Wolfson DAC confirmed for Galaxy S3!
post-8778711
Post #841 of 947

kskwerl

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Messages
1,597
Reaction score
24
Joined
Nov 14, 2011
Posts
1,597
Likes
24
Quote:
Sadly, no CM based ROM supports USB audio at this time. You can install two ROMs with the latest build of the Siyah kernel though. Use a Touch wiz ROM for media and CM for everything else.
If you don't mind, which ROM are you using paired with Siyah kernel?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8780752
Post #842 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
Quote:
Is the audio settings in the siyah kernel, the same as it will be when Voodoo get upgraded to support the s3. I have only used it with my old LG optimus 2x, and it didn't have all the sound settings.
i think itll have more options. read somewhere that siyah implemented something like a port of voodoo from the s2 which has a different dac so it should have more options available.i could be wrong...anyone else guilty of using the 3d setting?lol
 
     Share This Post       
post-8781203
Post #843 of 947

nnotis

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Messages
515
Reaction score
35
Joined
Jun 22, 2007
Posts
515
Likes
35
Foxhound Essential has been my primary ROM. It's based off of Touchwiz. As soon as the gokhanmoral releases Siyah 1.7rc1 I'll install Paranoid as a second ROM. In my opinion, Paranoid is without equal in terns of interface.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8781323
Post #844 of 947
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
1,611
Reaction score
154
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Posts
1,611
Likes
154
Yeah I tried one of those "stock" Jelly Bean roms on my AT&T GS3. I hate little niggles in my OS though. They all had such tiny little issues, like the gallery closing when accessed from the browser, or getting hung up while connecting to wifi. I mean, stock ICS is still 90% as fast without any little nagging issues. Plus I know that DAC capability is all set on stock...

Kojaku
 
     Share This Post       
post-8781428
Post #845 of 947

danny93

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
903
Reaction score
34
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Posts
903
Likes
34
For those who havent tried it already...you need to at least try Liquid Jelly Bean http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1820543
Quote:
i think itll have more options. read somewhere that siyah implemented something like a port of voodoo from the s2 which has a different dac so it should have more options available.i could be wrong...anyone else guilty of using the 3d setting?lol
He used a port from the S1 which has pretty much an identical DAC...I really cant see there being many more features available if/when Voodoo comes out tbh, I mean gain control and hardware EQ are the 2 most important things in Voodoo IMO and these are working flawlessly with Siyah! 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8783637
Post #846 of 947

ClausG76

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Posts
22
Likes
11
Hello
I'm going to encode a lot of flac files to either lame vbr q0 or Nero aac q65. After doing some test listenings on my s3, I decided that the aac files is the choice, because the files are smaller without me being able to tell the difference. But what about battery consumption, are the s3 able to hardware decode both formats?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8783802
Post #847 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
all my files are in flac and i can prolly listen to an hour of music on the bus and lose abt 2-4% battery turning on the screen everynow and then cuz i dont really use playlists im sure aac will be better.headphones are 32ohm so dont require much juice either.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8785332
Post #848 of 947

virtu

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Posts
5
Likes
0
Hi,
 
A couple of weeks ago my Galaxy S dies then I had a change to get an international S3 (I9300). When I got it in my hands I took off the original ROM and put a Jelly Bean stock with stock kernel.
 
So, at this moment my set of headphones are a Kiplisch S4 (outdoor use) and a Sennheiser HD555 (home use) and I'd like to know if the S3 can drive them well? Or do you guys suggest me to get a new set of headphones?
 
Thanks.
 
Edit: this is only my 4th post here...
 
     Share This Post       
post-8789488
Post #849 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
anyone else thinks that the stock in ears sound pretty damn good with siyah?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8789588
Post #850 of 947

danny93

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
903
Reaction score
34
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Posts
903
Likes
34
Quote:
Hi,
 
A couple of weeks ago my Galaxy S dies then I had a change to get an international S3 (I9300). When I got it in my hands I took off the original ROM and put a Jelly Bean stock with stock kernel.
 
So, at this moment my set of headphones are a Kiplisch S4 (outdoor use) and a Sennheiser HD555 (home use) and I'd like to know if the S3 can drive them well? Or do you guys suggest me to get a new set of headphones?
 
Thanks.
 
Edit: this is only my 4th post here...
 
Hey,
 
If you install Siyah kernel it will drive them easily (it has a gain boost)...its pretty much Voodoo sound for the S3 (not sure if you had it on the S1) 
 
You will need to be rooted to install Siyah...theres loads of tutorials on xda and youtube etc
 
     Share This Post       
post-8791644
Post #851 of 947

virtu

New Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
Joined
Aug 20, 2011
Posts
5
Likes
0
Quote:
 
Hey,
 
If you install Siyah kernel it will drive them easily (it has a gain boost)...its pretty much Voodoo sound for the S3 (not sure if you had it on the S1) 
 
You will need to be rooted to install Siyah...theres loads of tutorials on xda and youtube etc
 
Thanks danny93.
 
In S1 I had Voodoo Sound and that was great... reallly great sq... Now with S3 I will put Siyah, just have to read some tutorials and information about it =)
 
Tks again.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8791711
Post #852 of 947

NZtechfreak

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Messages
3,238
Reaction score
618
Joined
Jan 19, 2012
Posts
3,238
Likes
618
Quote:
 
Thanks danny93.
 
In S1 I had Voodoo Sound and that was great... reallly great sq... Now with S3 I will put Siyah, just have to read some tutorials and information about it =)
 
Tks again.
 
Siyah is a simple kernel flash, nothing difficult there.
 
My site androidnz.net has a good guide for rooting the S3, after that I would just use Mobile Odin (Pro) for flashing things on-device - makes life a lot easier.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8792176
Post #853 of 947

Emospence

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Messages
794
Reaction score
17
Joined
Apr 7, 2012
Posts
794
Likes
17
What's a good music player app that's free?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8792264
Post #854 of 947

Duncan

Headphoneus Supremus
Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
13,179
Reaction score
1,373
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
13,179
Likes
1,373
Well, looks like I know longer own an S3...
 
Had what appears to be a semi-common fault come up on it (flashing blue message light, cannot turn on screen, pull battery - doesn't work at all) - cannot got into recovery mode or otherwise - which obviously means if I take it for service that they'll see its been rooted (although I did use 'Triangle Away' so I guess it depends on what the service engineers look at!??!?!?)...
 
...This was not from a new rom installation (had been sat with Foxhound ICS 'Final' since it was released), just a general failure...
 
...I guess before I condemn the S3 to total death, do you guys think that where I used Triangle Away that the service techs (assuming they don't just bin the handset) will just see that it shows as an 'official rom', and that that will be enough to stop them from stinging me for a warranty void repair??
 
     Share This Post       
post-8792380
Post #855 of 947

Szadzik

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Messages
2,271
Reaction score
33
Joined
Dec 19, 2009
Posts
2,271
Likes
33
Quote:
Well, looks like I know longer own an S3...
 
Had what appears to be a semi-common fault come up on it (flashing blue message light, cannot turn on screen, pull battery - doesn't work at all) - cannot got into recovery mode or otherwise - which obviously means if I take it for service that they'll see its been rooted (although I did use 'Triangle Away' so I guess it depends on what the service engineers look at!??!?!?)...
 
...This was not from a new rom installation (had been sat with Foxhound ICS 'Final' since it was released), just a general failure...
 
...I guess before I condemn the S3 to total death, do you guys think that where I used Triangle Away that the service techs (assuming they don't just bin the handset) will just see that it shows as an 'official rom', and that that will be enough to stop them from stinging me for a warranty void repair??
 
Have you tried unbricking it at all? Cannot be done with ODIN?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top