Wolfson DAC confirmed for Galaxy S3!
post-8757449
Post #811 of 947

ClausG76

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Posts
22
Likes
11
Yes i did. I don't think it's software related. I was searching on Google. And came by a thread, where somebody wrote that, the jack plug is a true 1/8", and a lot of the jack plugs doesn't have the right size. I would that the phone has the wrong size. A lot of people has problems with plug. I was trying to find out if I had a bad phone.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8757488
Post #812 of 947

ClausG76

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Messages
22
Reaction score
11
Joined
Oct 2, 2012
Posts
22
Likes
11
Ok just tested with my wife's iPhone 4s it acts just the same. I guess it was just a coincidence that it worked with my LG. Guess I'm going to bye some new phones. Just hope they will fit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8757696
Post #813 of 947

Travelbug

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
123
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Posts
123
Likes
10
Does jb give better sound than ics?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Could this have been fixed by ics custom kernels? I'm using siyah 1.5.2 on stock ics with my vsonic gr07 bass and aiaiai capitals and I don't here any hiss.
I've been holding off from upgrading to jb since it seems to have some issues still. Better sound and better battery (which jb doesnt have) are the only two things that would make me upgrade.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

 
     Share This Post       
post-8757879
Post #814 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
no probs with jb here.but i havent tried it on ics so i could be wrong
 
     Share This Post       
post-8757884
Post #815 of 947

Duncan

Headphoneus Supremus
Moderator
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Messages
13,179
Reaction score
1,373
Joined
Jun 26, 2001
Posts
13,179
Likes
1,373
Quote:
Could this have been fixed by ics custom kernels? I'm using siyah 1.5.2 on stock ics with my vsonic gr07 bass and aiaiai capitals and I don't here any hiss.
I've been holding off from upgrading to jb since it seems to have some issues still. Better sound and better battery (which jb doesnt have) are the only two things that would make me upgrade.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
True enough point there, I picked up the N7100 (Note 2) yesterday, and whilst I can hear that the Note 2 sounds cleaner as stock compared to the S3, it sounds nowhere near as convincing / powerful when compared to the S3 (ICS) with Seriyah Kernel with the mandatory tweaks.
 
[edit] as an aside, am charging up my Fiio E17 to see if there is a vain hope that JB on the N7100 will allow E17 playback...  If I don't reply, you know the news is predicetbly bad
 
     Share This Post       
post-8759330
Post #816 of 947

drjoefo

New Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Joined
Oct 7, 2012
Posts
1
Likes
0
Hi my first post on the forum, although I've been reading it for some time now and have taken my first (amazing) steps into HiFi audio world! Thanks to the community :)
 
Not sure if this is this is the right place to ask, or if this has been answered already. I was using my S3 and iBasso D-zero with the stock Samsung ROM, which was pretty good. Recently I've changed to CM10, which I really like and the Siyah 1.6.8 kernel. Is there anyway I can use a USB DAC with this configuration?
 
     Share This Post       
post-8759477
Post #817 of 947

DGriff0400

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Messages
245
Reaction score
17
Joined
Jun 14, 2012
Posts
245
Likes
17
dont think so.y not use samsung jelly bean? touch whiz would support the usb otg
 
     Share This Post       
post-8759677
Post #818 of 947

Travelbug

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
123
Reaction score
10
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Posts
123
Likes
10
Hi my first post on the forum, although I've been reading it for some time now and have taken my first (amazing) steps into HiFi audio world! Thanks to the community :)
 
Not sure if this is this is the right place to ask, or if this has been answered already. I was using my S3 and iBasso D-zero with the stock Samsung ROM, which was pretty good. Recently I've changed to CM10, which I really like and the Siyah 1.6.8 kernel. Is there anyway I can use a USB DAC with this configuration?

Is there a big difference in sq between just the s3-siyah and using the dzero?

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

 
     Share This Post       
post-8760741
Post #819 of 947

elfary

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
1,520
Reaction score
121
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Posts
1,520
Likes
121
Did those background noises that appear once in a while when playing music with the screen turned off got fixed at some point ?
 
That's what has had me holding back for months.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8761383
Post #820 of 947

danny93

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
903
Reaction score
34
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Posts
903
Likes
34
Quote:
Did those background noises that appear once in a while when playing music with the screen turned off got fixed at some point ?
 
That's what has had me holding back for months.
Yeh that got fixed ages ago haha 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8761435
Post #821 of 947

elfary

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
1,520
Reaction score
121
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Posts
1,520
Likes
121
When and how it got fixed ? what would i have to do with a stock s3 ? thanks
 
     Share This Post       
post-8766997
Post #822 of 947

danny93

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
903
Reaction score
34
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Posts
903
Likes
34
It got fixed through an OTA update...I think Gokhan (dev of Siyah kernel) got it fixed first, no idea what he did to fix it...but no hissing anymore! 
 
Check for a software update on your phone...if you have or havent got one I would personally either way root it and install a custom ROM and flash Siyah kernel after, it will give better SQ and also allows you to use the 5 band hardware EQ in the Woolfson DAC aswell as adding a ton of features and customisation! This is only for the international model though! 
 
Instructions for rooting: 
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1911726
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1701770
 
If you have any issues shoot me a PM I´ll be happy to help
 
     Share This Post       
post-8767029
Post #823 of 947

elfary

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
1,520
Reaction score
121
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Posts
1,520
Likes
121
Quote:
It got fixed through an OTA update...I think Gokhan (dev of Siyah kernel) got it fixed first, no idea what he did to fix it...but no hissing anymore! 
 
Check for a software update on your phone...if you have or havent got one I would personally either way root it and install a custom ROM and flash Siyah kernel after, it will give better SQ and also allows you to use the 5 band hardware EQ in the Woolfson DAC aswell as adding a ton of features and customisation! This is only for the international model though! 
 
Instructions for rooting: 
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1911726
or
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1701770
 
If you have any issues shoot me a PM I´ll be happy to help

 Thanks a lot for such a detailed info. Actually i don't have an S3 yet because of that background chatter :wink:
 
Thus now S3 is back in the pool along with the Note 2.
 
     Share This Post       
post-8767038
Post #824 of 947

danny93

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Messages
903
Reaction score
34
Joined
Sep 20, 2010
Posts
903
Likes
34
Quote:
 Thanks a lot for such a detailed info. Actually i don't have an S3 yet because of that background chatter :wink:
 
Thus now S3 is back in the pool along with the Note 2.
Ahh...
 
Well I couldnt possibly deal with a phone any bigger than the S3...just food for thought! 
 
     Share This Post       
post-8767069
Post #825 of 947

elfary

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Messages
1,520
Reaction score
121
Joined
Sep 29, 2005
Posts
1,520
Likes
121
I'm not sure i could deal with a Note 2 but as current iPhone 4S 64gb owner if get rid of it for the screen i'd want the biggest one around :wink: Still weighing it anyway since S3 is tempting as well and more manageable.
 
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top