Shure se535 vs. Westone UM3x for a person with small ears?
Aug 15, 2011 at 12:06 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 12

prspctvs

New Head-Fier
Hi,

I am relatively new to sound, but recently there is nothing I think about more than headphones. Although I have been stalking threads on this forum for sometime, this is my first post. I found that more often than not, someone had already posted on a subject I was looking for, and I found my answer. This time however...

So after much deliberation and research, I recently bought a pair of Shure se535s. I am overall happy with the sound but the overtly forward mids, deep yet bodiless bass, and relative lack of instrument separation works well for some kinds of music, but leaves something to be desired when listening to jazz, classical and other forms of instrumental music. This has lead me to become highly interested in westones UM3x. HOWEVER, alas, I have small ears and ear canals. Whats worse is that my left ear is smaller than my right ear! While the 535 fit quite well in my right ear (at times it feels like its not even there) my left ear starts to hurt after sometime, and I am constantly aware that I am wearing earphones.

I have read in many threads that UM3x is probably one of the most comfortable earphones available today. However, I also read that the body of the UM3x is larger than some of the other westone earphones. I live in India, so I have no chance of trying or returning these headphones once I have them shipped over, so any purchase for me is more or less final. 

So my question is: Is the housing of the UM3x smaller than the se535 or are they more or less the same size? Also, does the UM3x go as deep into the ear canal as the 535s? Even if it is marginally smaller, my left ear should be able to find it comfortable.

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Aug 15, 2011 at 2:35 PM Post #3 of 12