Trying to find a nice set of portable headphones
Nov 25, 2010 at 12:55 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 1

NeoReaper

New Head-Fier
Been an avid reader of headfi for many, many years but this is my first post. I'm trying to find a pair of headphones that offers good isolation and decent potability. I've been using a pair on Sony eggos mdr-d66sl since I graduated highschool. I am now 29 years old, they've served me very well, in fact I still use them today on a daily basis. The problem is I know that it is only a matter of time before they will break on me. I love them dearly and it pains me to know that they are no longer made. I've tried quite a number on headphones over these years in an attempt to find a suitable replacement but I never found something that sounded quite like them. So far I've tried audio technica es7, audio technica a700, audio technica a900, etymotic er6i, etymotic er4p, sony d777 atlus, and beats by dr dre tour. Unfortunately none of them quite fit what I'm looking for...

The es7's were average, I didn't like the way the bass sounded, it didn't offer enough isolation, and I found them quite uncomfortable. They weren't as portable as I hoped. Some ppl like the fold flat design but I prefer the way eggos fold into a small ball because it can fit in any of my jacket pockets with ease.

The a700's and a900's were great but unfortunately they aren't remotely portable. I preferred the sound of the a900's over everthing I've used, but I couldn't justify the cost over the a700's which sounded similar to me, so I ended up keeping a pair of a700's for home use.

The er6i's were my first pair of in ear monitors I had ever used and I was quite amazed by the sound but it was a bit muddy when compared to the d66's that I'm use to using, I kept them and gave them to my GF which she enjoys very much.