next upgrade for a noobie? cans or some other equipment?
Jan 13, 2011 at 12:50 PM Thread Starter Post #1 of 18

drhoooon

100+ Head-Fier
Hello, I am a complete newbie.

I love my grado sr60i but I'm already looking at 325is...

anyways my question is

I mainly listen to 320 or 250~ kbps mp3 files

So would 325i improve the sound quality of this mp3 file?

also I'm just using my cowon d2 or onboard soundcard on my desktop. (pc sounds a bit better than my d2, i don't know why)

what's the next line of upgrade? new cans or DAC or a soundcard? or something else?

Thanks!

Jan 13, 2011 at 1:12 PM Post #2 of 18

Soundcard or DAC, no point in getting new cans if the source sucks...=.=

Jan 13, 2011 at 1:33 PM Post #5 of 18
Note that you if you want you can mod SR60 quite a bit! Of course this will void your warranty and takes a bit of effort. Start out with simple mods (quarter mod, just cut pads :) ) and work your way to others if you dare. :)

I'm currently using uDAC (mine's v1) (~$100) + Little Dot I+ (~$100) + SR325is (~$300) setup and I'm fairly happy with it. Little Dot is particularly interesting because it's quite moddable. Op amp is socketed and you can play around with tubes if you want to.

Jan 17, 2011 at 9:36 AM Post #10 of 18
Go for good headphones. I think it's a better idea than spending money on cheap portable dac/amps like uDac or Fiio7.. A better choice is an ultimate soundcard like Asus Essence ST , it will make you 'wow' for sure, and no real need of further upgrading (especially for Grado family).. If you are a laptop user, oh well, I wouldn't be so confident in my answer for that case..

Jan 17, 2011 at 4:56 PM Post #11 of 18
I apologize for hijacking this thread, but the question is basically the same.... what should be the next equipment addition?

Currently I have: 

Cans: Grado SR-225i , Senn PX-100
Sources: ipod touch 4g, Sony Blu Ray w/ SACD capacity (BPD-S370), and my laptop with a very cheap soundcard on board.