ONKYO DP-X1 | Dual Sabre Dacs | Balanced | Sabre BTL Amp | MQA | DSD 256 | Android 5 |
post-12843865
Post #11,221 of 16,179

bettyn

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
184
Reaction score
17
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Posts
184
Likes
17
  Bingo, while sound quality is EXTREMELY important to all of us, the best sound quality if it has a compromised UI or functionality looses a great deal as compared with a device that may be somewhat (and subjectively at that) less sonically capable but far easier to use. As you know, all devices have to make compromises so that balance between price, sound quality and usability is a tough one to get just right and the DP-X1 for a first go by ONKYO was a really strong effort. Now we need to see what comes with the X2. I'm sure the jacks will be fixed and it would be nice to have a little more power both SE and balanced for one thing.
Hope they do something about the damned battery. Worst I've ever seen on a DAP.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12844789
Post #11,222 of 16,179

addyg

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
931
Reaction score
112
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Posts
931
Likes
112
Nothing beat New Walkman, totally all out audio, Walkman OS, native DSD from Sony itself and 250mW per channel in balanced

However, it is excellent to have Onkyo doing a different approach. We don't know which will end up winning, but certainly an all out device like Onkyo is doing is more practical anyways

Walkman Gold 3000usd can't even stream Tidal.

Am I missing something?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12845137
Post #11,223 of 16,179

gearofwar

1000+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Messages
1,491
Reaction score
160
Location
NYC
Joined
Oct 9, 2012
Location
NYC
Posts
1,491
Likes
160
Walkman Gold 3000usd can't even stream Tidal.

Am I missing something?
Nope, it's not surprising. For alot of people especially me, I don't even care or use dap for streaming as already having massive library. I can see it benefits alot more for audio hardware without wifi 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12845280
Post #11,224 of 16,179

raychak

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 25, 2016
Posts
28
Likes
10
Help needed...
 
I just trying to root my DP-X1 using kingroot but my DP-X1 unable to boot up after root, suck at the "yellow triangle" logo now... I tried to enter recovery mode and perform factory reset with no luck. Any member here have experience to fix this problem? Any chance that there is way to flash the official ROM with bootloader or tools just like on other Android mobile phones? 
 
Thanks a lot. 
 
     Share This Post       
post-12845552
Post #11,225 of 16,179

damex

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
297
Reaction score
35
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Posts
297
Likes
35
Help needed...

I just trying to root my DP-X1 using kingroot but my DP-X1 unable to boot up after root, suck at the "yellow triangle" logo now... I tried to enter recovery mode and perform factory reset with no luck. Any member here have experience to fix this problem? Any chance that there is way to flash the official ROM with bootloader or tools just like on other Android mobile phones? 

Thanks a lot. 
Try to unlock bootloader and flash recovery(twrp). Described on earlier pages.
for example here http://www.head-fi.org/t/780642/onkyo-dp-x1-dual-sabre-dacs-balanced-sabre-btl-amp-mqa-dsd-256-android-5/11130#post_12834357

Then i will share backup for dp-x1 to use with twrp.
it is hard to share such big data without knowing if it is going to be useful or not.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12845594
Post #11,226 of 16,179

raychak

New Head-Fier
Joined
May 25, 2016
Messages
28
Reaction score
10
Joined
May 25, 2016
Posts
28
Likes
10
Try to unlock bootloader and flash recovery(twrp). Described on earlier pages.
for example here http://www.head-fi.org/t/780642/onkyo-dp-x1-dual-sabre-dacs-balanced-sabre-btl-amp-mqa-dsd-256-android-5/11130#post_12834357

Then i will share backup for dp-x1 to use with twrp.
it is hard to share such big data without knowing if it is going to be useful or not.
 
Thanks for information! 
Let me try and update later. 
 
UPDATE:
I am able to enter TWRP now, could you please send me the ROM? Or do you think I can fix it by using terminal under TWRP? Thanks!
 
     Share This Post       
post-12846468
Post #11,227 of 16,179

damex

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
297
Reaction score
35
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Posts
297
Likes
35
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9WN-DrZ4uGTclZvNG9BSVNpQUk/view?usp=sharing
boot+system
 
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9WN-DrZ4uGTVWlNZlpxcXRueUU/view?usp=sharing
recovery
 
what you need to do:
do some backup with twrp by yourself (keep backup of original boot+system somewhere on your pc)
check after doing backup that folder TWRP/BACKUPS/-YOUR-SERIAL-NUMBER-/ exist (connection to pc) on internal storage.
unpack folders from archive you want to recover from to that folder.
restore that backup you just copied to your internal storage.
wipe data/cache/internal storage to be on the safe side.
reboot.
 
     Share This Post       
  • Like
Reactions: addyg
post-12848638
Post #11,228 of 16,179

mox123

New Head-Fier
Joined
Sep 8, 2016
Messages
30
Reaction score
10
Joined
Sep 8, 2016
Posts
30
Likes
10
Hi All,
 
I would like to ask a question regarding the use of Chord Mojo with DP-X1. If I connect Chord Mojo via OTG cable, can I play Spotify or Tidal directly (I meant from its own app)?
 
TIA.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848656
Post #11,229 of 16,179

surfratt

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Messages
174
Reaction score
104
Joined
Dec 8, 2015
Posts
174
Likes
104
Extremely bummed :frowning2:  Bought a DP-X1 from an authorized US distributer on Amazon (World Wide Stereo) and not only are both jacks extremely loose (I inquired before purchasing if this was from a later batch, and they said they received them in August, so it should be), but I also received a European version, not US.  I am returning.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848764
Post #11,230 of 16,179

Orky261

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Messages
441
Reaction score
64
Joined
Oct 8, 2010
Posts
441
Likes
64

 
So I just read a German news article, it's official now huh? Why would you do that Onkyo? At the very least make a DP-X2.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848819
Post #11,232 of 16,179

damex

100+ Head-Fier
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Messages
297
Reaction score
35
Joined
Jan 18, 2013
Posts
297
Likes
35
i just found out variable line out mode.
 
what _exactly_ does it do?
it is lineout with volume control?
or it is normal output mode without passing built'in amplifer just for bypassing EU cap limit?
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848822
Post #11,233 of 16,179

addyg

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
931
Reaction score
112
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Posts
931
Likes
112
  i just found out variable line out mode.
 
what _exactly_ does it do?
it is lineout with volume control?
or it is normal output mode without passing built'in amplifer just for bypassing EU cap limit?
it is normal output mode without passing built'in amplifer just for bypassing EU cap limit
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848836
Post #11,234 of 16,179

addyg

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
931
Reaction score
112
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Posts
931
Likes
112
 
 
So I just read a German news article, it's official now huh? Why would you do that Onkyo? At the very least make a DP-X2.
 
To my best guess. DP-X1 will continue to lead as the most Hi-Fi DAP in Onkyo. While the DP-X11 (the phone) will be in another market for DAP+phone users.
 
For a smaller format, there will be a mini X1 which use Linux instead of Android. I think it is vs the AK70 for the market.
 
     Share This Post       
post-12848841
Post #11,235 of 16,179

addyg

500+ Head-Fier
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Messages
931
Reaction score
112
Joined
Feb 3, 2016
Posts
931
Likes
112
  Hi All,
 
I would like to ask a question regarding the use of Chord Mojo with DP-X1. If I connect Chord Mojo via OTG cable, can I play Spotify or Tidal directly (I meant from its own app)?
 
TIA.
 
Yes.
 
     Share This Post       

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 4)

Top