The FiiO X3 2nd gen (ex X3K, X3II) Thread : 192K/24B, CS4398,Native DSD, USB DAC with LO and inline remote
post-13265029
Post #9,556 of 9,945

Darren Cotter

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 11, 2014
Messages
3,089
Reaction score
340
Joined
May 11, 2014
Posts
3,089
Likes
340
Hi All
 
I've just bought a FiiO X3ii. I'll be using it for trips away and on the beach.
 
Can someone recommend an IEM for under £150 that would work well with it. I'm looking for a good amount of bass, but also detail.
 
Thanks in advance.
 
Regards
 
Darren
 
     Share This Post       
post-13265196
Post #9,557 of 9,945

JaZZ

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
May 9, 2002
Messages
9,698
Reaction score
1,668
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Joined
May 9, 2002
Location
Zürich, Switzerland
Posts
9,698
Likes
1,668
Age
70
FiiO EX-1. If you can live with relatively weak isolation and the need for equalizing to exhaust its potential.
 
My personal settings:
 
–5.6     –4.8     –3.2     –1.4     +0.4     +2       +4.2     –2       –4.6     +1.4
 
     Share This Post       
post-13266059
Post #9,560 of 9,945

Indigo Bob

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
971
Reaction score
294
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Posts
971
Likes
294
Any one recommend a good amp fo this? I currently have a Fiio E6 FiiO E6 Portable Audio Headphone Amplifier https://www.amazon.com/dp/B005HJWWW8/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_tai_W8vOybNTQCXZ2 I feel I need a little more power for the Audio-Technica ATH-R70x.
 
http://www.thetubestore.com/Parts-Accessories/Amps-and-Amp-Kits/Northern-Electric-Hybrid-Valve-Headphone-Amp

 
     Share This Post       
post-13266716
Post #9,561 of 9,945

trufunk

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
57
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Posts
57
Likes
13
[ATTACHMENT=4207]IMG_0865.JPG (1,759k. JPG file)[/ATTACHMENT]
Do I have this correct? Line out on the X3II to the line in on the Amp?
I do like the sound. So I can only control the sound from the amp volume knob? With everything attached the volume buttons on the player do not increase or decrease the volume?
 
     Share This Post       
post-13266860
Post #9,562 of 9,945

Indigo Bob

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
971
Reaction score
294
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Posts
971
Likes
294
 
Do I have this correct? Line out on the X3II to the line in on the Amp?
I do like the sound. So I can only control the sound from the amp volume knob? With everything attached the volume buttons on the player do not increase or decrease the volume?

That is correct...  X3ii--line out--line in--HVA.
 
The wonderful thing I have learned recently is that the X3ii has a 'Variable Line Out" option in the Play Settings so you can adjust the volume on both.  
 

 
     Share This Post       
post-13266931
Post #9,563 of 9,945

trufunk

Head-Fier
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
57
Reaction score
13
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Posts
57
Likes
13
That is correct...  X3ii--line out--line in--HVA.

The wonderful thing I have learned recently is that the X3ii has a 'Variable Line Out" option in the Play Settings so you can adjust the volume on both.  


Thanks! Indigo Bob!! I do need to get some thinner bands right now i have the two that came with the amp, but they kinda get in the way.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13268646
Post #9,564 of 9,945

xza23

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
15
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Posts
29
Likes
15
 
That is correct...  X3ii--line out--line in--HVA.
 
The wonderful thing I have learned recently is that the X3ii has a 'Variable Line Out" option in the Play Settings so you can adjust the volume on both.  
 
 what case is this? I have now the digins case.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13268690
Post #9,565 of 9,945

originalsnuffy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
2,612
Reaction score
1,113
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Posts
2,612
Likes
1,113
  Hi All
 
I've just bought a FiiO X3ii. I'll be using it for trips away and on the beach.
 
Can someone recommend an IEM for under £150 that would work well with it. I'm looking for a good amount of bass, but also detail.
 
Thanks in advance.
 
Regards
 
Darren
 
Well a great many IEM units will work with it.   At $150 pounds you could pick up the LZ-A4.  The reviews are good.  I have the LZ-A2 and its great (though discontinued).   My LZ-A4 was on order but the vendor wigged out.
 
I would be remiss in not mentioning the amazing value of the Carbo Tenore.  About $40 in the US.  Very balanced and musical.  Maybe a bit light on the very low bass end but overall quite pleasing.
 
But there are a ton of units at your price point that would be good.  I would avoid anything that is power hungry on general principles; though I never ran into power issues with my unit.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13268979
Post #9,566 of 9,945

Indigo Bob

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
971
Reaction score
294
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Posts
971
Likes
294
   what case is this? I have now the digins case.
 
http://tuff-luv.com/faux-leather-case-cover-for-fiio-x3-2nd-gen-mp3-inc-screen-protector-black.html
 
Works great.  I wrap the outer flap around my Amp when I stack it.
 
   
Well a great many IEM units will work with it.   At $150 pounds you could pick up the LZ-A4.  The reviews are good.  I have the LZ-A2 and its great (though discontinued).   My LZ-A4 was on order but the vendor wigged out.
 
I would be remiss in not mentioning the amazing value of the Carbo Tenore.  About $40 in the US.  Very balanced and musical.  Maybe a bit light on the very low bass end but overall quite pleasing.
 
But there are a ton of units at your price point that would be good.  I would avoid anything that is power hungry on general principles; though I never ran into power issues with my unit.
 
I second the LZ A4...  Very good IEM's.
 
     Share This Post       
post-13269696
Post #9,567 of 9,945

xza23

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Messages
29
Reaction score
15
Joined
Sep 12, 2016
Posts
29
Likes
15
   
http://tuff-luv.com/faux-leather-case-cover-for-fiio-x3-2nd-gen-mp3-inc-screen-protector-black.html
 
Works great.  I wrap the outer flap around my Amp when I stack it.
 
 
I second the LZ A4...  Very good IEM's.
 cool case , I don't like those flip cases , thanks anyways. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-13282763
Post #9,568 of 9,945

JediMa70

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
768
Reaction score
185
Location
Italy
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Location
Italy
Posts
768
Likes
185
Big question, to get more space I wanted to use OTG function, so is it worth to downgrade the FW from 2 to 1.4 or it's better to buy a bigger SSD? I'm using a 128 gb atm
 
     Share This Post       
post-13283018
Post #9,569 of 9,945

originalsnuffy

Headphoneus Supremus
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Messages
2,612
Reaction score
1,113
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Joined
Nov 7, 2008
Location
Upper Tundra, USA
Posts
2,612
Likes
1,113
  Big question, to get more space I wanted to use OTG function, so is it worth to downgrade the FW from 2 to 1.4 or it's better to buy a bigger SSD? I'm using a 128 gb atm
 
A few thoughts.  First, a working OTG USB stick adapter is about $4 so the cost of the experiment is fairly low.
No cost to downgrade to 1.4.   So I would suggest you give the OTG a try and see how it works for you.
If it does not meet your needs you did not exactly spend a ton and then you can buy a bigger card.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: JediMa70
post-13283921
Post #9,570 of 9,945

JediMa70

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Messages
768
Reaction score
185
Location
Italy
Joined
Nov 12, 2016
Location
Italy
Posts
768
Likes
185
  NEW ARIELP EDIT VERSION 4
based on FW2.0 FINAL X3II
 
Changelog:
V1
Here are the Changes compare to Factory Version
- Larger Font, with Normal Topbar Menu
- Better English Menu
- Better Now Playing Icon
- Better H/L Gain Icon on the topbar
- Theme 3 Change to Gold Icon with Black BG
- Better DAC Screen Background
 
V2
- Refine some Uppercase
- Remove the Wood Theme, Replaced with Old Theme 3 (silver on black)
 
V3
- Replace lame "See You" shutdown animation with Reversed Startup Animation
- Move back Theme3 back to Original Location, New Black-Gold Theme move to Theme6
- Changeback EQ:FLAT back to EQ:OFF, as possibly create confusion to some user
 
V4 FINAL (i think i'm done modifiying this X3II :) )
Some english text edit in menu
- Now you can choose two version of my v4 edit, GOLD and WHITE version, this refer to theme6 modification..
- V4GOLD: Few cosmetic tune for Black&Gold theme6
- V4WHITE: NEW White theme6, hopefully can satisfy some user's need of bright theme
 
Download:
V4GOLD: https://db.tt/O2pBJAyQ
V4WHITE: https://db.tt/D3Pfj38w
(these versions only replaced theme6 for custom theme accordingly)
 
V4GOLDnWHITE: https://db.tt/O21QfuvD
(this version replace theme5 with BLACKnGOLD theme, and theme6 with WHITE theme.. basically the combination of above versions)
 
Enjoy :)
I love your vesion, but I need to go back to 1.4 because of OTG, did you edit 1.4 too?
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

Top