upper side’s lid describes the assets of the titanium coating, gives information about the metal bodies and shows the effects of the titanium layer in a frequency chart. On the right side, there is an introduction of a musician called Max Barsky as well as a small plastic screen with the in-ears behind.
    With the help of another strap, this side can be opened up as well and reveals the in-ears as well as a warranty card, a really nice carrying case (more about that later on), a cable clip, a 6.35 to 3.5 mm adapter as well as three different styles of silicone tips in three different sizes (among are the pre-installed Sony-like hybrid silicone tips, hybrid silicone tips with red stem as well as flat wide-bore silicone tips). Therefore, the consumer can chose his preferred style of tips that also have a slight impact on the overall sound signature.
     

    P1020802.jpg   P1020803.jpg
    P1020804.jpg   P1020805.jpg
    P1020806.jpg   P1020807.jpg
    P1020809.jpg   P1020813.jpg

     
     

    Aesthetics, Build Quality:

    The silver in-ear bodies are made of stainless steel, feature a premium build quality, have got classical “L” plus “R” side markers as well as DUNU logos and letterings. As a very convenient feature, both sides have got circular, coloured rings in the centre for very easy side identification.
    Apart from the sound outlet holes in the nozzle, I count at total 12 other perforated holes in the metal housings which make the Titan 1 somehow a mixture of in-ears and earbuds.

    The L-shaped 3.5 mm connector which contains the serial number as well as the y-split with the “DUNU” and “Titan 1” lettering and the chin-slider are made of the same silver metal.
    The very flexible cable is cloth-coated below the y-split, which on one hand feels great, looks great and reduces microphonics, but on the other may fray over time and lose the great looks. The cable for sure features DUNU’s patented cable management tool which I really got used to over time on the DN-2000J, wherefore I also like it on the Titan 1, although I’d like if it was removable for sportive activities when the source device is in no pocket (just like Fidue’s more or less similar tool which is removable), but that’s just my minor preference and no negative point in the evaluation.

    With a firm press on the button of the nice carrying case, the lid snaps open. The bottom on the outside has got a rubber mat that is skid-proof on most surfaces. The lower half of the case’s inside is bolstered with rubber, but the upper is unfortunately not and has only got a hard plastic surface.
     

    P1020811.jpg   P1020812.jpg
    P1020814.jpg   P1020816.jpg
    P1020817.jpg   P1020818.jpg
    P1020819.jpg   P1020820.jpg
    P1020821.jpg   P1020822.jpg
    P1020823.jpg   P1020842.jpg

     

     
    Comfort, Isolation:

    The semi-openly designed in-ears are best worn like earbuds with the cables straight down, which works out quite nice, however people with very small auricles may have fit issues, which is definitely no problem for me who has quite large conchas, wherefore the in-ears sit very comfy in my ears. Once the chin-slider is moved up, microphonics are lowered and not too present.
    Wearing the Titan 1 true-sided with the cables over the ears is possible in my case and without many comfort issues, but “doesn’t feel right”, wherefore I recommend inserting the IEMs like you would for wearing them with the cables straight down, but after that you guide the cables over the ears, which is easily possible due to the low y-split and reduces microphonics even more.

    As the in-ears follow a semi-open design, isolation is pretty low, although still audibly better than with earbuds or most full-sized open-back headphones and not as bad as I thought after having read some impressions.


    Sound:

    Although I don’t believe much (if at all) in burn-in of in-ears, I have fully burnt the Titan 1 in before listening, just as it is recommended for them.
    My main source devices were the iBasso DX80 and DX90 as well as sometimes the iPhone 4 (which is jailbroken and tweaked for a better music experience) and LH Labs Geek Out IEM 100. Music material was mainly stored as FLAC and WAV files, but I also used some 320 kBps cbr MP3 files.

    The following sound impressions were written down based on listening with the red-core hybrid tips, as they subjectively offered the best sound quality for me.

    Tonality:

    The Titan 1’s general tonality can be described as having a bassy character with a mildly v-shaped tendency.
    The lows are very even without real roll-off down to 25 Hz and extend from the low registers of the sub-bass up to the middle fundamental tone area. The emphasis is quite present with about +6 dB compared to more neutral in-ears (like the Etymotic ER-4S), though lows don’t appear bloated which is also because of the quick and arid bass impact (more about that further below). The mids appear a bit less present and also have got some emphasis in the upper mids/lower highs, wherefore voices are a shade on the brighter side, just as with the Fidue A73, which I personally like better than overly dark mids (and for those who are wondering, the Titan 1’s mids are not really obviously too bright, but just brighter that you may actually be used to and only with the Sony-Style Hybrid tips, but become – at least in my ears – tonally correct with the red-core tips).
    At 7.5 kHz, there is a moderate peak in my ears, which is, along with the slightly relaxed middle treble, most likely the main reason why the Titan 1 is often perceived as mildly v-shaped.
    There is nothing to criticise about the upper treble extension above 10 kHz, as it is pretty good and there is a nice amount of subtle super-treble sparkle.

    Tuning Options:

    Just as with most of DUNU’s in-ears, the Titan 1 comes with a good selection of ear-tips that shape the sound more or less obviously.
    The black Sony-style hybrid tips have got minimally brighter upper mids that are quite identical to the Fidue A73. The red-core hybrid tips make the mids appear more correct in my ears and sound overall a shade darker; the black wide-bore tips subjectively lower the mids and treble even more, wherefore the whole sound appears bassier.
    By the way, the middle and upper treble sound a bit artificial and unnatural in my ears when I use the Sony-style tips, but that problem gets solved with the red-core tips which also seem to add a little resolution to the highs.

    Resolution:

    The resolution is on a very good level and among the best of dynamic driver in-ears in the price range of around $100+. The Titan 1 sounds very clear, clean, vivid and lively, but there is one thing that perishes a bit, namely the mids: they are not really recessed, but their resolution lacks a bid behind the lows’ and highs’ resolution, wherefore voices sound a little shallow (it is a bit like with the Logitech UE900: the mids’ resolution is really not bad at all, but the bass and treble are better in this regard, wherefore the mids appear a bit excluded in comparison).
    Treble is sparkly and detailed with good air and differentiation, just as the quick, textured and responsive bass that somehow gives a teaser of how the DN-2000J’s lows sound (although the Titan 1 surely does not reach its light-footedness, details and texture and sometimes appears a tiny bit blunt in comparison, but does a really great job). The bass department is very arid and fast for a dynamic driver, with an excellent bass speed and transient speed in general.

    Spatial Presentation:

    Just as I have expected, the soundstage is really widely extending to the sides, with a remarkable depth, as well as layering and an easy-going character.
    Regarding size, the Titan 1 is quite similar to the Brainwavz R1 or UERM, though with a bit less width, but with the same sheer limitless seeming depth.
    Layering is very well done with good spatial separation for dynamic in-ears, and musicians as well as sound elements are placed pretty well in the imaginary room. What I like the most about that imaginary soundstage is, as just said twice, the quite inexistent seeming borders to all sides.

    ---------

    In a short comparison with:

    Brainwavz M3:
    The M3 is in my opinion currently the best dynamic driver in-ear in Brainwavz’ product portfolio and among my personally favoured dynamic in-ears around 100€ (and above). It has got a fairly balanced signature with a good spatial presentation, especially regarding layering, although there could be some more width, but this IEM sounds extremely natural for its price.
    The Titan 1 is among the best in-ears around $100 as well, though it does not necessarily outclass the M3, but is rather a very good alternative with a different flavour and a better build quality. In some areas the Titan 1 better than the M3, but also a tad inferior in others. The M3 is the more balanced IEM out of the two and probably a shade more natural and authentic as well. The Titan 1 resembles a more “modern”, mildly v-shaped sound signature and may be really wowing at first listen, but once the new toy syndrome has ebbed away a bit, a more objective comparison is possible and the technical differences appear closer than they seemed to be before. All in all, the area where the M3 shines in comparison is the midrange resolution which is probably the IEM’s greatest strength and reminds me of a Balanced Armature’s detail retrieval and speech intelligibility. Other than that, the treble detail is pretty close on both in-ears, although the Titan 1 might be a tad better by the thickness of a razor blade. In the bass department, the DUNU is the overall winner with the more even extension and the overall quicker impact, better control as well as speed and seizable texture.
    When it comes to the soundstage, the M3 is definitely no slob at all and has got a remarkable spatial depth with smooth layering, but the Titan 1 is even a bit better – its soundstage is very widely extending in all directions, with a better width than the M3’s and a borderless extension to all sides. Instrument separation and –placement is a bit better as well and so the Titan 1 is overall the slight winner with a more organic yet at the same time responsive and quick low-range.
    And therefore the Titan 1 is one of the better in-ears in the price range around $100, with a good spatial and open presentation, yet it is also not perfect, though it comes close to that status in some areas.


    Conclusion:

    The Titan 1 feel very nice and are really well built and definitely among the better models in their price range, although they also do not outclass other in-ears. What you get though are very spacious and roomy sounding in-ears with a modern and well-made street sound without any harshness or annoying dips – the sometimes described over-present treble is definitely nothing I hear, although the mids are rather on the brighter side.
    The Titan 1 does many things right for the price, but there are some things as well that make me rate it with “only” 4.5 instead of 5 stars: one thing is the midrange resolution that is a bit lower than in the other areas. The bass is very responsive and quick for a dynamic driver and has got a nice body while maintaining a good slam and speed, but it also sounds a tiny bit blunt at times, which is the second little drawback. The third is the cable’s nylon coating which feels and looks really nice, but will fray over time (there are already some small signs of it).
    The Titan 1 is a technically and sonically great in-ear in its price range with a valuable build quality and a nicely extending soundstage with loads of air and quite precise instrument placement plus layering, but it is no “competitors’ destroyer” and has some little drawbacks which however don’t stop it from being really really nice in-ears.

    All in all, I come to a distinct “thumbs up” and rating of 4.5 stars (94%) that are very close to being five – if there was no nylon coating or the mids’ resolution was a tiny bit better (compared to the treble and bass), it would have been a straight 5.
      twister6 likes this.
    1. View previous replies...
    2. HiFiChris
      @Tom22
       
      :) Thanks.
      Looking forward to checking out your review/impressions once they're up!

      I actually prefer the Titan 3 more because I consider them as being the better all-rounders and suiting my personal tonal (long-tern) preferences more, but there are areas where the Titan 5 are a minor tad more refined.
      Nevertheless, all of the three Titans are imo excellent for the price and offer very solid performance bit each with a different tonality and presentation.
      If I'm not aiming for a neutral tuning, I especially like the Titan 1 for Electronical, the Titan 5 for Rock and the Titan 3 for about everything.
      HiFiChris, Dec 17, 2015
    3. Harley1962
      I enjoyed reading your very thorough review, but I I always seem to "find" good IEM's a year or two "later" than everybody else!
      For example I have a pair of RE-400's still "like new" in the box, which I haven't even fully broken-in, but I'm now looking to upgrade my IEM choices to better "match" my home set of cans (Beyer T90), while keeping the price UNDER $250.
       
      As I listen to mostly Classical, Straight Jazz, some World and Alternative Folk, etc..do you feel the Titan 1's would be a significant improvement to the RE-400's, or would I probably have to spend a bit more $$...any suggestions would be appreciated. Using iBasso DX80 + JDS Amp
      Harley1962, Apr 18, 2016
    4. HiFiChris
      @Harley1962
       
      Unfortunately the RE-400 is an in-ear I have not heard yet, so I couldn't say whether the Titan in-ears would be an upgrade. The most important thing is to know what your priorities are and what sound signature you prefer. For a very open soundstage and with a somewhat v-shaped signature (though, the amount of bass highly depends on your ear anatomy and how close the vents sit to the concha), the Titan 1 would be a great in-ear. For a better balanced and more mid-focused signature, the Titan 3 would be a good alternative but with smaller soundstage (fit is crucial with that model - if the vents aren't perfectly sitting in your ears, sound will be thin and canny).
      For a balanced and slightly dark signature, the Audio Technica ATH-IM02 would be a good choice - precise imaging, realistic and natural sound.
      HiFiChris, Apr 19, 2016
  5. Wesley Tian
    BEST EARPHONES $100-$250 range. VERY VERSATILE, GOOD FOR EVERYDAY USE. A sound audiophile's will love, but not flat/boring for the normal person
    Written by Wesley Tian
    Published Nov 30, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Openness, sound quality, clearness, bass, comfort, versatility, cheapness, audiophile quality
    Cons - Sound leakage
    My search for the perfect pair of buds is finally over! I have long waited for the perfect set of earphones. A pair that not only sounds good, but looks good, and is comfortable. A pair that not only isolates sound, but also sounds open at the same time. Enter the DUNU Titan 1s. These are so good that I can't believe it. At a price of only $118 at the time I bought it, these are a ******* amazing deal. I just returned the RHA T20is that I bought a week ago. Comparing these two popular buds, the RHA loses in comfort, portability, design, sound and openness. The only thing that the RHA is better at is isolation, but not by far. Additionally, I feel that unless you are going to be in a very loud environment constantly, it is better to be able to hear a bit of what is going on around you. I plan to use these earphones while biking, eating, walking, at home, in bed, at work, in the library, at school, on the bus, and on the plane. Basically, whenever I don't need to be talking to people. The only drawback that I noticed from the reviews before buying these was isolation, looks, and the fact that it is made in China. I can confirm that isolation is not a problem, looks is debatable and very subjective, and feel free to ignore it being made in China because it is much better than any other American or European earphone I have ever tried.

    Sound: 10/10
    Better than RHA t20i at 249.99. Better than V-Moda Crossfade LP 2 199.99Better than BlueBuds X 169.99, better than Audio-Techinica M50x 199.99

    Sounds very playful. 
    Bass: Extremely Strong, clear,
    Highs: Extremely clear
    Mids: Very good

    Isolation: 8/10
    Enough to block chatter, not so much that you wouldn't be able to hear a car honking it's horn

    Comfort, 9.5/10, a bit tight but that may be necessary for a good fit
    Tried on the default set of earbuds attached to the model and they fit amazingly. Haven't bothered to try on the other buds for a better fit.

    Openness: 10/10
    Perfect mix of closed and openness
    These are indeed very open, does leak a bit of sound, just look at the design, it has a unique 7 open hole design. Sounds spectacular. Like you are in a club or music room.


    If this doesn't convince you, feel free to check any other reviews. But, seriously. I've done WAY too much research already and this is the final result.
    Also, you will regret not getting these.
    About me: College student, spend most of time in library, dorm, biking to class.

     
    Day 2 Update, Lowered to 4.5 Stars, Can't believe I didn't even notice that these had mediocre wire, and no in-line mic. Still very worth it; nothing is perfect and these are well worth the sacrifice of the mic and in-line control.
     
      DJScope likes this.
    1. DJScope
      Caps lock broken? :p Haha!
      DJScope, Dec 1, 2015
    2. jrazmar
      I have not tried any Dunu earphones myself but I suggest you try the VE earbuds especially the Zen. That might change your mind. :)
      jrazmar, Dec 1, 2015
  6. Hifihedgehog
    A TITAN at a Pauper's Price
    Written by Hifihedgehog
    Published Sep 21, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - A revealing, authentic and emotive sound response; many useful high quality accessories are also included
    Cons - None
    I can say with a resounding "yes" that my hunch was right. Being the hard-core objectivist that I am, I frequently use InnerFidelity's datasheets as a gauge to determine whether or not a headphone is worth considering for purchase. A few weeks prior to acquiring the TITAN 1, I did just that. Based upon my observations of its measured performance, I hypothesized that the TITAN 1's actual performance would be legendary. Indeed, I have been far from disappointed in my decision. I can say without uncertainty that the DUNU TITAN 1 is up there with the best of ultra high-end headphones.
     
    For many of you, the TITAN 1 can truly be your end-game or desert island earphone. Everything is right on target—or, simply, it just sounds so right. Singers, instruments, dialogue, ambience, sound effects, you name it, that inhabit the midrange have unadulterated realistic tonality. Pardon the cliché, but sound sounds just like it would in real life. Now, that is a tough feat to perform. The TITAN 1 matches the tonality of big dog headphones like the Sennheiser HD 800 and HiFiMAN HE-1000, both of which I have demoed thoroughly.
     
    And oh, man, that clarity! Getting crystalline, sparkling clarity in a headphone is one thing. Shimmery cymbals, airy female vocals, brassy trumpets. But actually having a refined, grain-free, unfatiguing sort of clarity is the real balancing act. Strike the right balance and remove all anomalies, and you can see the sound and make out its texture with 20-20 auditory vision. Only the best of the best headphones can pull off this sonic feat and the TITAN 1 does exactly this without breaking a sweat.
     
    The bass, too, is the kind that astounds. In an age where Beats are as bassy as McDonald's is greasy, the TITAN 1 is a breath of fresh air. In an instant, it can be delicate where the music calls for it. Yet unlike many audiophile headphones that are often too delicate, the TITAN 1 has a trick up its sleeve. It has also hard hitting authority to kingdom come. Yes, the lifelike punch of real music is all there. The bass materializes and disappears with pistonic precision. Put all these premium components (bass, midrange, and treble) of this sonic sandwich together, and you have an instant scrumptious serendipity of sonic splendor in your head.
     
    So the TITAN 1 sounds out of this world, but the buck doesn't stop there. The build quality and accessories radiate the kind of craftmanship you normally see in $500-plus models: a Teflon-reinforced cable; a unique, especially patented rubber loop attached to the cable for coiling it with ease; a pristine buffed aluminum sleeve on the plug; two stunning, polished silver driver housings composed of space age metal; and even a durable black hard plastic case is included. No stone was left unturned in this pursuit for excellence. By visual inspection alone, this entire package in other brands would normally cost a bundle, because it certainly looks the part. Shockingly, it doesn't. That's the craziest thing about it.
     
    The TITAN 1 is incredible regardless of its price, and receives my unfettered full recommendation. It is not the pipsqueak of a giant killer you might think it is; it is a full-fledged TITAN itself under the guise of a pauper's price tag. If you are earnestly shopping around for a pair of earphones that you likely never ever will have to upgrade from for only $115 (or $90 should you opt for the equivalent rebranded FiiO EX1), look no further. Snatch up the TITAN 1 while you can. You won't regret it!
      stalepie likes this.
    1. jerryzm
      Thanks for that. I just got these last month and I have to say it surprised me as well. Build quality is excellent for the price and it can go head to head with my other fav iem, xba-a3.
       
      I haven't heard the Sennheiser HD 800 yet but if what you're saying is true, we have a keeper here. Great job on the review!
      jerryzm, Sep 21, 2015
    2. Hifihedgehog
      The best part for me is the TITAN 1 does for me what I initially used to believe only a full-sized high-end open-back headphone could achieve. It has a limitless soundstage and gobs of (reference standard) clarity and punch. For me, it even outshines the Sennheiser HD 800, particularly in bass reach and midrange neutrality. However, from what I can see in the InnerFidelity datasheets, the DN-2000J (not the non-J model) adds that last little bit of clarity that is ever-so-slightly missing in the 6 to 10 KHz region  and is absolutely sublime because of it. 
       
      (Note: This is seriously splitting hairs. There are $1000+ headphones like the Audeze, models which have this problem, only to a far greater degree, so much so that they are so dark in these upper regions they sound plain wrong at times. Yes, the TITAN 1 outperforms an Audeze in my most candid opinion. Unless you like the classic stereotypical warm audiophile curve or you do not care about anything above 4 KHz (i.e. treble), skip it. The HiFiMAN HE-1000 or Sennheiser HD 800, if you prefer full-sized headphones, are far superior in my experience. Or if earphones are your thing, go with the TITAN 1.)

      However, even though I would even now be saving for the DN-2000J, there is less reason to now that potentially better prospects are on the horizon. What gets me even more hyped is DUNU is releasing a whole new line of earphones, just showcased publicly this week, in fact! See the link and get excited! I say wait for a few months, read, demo (if possible) and then buy, if you are after that last 1% of performance, based on what DUNU's new models can pull off: http://www.dunu-topsound.com/2015.html
      Hifihedgehog, Sep 22, 2015
    3. jerryzm
      Wow thanks for the link. Looks like DUNU has a lot of new iems to look forward to especially the new variations of the titan.
      jerryzm, Sep 22, 2015
  7. areek
    Are these for Real???
    Written by areek
    Published Aug 31, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - amazing sound, fun,. wide soundstage, superb instrument seperation, great accessories.
    Cons - isolation, non-detachable cables, doesn't come with foam tips.
     

    Name- DUNU TITAN 1
    Manufacturar- Dunu-topsound, a chinese company.
    Price- 115$, I got them for around 169SGD from Lend me ur ears, Singapore.
    Description- 
    First, some note about me. I am a 25 year old guy who just finished his MBBS and now studying for entry into post grad course. I have entered into the head-fi scene while looking for a good quality gaming headphones. Some guys from Banglagamer, specially Mahfuz Islam BhuiyanS.M. Ridwan KabirSadman ShawmikRahin Sadman Islamthese guys adviced me to get a stereo headphones with big soundstage, which led me into buying a Panasonic HTF600. I haven't looked back since.


    Currently my setup are the following-
    PC > Xonar STX > Hifiman HE400
    Fiio X1 > Fiio E12 > Dunu Titan 1


    I bought these after going through numerous reviews from all over the internet and after auditioning it to similarly priced big guns like the VSonic GR07 Bass edition and Kennerton Laguz. The won me over by far.

    Accessories and build- 
    These came in a quite big box, 6.7 x 5.1 x 2 inches(amazon). The box contained the specifications of the iem, some description about a ukrainian singer named Max Barsky when opening the 1st flap. Inside there was a hard plastic box, 3 types of silicone eartips, each having 3 sizes (that's total of 9 pairs), a 3.5 to 6.3mm stereo adapter and the IEM itself. 
    As you can see in the picture, the IEM has a full metallic body, the inner aspect of each bud has several holes in them which allow sound to pass through. The buds are each connected with nonsleeved cable but they fuse together by by a good metal y-split and the remainder of the cable is sleeved. There is also a cinch in between the buds to adjust split of the earbuds, which also help while wrapping these up. These tangle up easily but can also be untangled easily. The strain reliefs are OK i guess. Good thing is that there is a rubber tie which can be used to keep these coiled properly. Overall pretty impressive build and accessories I say.


    Sound-
    These are quite neutral IEMs with a mild V shape, which make this just suitable for my listening experiance. 

    Lows- 
    This is in no way a bass heavy headphone. But it isnt a shy one either. My first experiance while listening to it was, oh man, these might have no bass at all. But then it hit me. Just when I wanted that oomph, the Titan delivered. And it delivered with perfection. It ain't boomy, it ain't thumping. But it's full of body and texture. There is a mild mid bass boost, which is the fun factor. 9/10 for the bass.


    Mids-
    Really good bass, V shaped, you would think mids are gonna be recessed, right? Well, I think the mids is where these shine the most. Because, it delivers a fun signature with just enuf magic in the mids to keep you mesmerised. The first time I played Hotel California on it, I was blown away by the detail of the guitars and the voice. Every time I listen to female vocals, I mouth opens up a bit saying Oohhh! Wow! and stays that way. That being said, the close compititor RE-400s probably have a more magical mid, but This stands out, I'll describe why a bit later. Anyways, a solid 9/10 for mids.

    Highs- 
    I do not like sibilance that much, but I enjoy the sparkle up top. These give me just enuf sparkle to have fun without causing any sibilance. Some might find these a bit tinny, but I dont. In fact, I feel the comply S-200 tips that I am using with them dampen the highs a bit, which sounds kinda dull to me. So, I am probably gonna buy the isolation tips as well. 8.5/10

    Soundstage and imaging-
    This is the X-factor of these iems. The openness of the buds allow a lot of ambient sound to come through while giving the sound a chance to expand. And that is the cornerstone of the Titan's popularity. Makes me feel like i'm listening to a live show inside a restaurant/gallery. The clarity is superb, imaging prestine. Every instrument has it's own space, which means a very engaging experiance. This also helps to play out the fast paced songs perfectly without getting all fuzzy. I had the chance to audit the GR07 BE at the same time I tried these, along with my old Steelseries Flux, both of which didnt stand a chance against these. And just to remind you that both of these are considered as the top guns for their price. So no shortcomings here, 10/10

    Isolation-
    The openness of the iems meant poor isolation. I use medium volumes and even then the person sitting beside me can clearly tell which song I am listening to. 3/10

    So, this brings my reviews to an end. It was kind of sad that after a month of me buying these, the famous amp creator Fiio came out in conjuction with Dunu to rebrand the Titan 1 as Fiio EX1, which is essentially the same diaphragm but with different cables and minus the adapter, and it sells for just 89.99$ on amazon, which is a steal. That probably will make it the best sounding iem for <100$ budget. so don't miss out.


    Have fun. gri
    dunu.jpg

     
    dunu1.jpg
     
    dunu2.jpg
     
    dunu3.jpg
     
    dunustack.jpg
     
     

      DJScope likes this.
    1. Tobias89
      Nicely written review bro!
      Tobias89, Aug 31, 2015
    2. ASpencer
      Superb... and upstanding and fair to mention the FiiO rebranding with the price break.
      ASpencer, Aug 31, 2015
    3. areek
      thank you guys. I've put up my name to participate in the Fiio EX1 world tour where they will be sending out the EX1 to the reviewers and they pass it along. If that comes, I'll be reviewing it and post a comparison.
      areek, Sep 1, 2015
  8. getclikinagas
    DUNU Titan 1 – Half In-ear || Full detail package || Double bang for your buck
    Written by getclikinagas
    Published Jun 18, 2015
    4.5/5,
    Pros - Excellent detail retrieval, Very good price,Sonic space, Good soundstage, Organic slightly V shaped sound signature, Packaging
    Cons - Could do with more refinement in mid-bass, Treble could do with more delicacy, Isolation(trade-off), overly egdy treble at high volume
    DUNU Titan 1 – Half In-ear || Full detail package || Double bang for your buck
     ​

    Index : (Clickable)
     
    1. Packaging Accessories and Build
    2. Comfort and isolation
    3. Efficiency and perceived FR
    4. Sound
    5. Stage, space and imaging
    6. Comparisons: The Titanium Trifecta
    7. Conclusion
    8. Bonus: Some subjective drivel
    titan2.gif


     
    DUNU has been around for quite a while now (earlier as an OEM) and have managed to have a recommended IEM or two in the budget price brackets. Their higher offerings, the DN1000 and DN2000 triple hybrids, wowed Head-fi and cemented DUNU as a force to be reckoned in the 200-400$ bracket. The Titan-1($115) comes barging into a very crowded and competitive price segment, that has seem a few gems prevail the hype storm. Will the Titan 1 be one of those gems we will still talk about a few years down the line?
     
    Packaging Accessories and Build
     
    P1010421.gif   Frontall.jpg
     ​
     
     
    At 115$, the packing is pure class. The thick double flap (magnetic) cardboard box, layout, and accessory list makes for a pleasing experience before the first listen.
    The accessory list is extensive and I was able to find a secure fit for my narrow ear canals in no time (small Sony-hybrid like tips). I do feel that double/tri flange tips should also be included, for a shallow fit IEM like this. Quite a few people on the Titan 1 thread have found the sweet spot with multi-flange tips (For ex. See earfonia’s review)
     
    The cable is half cloth half rubber. The cloth half isn’t prone to kink like the RE400 and does a pretty good job in suppressing microphonics. However, the same cannot be said for the rubber half which easily picks up mechanical noise. The best solution for this is to wear them cable-up, but this is not possible unless the channels are swapped. The 3.5mm jack is beefy and the strain relief seems sturdy enough to do the job. Time will tell if the Y spilt holds up. The strain reliefs exiting the housing are relatively thinner and inflexible. In the first month of use, I took extremely good care of them, and decided to put them to the test throughout the second month “for the greater good” (no case, buried in bags, stuffed in pockets, used as a bungee cord etc etc.. you know… the usual stuff). Happy to report that, other than a few scuff marks on the outer face, everything looks as good as new. “Excellent build” is the two month verdict.
     
    Special mentions:
     
    Case.gif   IMG_0066.jpg
     
    1. The carry case is classy. All black, very sturdy, rubber padded inside, Anti slip base, nice click to close, maybe a touch shallower than I hoped.
    2. The Rubber belt-like clasp on the lower cable is a very nifty. I do not know of other IEMs that have this feature. If you do know of one, you know what I’m talking about. Quick storage and retrieval is a breeze. I think DUNU has patented this design, but I hope to see this on all IEMs.
     
    Comfort and isolation
     
    Face.jpg   Back.jpg
     
    The colour coded metal housings are the half in-ear type. This design allows a large diaphragm to be placed nearly perpendicular to your ear canal and also allow some interesting vent designs. The Titan 1 housings are almost 1.5 cm in diameter and the angled nozzles are 0.5cm to 0.75cm in length. They fit just perfectly in my concha and anti-tragus, but I wouldn’t be surprised if a few complained of discomfort. The vents are positioned in a unique way. 11 small circular vents on the inside face of the housing and one vent on the outside face just under the stem.
     
    As you can imagine the isolation, with this level of venting, should be poor. I found that the isolation wasn’t as poor as proper open back IEMs like the Signature Acoustics O16. The Ostry KC06(which isn’t an open IEM) also offers similar levels of isolation. The Titan-1’s are not ideal or advisable for use on the go, unless you need poor isolation of course (to aid spatial awareness).
     
    Efficiency and perceived frequency response
     
    The Titan-1 is pretty efficient and was easily driven by my Sansa Clip, LG G2 and Geek Out 450. The Geek Out 450 sounded better rounded than the other two (not by much though), and has been used for the Sound section below.
     
    The sub-bass rolls off below 25Hz (quiet setting). The climb from the sub-bass to mid bass feels like a gradual curve. This gradual climb only seems to dip a tiny bit around 600Hz and 1300Hz. There are slight bumps around 2200Hz and 4800Hz before I notice a small dip at 8600Hz. There is a growing emphasis through and beyond the transition from the upper mids into the treble. Except for a peak at around 12.8KHz, the treble was well behaved before it dropped off at 17.6KHz. On the whole, I was impressed at how controlled and smooth the sweep sounded compared to my other sets. Onto the real-world tests now:
     
    Sound
    Primary list of music used
     
    Bass: The Titan 1 has the come-only-when-called-upon type of bass. This description is reserved for IEMs that deliver are able to maintain a very clean background and deliver a surprising bass kick out of no-where. This capability gets slightly weaker as we climb into the Titan 1’s midbass.
    The overall decay is fast but lingers a tiny bit beyond “fast”. I suspect the housing-design/sense-of-space also has something to do with this. What this does is, deliver a dash of warmth that contributes to the organic experience. The detail retrieval is very impressive (This is something you will read over and over throughout this review). The gradual mid-bass hump could do with a little more refinement (more about this in the RE400 comparison). This is also more apparent because of the transparency throughout the rest of the range.
     
    Mids: There has been a mix of opinions on the extent of midrange recession. I would classify the signature as a mild V shape that is not blatantly obvious in a majority of my music. The U is quite apparent when switching from a neutral/mid-forward IEM or on tracks with some inherent midrange recession (that gets exaggerated). After two weeks of using the Titan 1, I never felt like I was missing out on detail in the midrange and only on occasion (15%) wished for more midrange emphasis. Female vocals have better presence compared to the male vocals(extend will vary depending on the recording)
     
    Highs: The detail retrieval is astonishingly good. I have read a few reports of slight harshness/sibilance. I’ve probably lucked out with the tips, because I haven’t heard the treble cross the line. There is undoubtedly a slight treble emphasis but it only gets jarring at very high volumes. This lack of harshness contributes to the organic signature. However on the whole, it lacks some delicacy and finesse (see RE272 comparison). The treble can be considered edgy depending on the recording and listening volume, but I did not find it fatiguing.
     
    Stage, space and imaging
     
    The sense of space/stage is attention grabbing in the beginning (early listening) and then settles into a very natural enveloping stage that is starkly discernible when A/Bing with other IEMs. The L/R extension is above average, but that is not the (most) impressive bit. With most IEMs the sound cues start to fill your head, and after a certain virtual distance, start to feel confined. This is different from the positioning of individual cues ion the stage. The former has more to do with the “space” the cues occupy. On the Titan 1 the sound cues begin to fill your head and then radiate beyond. This feature in particular is very impressive and sounds very natural. The lesser than average isolation is a trade-off for the excellent sense of space that the Titan 1 offers.
     
    Comparisons: The Titanium Trifecta
     
    HIFIMAN RE400: The RE400 needs no introduction to the Head-fi scene. This 100$ titanium pellet has a warm neutral/slightly mid-forward signature with smooth treble. The Titan 1 is bassier, slightly V shaped with more emphasised treble. Not an obvious comparison here. The Titan 1 has the edge in sub-bass presence and as a result, presents similar levels of detail in a more noticeable/obvious manner and is is more enjoyable. The story is not the same when we climb into the mid-bass. Head-to head, the Titan 1 mid-bass seems woollier and less refined in comparison. The RE400 also edges the Titan 1 in mid-bass details retrieval and presentation. Both may not sound ideal(mid-bass response), but I find the RE400 to be more natural in this regard. The midrange is more linear on the RE400 and is more forward compared to the Titan 1 whilch has relatively recessed lower mids but more prominent upper mids. The level of detail is at similar levels, with the RE400 sounding relatively drier. The smooth treble is a contrast from the Titan 1 which is sounds edgier and more in-your-face, in comparison. Perceived detail retrieval is higher on the Titan 1 but I think the RE400 does remarkably well(but is not as upfront about it). The soundstage and space presented by the Titan 1 is more natural and enveloping that the more conventional RE400(in this regards).
    On the whole, I feel they are both technically adept and cater to slightly different audiences. I would recommend the Titan 1 over the RE400 as a transition IEM for someone wanting to venture into neutral waters(before diving head-first).
     
    HIFIMAN RE272: This legendary, now discontinued titanium micro-driver beauty is my absolute benchmark for treble detail-retrieval and presentation. The Titan 1 reminded me of the detail retrieval and nuances the RE272 brought out in my music. They differ mainly in presentation of that detail. Both, I will say, have emphasized highs (more so on the Titan 1). Both stay clear of sibilance or harshness(at normal listening volumes). Both have similar levels of detail(RE272 is slightly ahead). The similarities however end here. The RE272 manages to serve up this detail on a smooth black granite platter, while the Titan 1 chooses an ornamental shiny platinum platter. It is very easy to get lost in all the RE272 detail. The Titan 1 however, makes you take notice of every detail but not in an annoying way. 
     
    Conclusion:
     
    The pleasing all-rounder signature, excellent build, accessory list, and extremely competitive price is a winning formula when competing in a crowded price segment.
     
    What DUNU has done is take a neutralish/detail-oriented IEM and add just the right amount of pizazz. While there is room for some tweaking and refinement, I think the Titan 1 will weather the hype and gain a place in the top recommendation lists for all-rounder IEMs ~100$. I am definitely looking forward to the next iteration.
     
    Wrapup.jpg
     ​
    Bonus: Some subjective drivel:
    I am sensitive to sharp/peaky treble and cannot stand a recessed midrange(but I always try to make sure I stay as objective as possible in my review). That said, I didn’t find myself frowning with the Titan 1 singing in my ears. Yes, the midrange is slightly recessed and the treble is a little emphasized, but they never cross the line. Some expert tuning right there. I still break out the RE400 for that beautiful midrange and the Ostry KC06 when I need to be pumped up. The RE272 is the special one. It is undoubtedly my detail and treble presentation benchmark.
    I don’t particularly enjoy the Titan 1 at very low listening volumes(before sleep/studying etc.). The midrange slips just beyond my threshold and distracts me. I have the relatively midforward RE400 for that.
     
    I would like to thank Vivian (DUNU) for giving me the opportunity to share my honest opinion on the Titan 1. I would also like to apologize for the delay. I just wanted to get it right, so I spent as much time as possible carefully internalizing the signature.
     

    Thanks for reading. Do let me know if you have any thoughts on where I can improve my reviewing style(For ex: Not descriptive enough in XXX section).
    Always remember that each reviewer will have a slightly different take on the sound. It is important to go through as many reviews as possible and build a consensus of what the IEM will sound like. You could also pick a reviewer a two who you feel has similar tastes/perception as you (from reference reviews).
    Other reviews of the Titan 1 can be viewed at this link. Let us know if you have any questions regarding the Titan 1 over at the main thread. Tomscy2000 has organized the impressions and review links in the OP so that will be the best place to start.
    It goes without saying that auditioning something is the best way to go. Every other option is a distant 2nd, 3rd and so on, but we need to work with what is possible.

    1. View previous replies...
    2. getclikinagas
      @Peter West Thanks! It's always nice to see your impressions mirrored in a review.
       
      Thank you for sharing. Have you heard the Ostry KC06? The Titan 1 does remind me of them in many ways.
      getclikinagas, Jun 22, 2015
    3. Nusho
      comparison with gr07 if youve tried it?
      Nusho, Jun 24, 2015
    4. getclikinagas
      getclikinagas, Jun 24, 2015
  9. avitron142
    Simply Excellent - a Giant Contender
    Written by avitron142
    Published Jun 11, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Spacious and Excellent Sound quality, Build quality, Design, Comfort, Fit.
    Cons - Isolation
    Introduction:



    If you're part of this site, you've heard of open-back headphones. Well, today I learned that over-ear headphones aren’t the only cans with different “open” designs; some IEM’s, less frequently, also feature a somewhat open shell - the DUNU Titan 1’s have a half-open, and half in-ear design.

    So what's the benefit? Think about a semi-open IEM the same way you would regard a semi-open headphone – An open design allows for a more spacious, larger sound (more "3D", binaural, etc.) while sacrificing isolation. If there was a choice between the closed and open for sound quality, open-back will win almost every time.

    So it’s a bit refreshing to see that DUNU’s tried to go take a bit of a risk here and attempt something new. In addition to the aspect of the Titan 1’s being open, there’s also the “half in-ear” design. This allows for a bigger driver, encased in the half of the IEM that isn’t in your ear - this makes the Titan 1 bigger than most other general designs, as the other designs... have to fit to your ear, and this one doesn't. Generally IEM's run into the issue of having to cram one (or five, or ten for bragging rights) drivers into each ear, and try to replicate something about... ~30x bigger? Any headway on keeping IEM's comfortable while allowing for more space to get the drivers correctly is a win for me.

    Does the open design raise the sound quality here to be above market? Let’s find out.

    I am in no way affiliated or work for DUNU. For this review, I’ve received the Titan 1 as a review sample courtesy of DUNU Topsound.


    Packaging:



    The box itself is of the same type of that of the DN-2000J; it’s a stealthy black box that feels sturdy and well made. I'm happy DUNU’s not only willing to put money into the headphone, but also into the external presentation as well - it just looks neat. On the back, like the DN-2000J’s box, it says a few things about the Titan 1’s, as well as the accessories it comes with.

    Opening up the first flap reveals more information about the Titan 1’s, specifically the titanium coated diaphragm DUNU implemented here. Opening up both flaps gives us a sneak preview at the Titan 1’s, as well as some of the tips and the carrying case.

    P1000960.jpg P1000965.jpg P1000972.jpg P1000970.jpg P1000955.jpg P1000969.jpg


    Accessories:

    First off, the tips. There’s 3 pairs of translucent gray tips (small, medium, and large), 3 pairs of (what appears to be) Sony Hybrid tips, which are well known for their comfort, and 3 pairs of all-black tips with a noticeably larger nozzle size,. I cannot say whether the Sony hybrids are real - the ones I have from my own collection are knockoffs to begin with, so someone else will have to elaborate on that one.

    The different nozzle sizes for each pair of tips probably make a difference in sound, although I like the sound the way it is – with the default pair of tips that are on the Titan 1’s (Sony hybrid – medium). One thing that I noticed was that there wasn’t any Comply tips. Call me crazy, but I’d rather have 6 pairs of regular tips and one pair of Comply than 9 pairs of tips certain consumers will never use if they’re a foam-tip fan. I can’t really fault DUNU for this though, as they did provide 9 pairs of tips.

    However, for future products, I would love to see the different nozzle sizes supplemented with bi-flange and tri-flange tips. Some guys only get a good fit with bi/tri-flange, and there's always the customer who’s a sworn fan of Comply (there seems to be many of them recently). By taking out the larger nozzle tips and providing even one pair of foam, and one pair each of medium bi-flange and tri-flange, there’s minimal extra cost but potentially more happy customers.

    P1000976.jpg P1000974.jpg P1000977.jpg

    Note: Although there are 5 sets of black tips in each picture, the 2nd and 3rd rows from the top are the Sony hybrids, as well as the pair of tips that came on the Titan 1 (not shown here).

    The case itself is made of plastic, although it is definitely more pocketable than the one that comes with the DN-2000J. It’s a clasp-operated case, and as a hardcore zipper case fan, it just doesn’t appeal to me as much on the go. Just to give it a bit of though – imagine you’re on the bus or train and want something from inside the case. Popping open the case through the clasp could be risky; if you’re not careful, everything inside the case could fall out. That is why I’m a zipper-case fan – it doesn’t give you any surprises when opening, and is generally longer lasting. While DUNU got the size and form factor right, and I applaud them for that, I hope a zipper case can be a consideration in the future.

    P1020032.jpg P1020034.jpg P1020035.jpg

    The Titan 1's is the black, small case. The metal DN-2000J's case is on the right.

    The last few accessories are a shirt clip, a 3.5mm to 6.35mm adapter, a cable cinch, and the warranty card. The shirt clip can be used to reduce microphonics, as I’ll elaborate in the microphonics section later on. The cable cinch is a brilliant way to keep your cable wrapped up without it being a mess, so it’s an idea I definitely approve of.

    P1000979.jpg P1000980.jpg P1020003.jpg

    The accessories have been thought out well; as I can see, DUNU doesn’t skimp here. I do think though that a few switches in the types of accessories, while not costly, can really give this product a major boost in this department. However, it would be wrong for me to say that it didn’t do well here, only that I can see it going from 'great' to 'amazing' with little effort.

    Build Quality & Design:

    The housing of the Titan 1’s are cast out of metal, and DUNU lives up to its good name in build quality once again. The easiest way I could describe the shell is that it gives the appearance almost exactly of an earbud, with a round and symmetrical shell, except that is has a nozzle protruding at an angle for the tips to be on. I won’t go into the science behind it, but all you have to know is that the design provides a very snug fit in your ear. But more on that in the fit & comfort section later.

    While there are L/R markings on the housing of the Titan 1, they are hard to see, as they blend in with the shiny metal of the housing. Well, DUNU went with color coding on this one - around the shell there is a red/blue stripe, depending on the earpiece. The red stripe is for the right earpiece, and the blue is for the left. While it may be a little hard to remember at first, as the colors don’t exactly have any connection to left/right, it’s easy to get the hang of, and a very efficient way to tell which earpiece is which. No need anymore to squint at the housing to tell whether it says ‘L’ or ‘R’, now you just have to look at the color. A very clever idea, and a point in DUNU’s favor here. I certainly like it.

    P1000998.jpg P1000987.jpg P1000984.jpg

    As you can see from the pictures under this paragraph, the main housing of the Titan 1’s have two rows of holes punctured into the shell, and one hole on the back of each housing. To my understanding, this is what makes it “semi-open”. While you won’t be listening from these vents (not that I know of anyway), they do let out air, which removes some of the reverb and provides a more spacious feel to the sound – I’ll continue speaking about this in more detail in the sound section.

    There is ample stress relief where the cable meets the housing, and for this price range, there’s not much else I could ask for in that regard.

    P1000990.jpg P1000991.jpg

    The cable itself is braided before the Y-split, and regular (unbraided) after the split. I like the look of this thin, but braided wire; I just wish though that it would provide more protection from microphonics, as that’s what I thought braided cables are meant for. Either way, it has a nice, classy look that I really like, and that’s what counts. [​IMG]

    The Y-split feels nice, and also is very light, so you don’t have to worry about the split weighing down the earphone too much. There is also stress relief leading up to the Y-split, and it seems overall well made.

    The Titan 1’s have a right-angled 3.5mm jack, and has nice stress relief there as well. I like the fact that it is made out of polished metal, and that DUNU completely opted for the right-angled jack in many of their products – it’s definitely more efficient with music plays, tablets, and smartphones, as the stress relief stays parallel to the device, rather than perpendicular to it, so including this practice greatly reduces the risk of breakage near the cable.

    TL;DR – the jack is nice, neat, and unobtrusive. A thumbs up from me here.

    P1020004.jpg P1020007.jpg P1020009.jpg P1020014.jpg


    Overall, the build quality is top-notch, and this is a hallmark or DUNU’s workmanship. It certainly seems long lasting, so potential buyers should not be worried about breaking the headphone, or tearing the cable. The design, while looking somewhat quirky, really works in your ear, and that’s what counts.


    Fit & Comfort:

    Like I was saying earlier, the unique “half in-ear” shape of the Titan 1’s really provide a great fit in your ear. While only the tip goes into your ear canal, the Titan 1’s remained in my ear even when I tried shaking it out, and I’m able to wear it for over an hour with no discomfort. I’ve went with the default tips, as they are the ones that worked best for me straight out of the box. I’m sure that using foam tips will probably provide a better seal, but I can’t say how and in what ways they will affect the sound signature. Probably more bass with a slight sacrifice in detail.

    Comfort wise, I have no complaints. The tips are comfortable enough in my ear for long listening sessions, and because of the snug fit, I’m more prone to using these on the go than other earphones I have – just pop ‘em in and let them stay. I have no problems with the metal housing touching the back of my ear, but YMMV.

    The tips go more into my ear than usual IEM’s do (for me, anyway), so people who like a shallow fit will probably have to compromise on a deeper fit for this one. Keep in mind that the deeper fit affects microphonics, and I’ll touch on that later.

    It is important to note that the Titan 1’s can only be worn down, due to its design, so around-the-ear IEM enthusiasts should make note of it before buying the Titan 1’s. However, it doesn't seem to budge from my ear worn down, so I'm not sure there's much reason why someone would want to wear it around the ear to begin with, besides for reduced microphonics.

    Overall, I’m really digging the fit the Titan 1’s provide, and I’m more than willing to sacrifice the looks when they are on the table for a really snug fit in my ear. In the ear, other people can’t really notice the “half in-ear” design, so these actually look very normal when being worn.

    Isolation & Microphonics:


    As a semi-open earphone, there is inevitable sub-average isolation. This is a tradeoff for the sound it provides; BUT it's still something that potential buyers should know about. You won’t be using these to block out noise on the bus or train, but it is great for more quiet places on the go, where you can’t always bring a bulky over-ear headphone with you. The form factor of an IEM makes it a great choice to just chuck-and-go, and the Titan 1’s are no exception.

    Unfortunately, the Titan 1’s cable (or the deeper fit of the tips, I’m not really sure) does create considerable microphonics, even with the braided cable. Since the Titan 1’s can’t be worn over the ear, there’s no getting around it. However, DUNU does provide a shirt clip, which reduces the microphonics overall. I would have still liked there to be less, as not everyone likes using a shirt clip. Since this is a problem central to many, if not most IEM's (especially those which have the tips deeper in the ear canal), I can't fault DUNU here, or any company in particular. I just hope we find a good way to solve this problem with IEM's soon.

    Sound:


    While I didn't burn-in the Titan 1’s as much as they recommended on the general forums, I did put this through ~10 hours of burn-in tracks – frequency sweeps, frequency shapes, white noise, pink noise, brown noise, baby noise (gotta love new cousins), you name it. And since I'm pretty darn pleased with the sound (spoiler alert), I hope my impressions are worth something here.

    I listened to the Titan 1’s with the Shozy Alien player, as well as my Cowon J3. Amplification is for a later section, stay tuned

    Bass/Lows: The Titan 1’s have a punchy lower regions that is quite layered. It does have a bit of a boost, primarily in the mid-bass region, however in the long run you’ll actually want this, and does not by any means obstruct the rest of the frequency. The lower end of the frequency ends up being nuanced, and has nice “thump” like sound. It’s controlled quite well, although I did hear from many people that a large amount of burn-in (which I unfortunately was not able to do yet) most definitely improves the bass control even more.

    Think of it like an AKG K7XX type of bass – true, it has a boost, but because of the open back design, the lower region helps create an enveloping sound that is the envy of many headphones. The same goes with the Titan 1’s; it’s semi-open design helps it smooth out, so to say, and it never feels too much, only large enough to give life to the music.

    I’m happy with the bass. It’s not every day where you have an IEM with an elevated bass that is this enjoyable. And by “enjoyable”, I don’t mean “fun”, because that’s a term used to describe bass-heavy headphones that any non-basshead feels overpowers the frequency. No, the Titan 1’s are enjoyable, and I mean that coming from a balanced listening perspective. I am by no means a basshead, so feel confident that you’ll enjoy the lows if you’re a balanced listener too.

    Mids/Vocals: I’m not much of a vocal fan, so I can’t comment on the “magic” certain vocals have. However, on the Titan 1’s they have a nice amount of clarity, and although they take an ever-so-slight beating from the elevated bass, they are as enjoyable and as detailed as ever to me. However, on a few tracks, they due sound *slightly* thin, but nothing that’s very noticeable to me.

    Pianos sound SO good on the Titan 1’s – I can listen to them for literally hours on this little IEM, and probably will. Gosh, the musical sound of the Titan 1’s will make this one a winner for me. I could not even tell from pianos the slight V-shape frequency that the Titan 1 has; piano performances sound incredibly balanced, and are full of emotion. I would ramble on and on about this, but I now have to re-listen to Final Fantasy 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 10-2, and 11 piano collections, so pardon me, but I have a lot of listening to do in the next two days.

    Reluctantly moving on to guitars, they also sound well done, and definitely feel fuller due to the capable bass. They have a musical feel, which is definitely a strong suite of the Titan 1’s. They also have a good amount of clarity, despite the helping hand from the bass.

    Highs: The highs definitely don’t seem bright to me – they are well-refined and textured though. Drums sound great, and well as violins. They are just short of crisp – but they are clear, and I enjoy them a lot as well.

    Clarity: The Titan 1’s, I’m happy to say, don’t sound “closed in” like many other IEM’s I’ve tried – this is probably due to its semi-open design. So if you’re looking for an IEM while looking to stay away from the dreaded “veil” that very often comes with it, the Titan 1’s should be near the top of your list.

    Soundstage: Very spacious, due to the semi-open design. The sound is wide as well as deep, but I can’t help but have the impression that the sound seems to be coming from a slightly “taller” place than I’m used to, and the left/right sounds are a little bit behind center – but this is a refreshing take on the sound, and by no means bad. Just a little different is all.

    However, the sound definitely doesn’t seem to feel closed in at all, and soundstage here is bigger than most IEM’s I’ve experienced, price range or not. Definitely one of the strongest points of the Titan 1.

    Detail: Despite being quite detailed, it is at the end of the day a $115 IEM, and sometimes it’s easy to forget that. The detail is good for its price range, but isn’t the crowning glory of this IEM. However, I have no complaints with it, so do not take this as one.

    Frequency Shape: I would say the Titan-1’s are slightly V-shaped, but the midrange definitely does not take the backseat in my listening experience with these. Think V-shaped in slight quantities, but not in how laid back the sound is.

    Overall Tonality: The Titan 1’s are quite balanced, and really good sounding in general. They are a very "musical" IEM In my experience, and give “life” to the music, so to speak. It has a little bit of a warm sound, but the open design makes sure it’s only slight, and keeps a nice distance so whatever you're listening to isn’t exactly in your face. I would say that the open design transforms “warm” to “lush”, and if I had to describe it, that’s the word I would use – a word that I’ll probably never use in real life, but it’s the best I can do to describe the Titan 1’s.

    Separation: I would have thought that the instrument separation would take a little bit of a beating due to the Titan 1’s musical take on sound, and that it’s inevitable with the type of tonality it wants to produce – but it surprised me here with being quite decent, despite its musicality, and especially despite its price. I was very happily surprised when finding this out. Guitars/orchestras/pianos/vocals etc. are all able to be parsed out. Definitely something I’m a fan of here.

    Coherency & Flow: Excellent. The musical nature of the Titan 1 makes this top notch, and has a beautiful flow that is very hard to match. The crowning glory of the Titan 1 in my opinion - just sit back and listen, you'll forget this is in your ear at all. ‘Nough said.

    Hiss: I really don’t get hiss with this, even on the Shozy Alien, which is quite hiss prone with sensitive IEM’s. These don’t seem to be sensitive at all, and because of this, my volume is slightly higher with the Titan 1 than with, say, the DN-2000J.

    EQ: Don’t. Just… no. It sounds so great without, I’m skipping this section.

    Genre Recommendations: Piano, piano and piano, of course. And violin, and guitar. Frankly, all instrumental music I’ve tried with the Titan 1 was nothing short of amazing in this price range. Classical (violin) orchestras performed much better than what I thought it would; the elevated bass is not showing at all with my classical music, which is strange, but works. In short, I would be very comfortable using this for classical music, and it has the slight treble clarity that is integral to this specific genre. Standard electronic music sounded great with these. EDM specifically is a bit too bassy for my tastes at this point in time, but I have a hunch this will improve with ample burn-in, so this isn’t the last word on this genre. Hip hop, and other vocal-centric genres, aren’t exactly the strong suites of the Titan 1, but they don’t sound bad by any means. Rap sounds great due to the Titan 1’s elevated bass, and male rappers have a nice edge to their voices here. Jazz sounds good here as well, but due to the near-crisp highs, they can sound a bit harsher in this genre than what I would want them to be.

    Basically, acoustic music is its strong point, although it performs well with a variety of genres. This IEM is more geared for the musical listener rather than the analytical one (looking at you DN-2000J), due to its musical flow, but it has enough for attentive listeners to enjoy as well.

    Sound Summary: The Titan 1’s sound amazing for its price, and it’s just so easy to recommend these. They are geared towards a more musical perspective - however, they tick off all the right boxes and then some. The semi-open design gives this a really refreshing sound that I could listen to for hours. They are simply great sounding, and I am very interested to see how these will change for the better with the churn' and burn-in. If there would be one section would say gets a bit left behind the others, it would be the vocals. This is YMMV though, and as an instrumental listener, I’m not really qualified as other head-fi’ers to comment on this.

    Amplification:

    At 16 ohms, these don’t really need amplification, and are well-driven by most source players. While I did not see a positive difference with my Fiio E12 (and actually I preferred the sound without it), I have to tell you though that the Shozy Alien -> Meier Corda HA-2 -> Titan 1 had me drooling. The most noticeable differences were primarily in a bigger and more realistic soundstage (standard amp pros), and a buttery smooth bass. However, amplification is really not a necessary factor here, with its output impedance, and if you are going to use an amp, make sure it’s a decently transparent one.

    Value & Conclusion:

    At $115, this IEM is an absolute steal. Its buttery and smooth sound is way above its price range, and has me forgetting time and time again how relatively cheap they are, given their performance. The build quality is top notch, and the innovative design definitely brings many benefits to the table, in terms of both comfort and sound. As a drawback of this otherwise wonderful design, one thing to keep in mind is that they don’t isolate very well, so don’t buy these thinking that they will block everyone else out. Keeping that in mind, though, for someone who wants both amazing sound and phenomenal comfort in a pocket’s reach, I cannot recommend these more at this price range.

    P1020041.jpg P1020038.jpg P1020039.jpg

    - Avishai Zitron
    1. Wildcatsare1
      Great review, Avitron142, really enjoy mine working out or mowing the lawn.
      Wildcatsare1, Jun 14, 2015
  10. Tom22
    Attack of the Titan Part 1: Holographic Space! Highly Recommended!
    Written by Tom22
    Published Jun 5, 2015
    5.0/5,
    Pros - Fairly balanced sound with a bit of flair in the bass & treble, Great build quality, comfortable, low isolation, nice accessories
    Cons - low isolation, upper mids a bit peaky, could use a bit more subbass
    The last few years, Dunu had incredible success with their hybrid multidriver earphones such as the DN 1000, DN 2000, and at the time of writing this, the DN2000J seems to be following suit with it’s predecessors.
    So when I heard of the release of the Titan 1s, I was very intrigued on how DUNU was going to replicate the success they had with their hybrid earphones in a 13 mm titanium coated dynamic driver, with a half in ear/earbud design.
     
    We’ll lets find out! Before I begin I liked to thank DUNU for sending a sample of the Titan 1s out for an honest review. I am not paid for this review nor affiliated with DUNU.
    Below is my video review of the Dunu Titan 1s, if you enjoyed the video- please subscribe, like, and share + comment*
     
    Titan 3: http://www.head-fi.org/products/dunu-titan-3/reviews/15085
    Titan 5: http://www.head-fi.org/products/dunu-titan-5/reviews/15084
     
    [​IMG]
     
    Accessories:
    The Titan 1s come with a nice array of accessories. They include:
    1. 1 hard shelled carrying case (with a rubber interior, for better protection for the earphones)
    2. 1 shirt clip
    3. 1 ¼ inch adapter
    4. In terms of eartips: *the eartips included I felt make the Titans 1 vary in tuning slightly.
      1. 3 sets of the black-multicoloured hybrid silicone eartips- darker & bassier
      2. 3 sets of the grey-red hybrid silicone eartips- most v shaped
      3. 3 pair of black wide bore silicone eartips most –most revealing, open forward*
    Overall: 9/10
     
    Design
    The Titan 1 has a very clean and quite elegant design. I find its quite difficulty to pull off a silver metal housing design without looking gaudy. I believe that DUNU has pulled it off! The surface is has smooth finish, like well-polished chrome, exuding a premium feel. The right and left earpieces are easy distinguished with colored rim around the earpiece (L-Blue, R-Red).
    Overall: 8.5/10
     
    Build Quality
    The Titans are just fantastic! They have a fully metal housing with an angle metal nozzle that feels a bit weighty in the hand, but just oozes quality. The earphones are nicely reinforced as whole. The top half of the cable has a rubber sheath that I found quite supple and flexible, while the bottom half of the cable is a fabric wrapped, for added durability.  The bottom half of the cable also comes attached with a cable management system (which I found very useful and quite unique) allowing the cables to be wrapped neatly into the hard shell carrying case. Lastly, as stated above, the L shape jack is elegantly built with a relatively slim body for easy entry into thicker smartphone cases, without any added bulk.
    Overall: 9/10
     
    Comfort
    The Titans are very comfortable, as they can be easily inserted and removed effortlessly. They have a shallow insertion, so those sensitive to shoving things in to their ear, shouldn’t have any concerns over the Titans. The body of the housing is rather large, with a little edge where the front and back of the housing meet, so my ears did feel a small sore spot after 2 hours or so.  However, I would like it if the nozzle was just a bit longer, which would really make them disappear in my ears. (this can be alleviated with longer aftermarket eartips if needed).
    Overall: 8/10
     
    Isolation
    This category is subject to debate, because it would depend on the environment you are intending to use the Titans. The Titan’s design has multiple vents (which helps with its acoustic properties) but as a result the isolation to be quite poor. I believe the Titan 1s was intended for use at home or in quiet neighborhoods, to allow for good situational awareness. This means that I wouldn’t recommend the Titans for noisy environments (ex busing, subway, noisy cafes)
    Overall:If you want to be isolated from the world- 5/10
    Overall: If you want to be aware of your surroundings- 9/10
     
    Sound
    Thankfully, the sound makes up for its lack of isolation, as the Titans 1s has quickly shot up the ranks with my top favorite earphones, the VSONIC GR07BE, Hifiman RE400. They are perfect for when I’m in the mood for some excitement, while still retaining a clean, open sound. 
    *I was told the Titans improve after about 200hrs of burn in/ listening time- To my ear, I did not detect any changes compared to the “out of the box” sound of the Titans.*
     
    Bass
    The Titan’s bass is slightly elevated in the midbass, but nowhere near enough what I considered basshead in terms of quantity, and remains very linear down low.. However, the bass is tight, fast with enough thickness to be very satisfying for bassy music, but not so much as to intrude into quieter passages. The bass has good extension down low, with enough visceral “grunt” to satisfy me.  The midbass has nice presence, and I feel it’s the good combination of quantity and quality (while creeping up a bit in the midrange, the thickness it provided was more then welcome (I prefer it), while remaining nicely balanced, and proportioned to the midrange and the treble.
     
    Midrange
    The midrange is a bit thinner and drier in its presentation, however it retains good warmth to sound natural, while staying very clear as well.  I feel that the upper midrange can cause female vocals can sound a bit peaky at times (depending on the tip used)(This can be alleviated with the use of comply foam tips, I trialed the T-400s with very good results). However, once acclimated to the Titans, I miss the energy it brought when comparing to other earphones that have a dip in this region.
     
    Treble
    The treble of the Titans is clean and crisp with very good resolution. The treble is well extended, refined with plenty of air, shimmer and detail. Again, the Titans are just good, clean fun.
     
    Soundstage
    This aspect is definitely the Titan 1’s calling card, as the soundstage is superb as it images well with a great sense of air and space, with great separation. The soundstage lends well for acoustic music for a nice sense of ambiance, while providing allowing EDM to run freely and effortlessly.
     
    Compared to the VSONIC VSD5 ($60-70)
    The Dunu Titan 1 has a tighter bass, with a more refined treble, and the soundstage is more open and expansive, the midrange is also warmer.
    Firstly, the VSD5 has a stronger subbass, and on the other end, the treble is also less refined, and conveys a “splashier” presentation. VSD5 can come across as a bit analytical compared to the Titan 1s because of the cooler presentation in the midrange.
    On the other hand, the VSD5 provides much better isolation than the DUNU, so I feel the VSD5 would be better suited in noisier applications.
     
    Comparing them to the Hifiman RE400 (retail $99. Now ~$79)
    I felt that Titan 1s are more interesting to listen to. The Titan 1 has a more elevated bass, and the treble was more textured and detailed. The RE400s treble seems “grainer” and less clean.
    That said the RE400s are a smoother listen overall, with a more midforward sound. The upper mids don’t have that “edge” that the Titan 1s exhibits, which makes the midrange “thinner” sounding. It has a more centred imaging which some may prefer whereas the Titans could be attributed as “disperse”.  I find I could fall asleep listening to the RE400s over the Titan 1s. (though its nowhere near as well built as the Titan 1s).
     
    Comparing to the GR07Be (retail $179.99. now ~$120)
    The Gr07BE has is tighter in the bass with a slightly more pronounced subbass and fuller in comparison.  Where as on the Titan 1s, there seems to be more emphasis on the midbass, allowing for more solid weight and punch while retaining a good control as well.
    The upper mids on the Titan 1s have a more emphasis then the GR07BE, so this may result in some detractors finding them a bit harsh for female vocals and cymbals, but it retains great clarity despite this.Comparing the treble, the Gr07BE have a thinner “papery” texture to the treble, where as the Titan 1s have a bit more of a “metallic shimmer”. In terms of soundstage, I find the Titans to be more expansive, and better at portraying depth than the GR07BE.
    Overall: 9.5/10
     
    Conclusion
    While I can’t say that the Titans 1s are made for everyone. They are not for those looking to isolate themselves from the outside world, nor are they for those sensitive to emphasized upper mids- lower treble, which can be a bit bright for some.
     
    However, for everyone else, I can’t think of a better earphone bring the same level of a bit of excitement and energy, while still remaining very clean and articulate as well. Added with the fact that they have superb build quality, with a comfortable fit that can slip in and out of my ears easily. This makes the Titans 1 easily one of my go to earphone, a earphone that can compete toe to toe the likes of VSonic Gr07BE and Hifiman RE400, and that’s a great place to be! Superb Job Dunu!
     
    Final Score:
    Those seeking more isolation: 49/60=81.7%
    Those wanting less isolation: 53/60= 88.3%
    1. View previous replies...
    2. Tom22
      @H20Fidelity thank you very much! I enjoy making them! still working on my video editing skills (which a year or so ago, was non- existent).
      Tom22, Jun 7, 2015
    3. Tom22
      @DJScope thank you!!
       
      @getclikinagas thank you, I certainly hopes so! my writing definitely could use work!
      Tom22, Jun 7, 2015
    4. Decommo
      @Tom22 Great Review and I found your review from Amazon. I am keen to purchase either Titan 1 or DN 2000. Which one do you think is better? i am mainly listening Accoustic, female vocal, Hard-Rock and Electronics. I do not listen classical. Noise isolation is not major concern since I will be using mainly at home. Look forward to hear your thoughts. Thank you. 
      Decommo, Jan 25, 2016