Thoughts on Building a Collection
Jul 24, 2011 at 12:22 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 6

franconero

Head-Fier
I'm just beginning to get into quality headphones and have started out with Sennheiser HD598's and am really happy with them and my new Schiit Asgard. I can already feel however a sort of pull to buy another pair. I'd like to know how all of you who have multiple headphones approach this - does one simply climb the ladder, or does it make sense to buy something with a sort of different sound signature entirely for contrast?
I get that a hobby like this is all about chasing ever better sound, but if that was the whole thing each new purchase would be simply replacing the last. So... is there something out there that would make a nice compliment to the HD598, or, should I just get the HD650 and move up the line?

Jul 24, 2011 at 12:29 AM Post #2 of 6
Depends on what you like. I prefer to have different sound sigs and contrast. But I also climb the ladder when I find a "superior" headphone that is clearly a step up from the previous model I have that was in that sound slot. I usually sell the older headphone off (for instance, HD650 -> LCD2).  But I keep different sound sigs, still have a K701 in the stable, etc.

I also get different headphones for different situations.  I have slots for portable headphones, and slots for those solely for home use. You'll figure this all out yourself. Some like to have an array of weapons to choose from to fit the situations they face on a daily basis.

You might just need one headphone and keep climbing up. Nobody can tell you what is right for you, except for yourself.

BTW, I have not heard the HD598 but I don't think it shares the same sound sig as the HD650. From what I've read on the HD598, The HD650 is not a "step up the ladder" from the HD598, it's a different sound altogether. 

Jul 24, 2011 at 12:33 AM Post #3 of 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by franconero /img/forum/go_quote.gif