Research about beats by dre
Jun 7, 2012 at 2:22 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 43

The noob

New Head-Fier
Hello, Implying my username, I am a noob at the whole audiophile community and I am doing research for my blog about consumer electronics. I am just wondering that are beats really that bad in terms of sound quality? Are the sony MDR XB-500 actually better in terms of sound quality? I would really love to know because most people I talked to love beats or bose and I can't get a liable source material. So, any info would be great. Thank you

Jun 7, 2012 at 2:24 AM Post #2 of 43
Iv'e had BOSE in ear, and the quiet comfort 3's, and I can tell you that they really do suck for the price, and that I have had way cheaper, way better headphones.

The beats are just garbage plastic swagphones. the cheap online deals are also fakes, unless you buy retail, they are probably fake mock headphones from china.

Jun 7, 2012 at 2:49 AM Post #3 of 43
The XB500 certainly do sound better. The Beats have inferior products, that make them with a fancy (lame, childish) coat painted on. If they work for someone less informed, then good for them. The FACT remains they're 90% style.

Jun 7, 2012 at 2:55 AM Post #4 of 43
Once you break into audiophile territory, you only get plus or minus 15 %. the amount you pay to get more than 10% more quality is astronomically insane. This is why I own some basic, cheap, and great studio monitors and an amazing Velodyne subwoofer I got for$200. it would cost THOUSANDS to get a better sounding setup, which is money I really don't have.

Jun 7, 2012 at 3:17 AM Post #5 of 43
There is an extreme bias against both brands here. You have to look through the bias at the actual info some people provide to get an accurate representation of both.