Prog.Rock/Metal headphones; cans for multi-layered music
Nov 13, 2010 at 6:17 AM Thread Starter Post #1 of 62

Proglover

Progressiveus Drummeus
I want to buy a pair of headphones, specially to use with progressive music, symphonic music.
I own the Beyers DT770's, but I'm really missing something with this kind of music. I love them, but tend to use them for other kinds of music. Now I want a pair to rock....or to say: to rock multi-layered style:p

Some examples of the music I'm going to listen to:
Porcupine Tree, Rush, Dream Theater/Liquid Tension, Spock's Beard, Neal Morse, IQ, Ayreon, Pain of Salvation, Riverside, Symphony X, VandenPlas, Flower King...

This is usually very multi layered music where there's much happening. I would really like to easily hear all the different sounds etc.

I'm a musician, a drummer, I want to hear as much detail as possible in what the musicians are doing. Don't exactly know how to call that, but to hear not only the sum of thing, but I want to hear all the parts.

Now comes the catch: I'm not going to spend 300 euros on Sennheiser HD650's of AKG 702's. I read a lot in other threads about multi-layered prog music and these cans, but it's just to much for me.

I was thinking about some models:

- Grado's SR225 (great rock, but also 'the multi layered experience'?)
- AKG's 601 (how are these with this kind of music?)
- Allessandro's MS-1 (obviously very cheap, but I hear some good thing about them)

I would really like some help, especially from people who listen to the music mentioned above. At this moment I tend to lean to the 601's, but I couldn't find much about them pairing with this kind of music.

Nov 13, 2010 at 6:17 AM Post #2 of 62
ps. ampification is not an issue

Nov 13, 2010 at 6:40 AM Post #3 of 62
Grado, if you can afford them
Alessandro, if you cant.
Both wicked for rockin out...
I listen to same music as you do, you wont regret it.

Nov 13, 2010 at 7:04 AM Post #4 of 62
thanks